Skip to content
August 31, 2009 / theoldsilly

The Adventures of Adam Atom – Never Get Caught in a Cud!

All right, gang – it’s time once again to hang onto your hadrons, fasten your safety quarks, buckle up your buckeyballs, and here is, in real spacetime continuum – (may I have a Big Bang, please) …

BANG!

big bang

The ONE – the Only – the I Am that I Am atomically and anatomically smashing-

Adam Atom!

Adam Atom

Hey great to be back! If you remember last week’s episode, I had just survived the killer asteroid that wiped out the dinosaurs 65 million yearsago. Quite the earth event that was!

asteroid hits earth 1

asteroid hits earth 2

So anyway, I hung around in the atmosphere for like, millions and millions of years. Sun spot flares would zap me in a skip zone radio transmission, bouncing me in and out of the solar system. I can tell you stories, and will, of forays into other galaxies and different planetary systems. But oh, about 14,000 years ago I was back in earth’s atmosphere. I hung around for a couple thousand years and then I was getting pretty bored and figured what the heck, how about catching a wind drift down and see how things were on the earth’s surface again.

So I made it down to Siberia, which at the time was a very pleasant place, nice and temperate, and I bonded with a blade of grass. Well wouldn’t ya know it, along comes a Woolly Mastadon who trunks my blade into his mouth and was about to chew me into its cud, when all of a sudden-

Wooooooshhh – whiizaaaAAPP!

Along comes a mega-subzero arctic wind andfrozen mastadon ol’ Woolly Baby is frozen stiff! In mid chew!

The Old Silly tells me that living in contemporary Michigan the weather is subject to temperature and condition swings at the drop of a hat, but good grief – that was ridiculous! A balmy mid-70’s afternoon and all of a sudden it’s colder than a frozen arctic realm of hell!

But I got outa there in time. Fortunately. Nothin’ worse than being caught in an ice cud. The wind blew me free, thank goodness, and I got swept along to another …

Nah, not gonna spoil it. Blog in again next Monday, and I’ll have for y’all the next exciting episode in the continuing-

Adventures of Adam Atom!

Click on Tweety Bird and tweet this post if you liked it!

Tweet Me from The Old Silly's Free Spirit Blog

18 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Stanley Berber / Aug 31 2009 9:15 am

    Loved this episode. I remember reading about the Mastadons and their frozen plight during the sudden onset of the last ice age. Freaky!

  2. spunkonastick / Aug 31 2009 9:23 am

    Hey! Adam left us hanging!

  3. Jean Henry Mead / Aug 31 2009 9:54 am

    Adam,

    How about coming to Yellowstone Park and stirring things up. You can blast right through Old Faithful.

    Jean

    http://advicefromeditors.blogspot.com/

  4. quirkyloon / Aug 31 2009 10:15 am

    Dear Adam Atom,

    That was cold leaving us hanging like that.

    Very, very cold.

    Sincerely,

    Quirkloon

    Ha!

  5. malsburymichelle / Aug 31 2009 10:18 am

    Lucky Adam Atom. That missed cud could have been the end of a molecular regeneration. 🙂

  6. Crystal Clear Proofing / Aug 31 2009 10:22 am

    Oh I LIKE this! I’ll be back next Monday…GEEZ! Really gotta wait that long ‘eh? 🙂

  7. yvonne lewis / Aug 31 2009 10:25 am

    Another episode filled with excitement.

    Yvonne.

  8. Jane Kennedy Sutton / Aug 31 2009 11:23 am

    I’m so glad Adam Atom was blow away because being stuck in an ice cud sounds pretty gross to me.:)

  9. Ron Berry / Aug 31 2009 12:15 pm

    Good thing ya went out in an ice cube because had not he suddenly become an ice statue, you could have gone out the other end, yuck. At least you had a nice cool trip. See ya next week.

  10. Helen Ginger / Aug 31 2009 2:20 pm

    Another great episode. Does Adam Atom ever just sit and read a book? He sure gets around.

    Helen
    Straight From Hel

    • theoldsilly / Aug 31 2009 2:29 pm

      Helen, he would read, but there’s not much in print that appeals to his age bracket. Omnipresent Omniscient Lit hasn’t caught on yet. (wink)

  11. Galen Kindley / Aug 31 2009 4:12 pm

    Recently, there was a PBS (?)…maybe Discovery Channel…special about excavating the remains of a WM. It was pretty interesting stuff.

    Best Regards, Galen
    Imagineering Fiction Blog

    • theoldsilly / Aug 31 2009 5:47 pm

      I saw that one too, Galen – great show.

  12. Cactus Annie / Aug 31 2009 6:06 pm

    Yo dude, yo yo YO! How ya gonna leave us hangin’ like this, Adam? LOL – Fun episode, Marv!

  13. Stephen Tremp / Aug 31 2009 7:50 pm

    Why didn’t the Mastadons simply use a wormhole to escape? No wonder they’re extinct. They must not have been the brightest crayons in the box. BTW, I’m originally from Michigan, so I understand the quick and dynamic weather changes.

  14. ileaneb / Aug 31 2009 9:28 pm

    I see that you are up on your quarks today…wink, wink!

  15. NA Sharpe / Aug 31 2009 9:42 pm

    Great episode – that Atom sure gets around! Wonder what he’ll be up to next. Can’t wait for next week to see!

    Nancy, from Realms of Thought…

  16. ReformingGeek / Aug 31 2009 10:47 pm

    I was hoping it was Madagascar. I need some music with a serious beat! Now I’m feeling a bit cold. Hum….I wonder why.

Leave a Reply

