Skip to content
August 24, 2009 / theoldsilly

The Adventures of Adam Atom – Surviving the Killer Asteroid

All right, gang – back by popular demand, it’s time once again to hang onto your hadrons, fasten your safety quarks, buckle up your buckeyballs, and I now give you in real spacetime continuum – (may I have a Big Bang, please) …

BANG!

big bang

The ONE – the Only – the I Am that I Am atomically and anatomically smashing-

Adam Atom!

Adam Atom 2

Hey y’all, I been chillin’ for a while with my sweetheart, the titillating tetrahedronite, Molly Molecule. three tits womanNeeded the break after last episode, gettin’ a little too close to a fluke nuke on Planet X with Lord Anu and his mighty minions. Glad that bunch won’t be in our ‘hood ‘til 2012. You humans got some serious checkin’ up on ancient history and plannin’ to do to avert disaster. But more on that later. I’ll be taking a slipspace trip back there again before long. See what I can do to help. Don’t worry about me, I’ll be fine. I can wormholewormhole 2 my way out of any tight situation, trust me.

I’m gonna tell y’all a short story. Started around 65 million years ago. I was cruisin’ along in outer space, surface bonded loosely to an asteroid about nine miles across that had  slipped out of an asteroid belt in the middle of the Milky Way and was headed straight for earth.

Well, if you’ve read your geological history, the dominant species odinosaurs 1n the planet at the time was the dinosaurs. Fabulous, majestic, giant creatures. They had been rulers of the earth for millions of years. Compared to the length of time dinosaurs existed, human beings have been around, oh – compare the life’s length of a hiccup to a mountain range. Get the idea.

Well it was all over for them in very short order after the nasty asty smashed into the Yucatán Penninsula with the force of a thousand hydrogen bombs or worse. Immediately after the impact that sent out shock waves with all the heat and intensity of a white hot sun, further shock waves caused volcanoes and earthquakes, and then billions of tons of ash rose up into the atmosphere and blotted out the sun. Ya couldn’t breath, and the temperatures went globally sub-zero.

Not a good environment for complex life forms. Nope, the dinos all went bye bye, at least all the bigs did. The smaller more adaptable flying dinosaurs, the Pterodactyls, some scientists believe, survived in small numbers, adapted, mutated, and became what we know in our modern world as birds. Could be. There are a lot of similarities in bone structure and overall skeletal makeup.

Hey talkin’ ‘bout the theory of evolution. Something for you humans to consider regarding Darwin’s theory. Question for ya … Ape 1

If man is supposed to have evolved from apes, why are there still apes?

 

 

Huh? Answer me that one. Even though you can sometimes sort of see the “missing link” walkin’ ’round, lol …ape man

Anyhoo, think about that, maybe leave a comment. But back to my story.

I survived, of course, I’m an atom! I don’t live or die; I just Am that I Am. Like you are, really – in essence, that is. Yes, your body, like the dinosaurs, has its end. But the I Am that You Are is as much a part of the One as me and every other energy spin in this amazing and interconnected universe. So yeah – when the pulverizing of the planet happened all those millions of years ago – and to me it was just like a second ago, I simply changed form, bonding with a molecule in a volcanic ash particle, flew up into the stratosphere for to hang out a while and then when the proverbial dust had settled, I took an air current down to the surface and got breathed in to the body of …. 

Wait! Stop!

The Old Silly here. Sorry, couldn’t let Adam spoil it for y’all – blog in Monday next week and find out for yourself with the next exciting episode in-

The Adventures of Adam Atom!

Click on Tweety Bird and tweet this post if you liked it!

Tweet Me from The Old Silly's Free Spirit Blog

16 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. yvonne lewis / Aug 24 2009 6:24 am

    Great to see Adam back, missed him last week.

    Yvonne.

  2. Elizabeth Spann Craig / Aug 24 2009 6:52 am

    Thanks for updating us on Adam’s activities, Marvin! I loved the missing link. 🙂 Too funny!

    Elizabeth
    Mystery Writing is Murder

  3. spunkonastick / Aug 24 2009 7:39 am

    Glad Adam’s back!

    Although that last image is going to haunt me for a while…

  4. Helen Ginger / Aug 24 2009 10:21 am

    Stop the presses! Is that last picture of an actual person? Ye Gads. He may be the missing link.

    Marvin, I know you’ve received every blog award there is, but I gave you the Kreativ Blogger Award today. You deserve it and Adam Atom is proof!

    Helen
    Straight From Hel

    • theoldsilly / Aug 24 2009 10:32 am

      Hey thanks, Helen! I’ll be over at your blog in a bit!

  5. Cactus Annie / Aug 24 2009 10:24 am

    Another fabulous Adam Atom adventure story – but good lord – does that ape man think he’s sexy? Eeeouuu!!

    • theoldsilly / Aug 24 2009 10:32 am

      What? You don’t think that hunk is sexy? LOL

  6. malsburymichelle / Aug 24 2009 11:31 am

    Adam Atom poses some interesting questions—-especially with regard to man/apes. I am reading a very good book that attempts to tie darwinism/religion to racism and Adam Atom may have just given me the first facts to dispute that claim or was that to support? Time will tell. 🙂

  7. Jane Kennedy Sutton / Aug 24 2009 12:41 pm

    Got breathed into the body of what? Don’t make me wait until next Monday – can you just whisper it to me? I won’t tell…

  8. Stanley Berber / Aug 24 2009 3:25 pm

    I couldn’t tell the difference between the Hulk and the ape! lol Great Adam Atom Adventure post, Marv 😉

  9. Galen Kindley / Aug 24 2009 4:59 pm

    Got the answer for your question. Because…the smart apes, after seeing the results of prior evolutions chose to stay as apes…are you kidding me? Apes got it made: Sleeping, eating, drinking, reproducing…repeat as necessary. What a life. Why would they WANT to evolve. Self-evident, as Franklin wrote.

    Best Regards, Galen
    Imagineering Fiction Blog

  10. ReformingGeek / Aug 24 2009 10:50 pm

    Oh, I was hoping Adam was going to describe trying to saddle up and ride a dinosaur!

    I guess some of the apes weren’t in the right place at the right time with the right circumstances in order to evolve.

  11. NA Sharpe / Aug 24 2009 11:41 pm

    Oh YAY! Adam’s back – love this feature. This guy has the greatest adventures! Can’t believe he found the ummmm…missing link! Wow. You get some interesting graphics on here! LOL,

    Nancy, from Realms of Thought…

Trackbacks

  1. The Adventures of Adam Atom – High in the Himalayas « The Old Silly's Free Spirit Blog
  2. Rock On, Grams ‘n’ Gramps! « The Old Silly's Free Spirit Blog
  3. Adam Atom – Leaving Atlantis by Storm! « The Old Silly's Free Spirit Blog

Leave a Reply

