Skip to content
August 28, 2009 / theoldsilly

Friday Friends Blog – Imagineering Fiction

It’s been a while since I did my Friday Friends Blog feature, so I thought it best to not disappoint and get back to it. And I got just the perfect blog to do a favorable shout out on. I met (well, “e-met”) Galen Kindley a few months back when he was taking the Blog Book Tours class. It’s a Yahoo group that teaches startup bloggers/authors how to get their blogs all spiffed up and professional with loads of traffic and a good size following, ready to go on and host virtual tours. Great group, I highly recommend it.

Anywhoozees, I’m a graduate of the class, and the leader and teacher there, Dani Greer, asks me to hang around during new class startups and help out with the mentoring. You know me, I’m a sucker for helpin’ folks out. Plus all the recognition I get – I have to buy a larger hat after each course. Sweet.

Galen Kindley JPGSo but back to Mr. Kindley. I visited his blog daily for a month and by the end of that month was hooked. He blogs about writing fiction, but it’s more than that. He teaches history lessons, hosting historical figures like Ben Franklin and Thomas Jefferson in hilarious post-humous interview formats, he posts life musings, he finds great software and internet services that are of immense value to peeps in the literary business and shares them along with his “Understanding the Program For Dummies” tutorials, and …

The guy is flat out witty and funny. He can be posting about trying to sell his house and have you falling off your chair laughing. He posts daily during the weekdays, always something new, and – get this – he’s a swell husband and submits to his DW’s desire to have him all to herself on the weekends – so no Saturday or Sunday posts while the Kindleys have some quality time together. Fair enough, right? I thought so.

So. For a really great blog that I guarantee you will want to go back to on a regular basis, probably you’ll want to sign up to follow it, go to Imagineering fiction and get a load of Mr. Galen Kindley’s down to earth, folksy, jocular, clever, knowledgeable and entertaining style of writing. You’ll be glad you did, trust the Old Silly on this one.

And Galen? Please accept this Old Silly Award for Excellence in Entertainment blogging, as well as the Marvaholics Anonymous Award.

Award Excellence in Entertainment

 

Award MA

 

 

 

 

You can have either one or both, or it won’t bother me none if you don’t take either one – totally up to you. Plaster ’em on your main page, or stick ’em on some back page, or just print them out and make paper planes with ’em. Won’t hurt my feelings whatever ya do with ’em. Except’n if you start one of them flippin’ play date meme tag games with them – do that and I’ll hit you.

Okay. That’s it for today, gang. Stop back in tomorrow for a Saturday Pontification, got a real whiz banger for y’all, and on Sunday, while Galen and his DW are on a picnic eating s’mores and smooching, I have another guest post from brother Kevin Wilson in his “Letters From the Missions Field” series. Great weekend lineup, hope y’all will stop in.

All right, now it’s really gotta go time. Chow. Toodles, guys – blog dismissed. 

Click on Tweety Bird and tweet this post if you liked it!

Tweet Me from The Old Silly's Free Spirit Blog

16 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Elizabeth Spann Craig / Aug 28 2009 6:32 am

    I’m a big fan of Galen’s blog, too–for all the reasons Marvin mentioned. He’s the perfect recipient of the recognition and award!

    Elizabeth
    Mystery Writing is Murder

  2. yvonne lewis / Aug 28 2009 8:35 am

    Another good blog, am looking forward to the week-ends blogs

    Have fun.

    Yvonne.

  3. Stanley Berber / Aug 28 2009 8:41 am

    Sounds like a cool blog – thanks for the heads-up, Marv. And kudos to Galen for the awards & recognition!

  4. Cactus Annie / Aug 28 2009 9:38 am

    Nice shout out, Marv! And Galen – GOOD MAN, taking time out with your DW every weekend! 😉

  5. Karen Walker / Aug 28 2009 9:50 am

    I’m so totally with you on this one, Marvin. Galen’s blog is hilarious.
    Karen

  6. Helen Ginger / Aug 28 2009 9:56 am

    I agree with everything you said about Galen. He’s not only funny, but quite informative.

    Helen
    Straight From Hel

  7. L. Diane Wolfe / Aug 28 2009 9:57 am

    Cool feature, Marvin. And I love the word toodles!

    If you could let everyone know, I was attacked with a malware program disquised as a virus alert program this morning. We’ve deleted the files and are performing a full Norton scan, but I probably will not be back online until late this evening when Craig can actually sit down and work his magic. I’m on my old computer, so I can’t check email and Blogger won’t let me log in. Basically, I’m kinda stuck! Anyway, wish I could comment on more blogs today and return comments on mine…
    Thanks!

    • theoldsilly / Aug 28 2009 10:02 am

      Ouch! I hate it when that happens! G’on ‘n do what ya gotta do, Diane – Bloggydom will still be here when you get back on line. 😉

  8. quirkyloon / Aug 28 2009 11:35 am

    You are such a kind old silly too!

    Nice shout out and congrats to Galen for his awards.

    Sounds like he more than deserves them.

    *smile*

  9. Lynn, The Story Woman / Aug 28 2009 12:20 pm

    Thanks for the great blog today. I checked out all the links. Good stuff, even though I can’t get anything to work – clicked on follow Galen on FB, but that didn’t seem to take. Then I imported a doc into EtherPad per Galen’s suggestion that I wanted to have edited (since I always need extra eyes on my stuff), but that did go anywhere, either. I’m not complaining, although nearly in tears, just really know I can’t keep trying to do all this stuff by myself, since I invariably travel down the exciting paths to new things and then find trees falling on my head blocking my way…what’s a gal to do? It seems like a waste countless hours chasing a rainbow to find the gold, but never reach the pot! Can anyone suggest a terrific virtual assistant or something?

    I know, boohoohoohoohoo. It’s better that I just go make a pie for company tonight and forget all this techie stuff, but then the question is apple or rhubarb???

    • Galen Kindley / Aug 28 2009 4:28 pm

      Yo, Lynn. Thanks for the visit and the follow. I can assure you EtherPad really does work. Maybe one of the security settings on your computer or firewall or something like that is blocking it…unless the web site itself is down. Darn. I’m sorry you’re not getting anywhere.

      On the good side, The FB follow DID work…it just takes awhile to show sometimes.

      If you need some help on the etherPad thing, drop me and email…button on my website by my photo and we’ll try to sort through it together. Should be easy. Meanwhile, let’s have a big smile from you…there you go, much better. Galen.

      • Lynn, The Story Woman / Aug 28 2009 5:04 pm

        Galen, thanks for your thoughtful reply. I’ll try to get on EtherPad again next week. Having company for dinner so have to hop to it now. Anyway, the weekend is coming and you, the thoughtful husband according to Marvin, will give honey your complete attention all weekend. Have a great one.

        I subscribed to your blog – great recommendation from Marvin.

  10. ReformingGeek / Aug 28 2009 4:24 pm

    I will check him out. Thanks!

  11. Galen Kindley / Aug 28 2009 4:34 pm

    Well, Marvin, you sneaky guy you. Imagine my surprise when I wandered over here for my daily shot of Old Silly only to find my ugly mug plastered across the screen! Yikes, it’s like when they put Dorfmann up on the wall in Animal House..that kind of reaction. Scared even me.

    So, uh, not sure what to say. Thanks seems inadequate, but certainly is in order. Maybe this is better—You, and the blogging class, and my classmates were most helpful in getting me launched. It was a great experience made better by lots of helpful input. No small amount came from you, so, I’m very grateful.

    Thanks again from Donna and I. Best wishes to all, and…wink…see you Monday!

    Best Regards, Galen
    Imagineering Fiction Blog

    • theoldsilly / Aug 28 2009 7:57 pm

      Galen you are most welcome and well deserved of some Old Silly recognition. Your blog has jumped several quantum leaps since I first saw it, and is now one of the best out there. Keep goin’, bro – you’re on a roll!

  12. Kelli Garner / Sep 26 2009 12:32 pm

    Great site, how do I subscribe?

Leave a Reply

