Skip to content
September 4, 2009 / theoldsilly

Too Far Gone to the Point of Tragic Technologies

text message 1I’m all for new technologies. Really. If used sensibly, they enhance our lives. I’m a bit slow to adapt to every newfangled contraption that comes out, I mean it took me a couple years after text messaging boomed onto the scene to start doing it myself. And I still haven’t coughed up the bucks for one of those fancy new phones with the snazzy keyboards on them.

Nah, I got my trusty seven year old cell phone that ya have to lumber your way through a laborious pecking and waiting for the cursor to move over before pecking again procedure to send out a text.text message 2 That’s me over there on the right. Slowhand Silly.

But that’s me. Bit of a throwback, probably always will be. Not so with the youngsters. Now we have a generation of kids that twitter, text, and update their facebooks on their ipods/cell phones non-stop 24/7/362 –

Even when driving!

I used to get annoyed when I’d see someone driving in front of me swerving and slowing down then speeding up while talking on the phone. Drives me nuts. And then there’s the lady speeding by doing her makeup and drying her hair –

While driving!

But none of that compares to the dangerousness of this new fad – texting while driving. Let’s start a new acronym – TWD – this ugly phenomenon is here to stay, I’m afraid, unless we do something about it. I recently came across an article that reported on a study that showed texting while driving increased the chances of an accident twenty-three fold. And it went on to say more accidents are now occurring as a result of TWD’s than the perennial hands-down killer for like, ever since the beginning of cars – DUI’s. Yuppers. You’re safer on the road sandwiched between a couple of drunks than you are sharing the highways with TWD’ers.

Watch this one minute eye opener-

So yeah – I for one am going to support the enactment of laws and law enforcement against the practice of texting while driving. This is technology gone berserk, way out of sensible control, and it needs to be curtailed. Big time.

Your thoughts? And while we’re on the subject – what other technologies drive you berzerk when they are taken to the extreme in their use to the point of abusing them? Talk to me.

Click on Tweety Bird and tweet this post if you liked it!

Tweet Me from The Old Silly's Free Spirit Blog

32 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Elizabeth Spann Craig / Sep 4 2009 5:37 am

    I see people texting all the time when driving, Marvin (I’m out a lot with errands.) It scares the snot out of me. To me, it’s like they’re drunk drivers…they’re that impaired. I get out of their way as quickly as possible.

    Elizabeth
    Mystery Writing is Murder

  2. Cactus Annie / Sep 4 2009 6:27 am

    Totally with ya on this one. I’m like – if it’s that important, pull over somewhere and text or call. Keep your frikkin eyes on the road! Another one that bugs the heck out of me is people taking and making cell phone calls in the movie theater. Gawd that’s rude and irritating.

  3. Stanley Berber / Sep 4 2009 7:21 am

    Oh yeah – drives me buggy too – I saw a kid TWD’ing just the other day – nearly caused an accident driving all over the line. I also get bugged by people talking on their phones in the checkout line, not paying attention and holding things up.

  4. L. Diane Wolfe / Sep 4 2009 7:28 am

    Sad but true!
    There’s a video on YouTube – Craig told me about it and said every teen in America needs to see it. It’s British and it’s a reenactment of a fake accident caused by a texting teen. He said it’s very realistic, very shocking & graphic, but it gets the point across. Texting while driving is dangerous.

  5. Liana / Sep 4 2009 7:59 am

    Here it happens all the time. Some people wear hands free but they don’t concentrate on driving since they talk and talk. They are not allowed to use their mobile while driving but they still do. Maybe the fines are not very high. We’ve got quite a lot of car crashes on the island in the summer months.
    Another annoying thing is the use of mobiles in the classroom. They take pics-despite the rules-of the teachers. When I was teaching I made sure I gathered all the mobiles before the lesson and gave them back at the end of it. Some teachers still do that-but the students are checked out at the school entrance.

    • theoldsilly / Sep 4 2009 10:11 am

      Good teacher, Liana! I like that – take their toys away so they can focus on the class.

  6. Helen Ginger / Sep 4 2009 9:42 am

    I’m all for outlawing texting while driving. If ya gotta do it, pull over! I’m not so vehement on talking on the cell phone while driving, but i do think it should be a wireless call (even though I’m not capable of doing that, but then I so rarely get calls, if my phone rang, I’d probably jump out of my seat). There are so many distractions when driving, from kids, to songs to sing along with, to mosquitoes buzzing your head (those should be outlawed), to grabbing a sip from your water bottle, to …. on and on. But texting while driving? Outlaw it.

    Helen
    Straight From Hel

    • theoldsilly / Sep 4 2009 10:12 am

      Helen – lol – yeah, wish we COULD outlaw mosquitoes!

  7. Jean Henry Mead / Sep 4 2009 9:44 am

    It’s a very dangerous practice and should be outlawed in every state, but how many lawmakers use cell phones themselves while driving?

  8. Jeannine Gardella / Sep 4 2009 10:11 am

    We are so far behind that we don’t even have a cell phone. We do have OnStar with hands-free telephone in our car, and I notice when I am talking on that, I am concentrating on the conversation more than the road. Not good, so I don’t do it often. I find it very annoying to see people everywhere with their phone to the ear, in the store, walking around, wherever. What is so important that it can’t wait? Especially young kids. I like the idea of the teacher collecting all of the phones at start of class. That is at least some kind of control.

    • theoldsilly / Sep 4 2009 10:17 am

      Jeannine, I feel ya. Remember when if you were taking a drive somewhere, people who wanted to talk to you had to WAIT for a while until you got to your destination and had access to a phone? And it didn’t feel so bad – people have forgotten how to wait for anything. We want everything RIGHT NOW!

  9. Karen Walker / Sep 4 2009 10:20 am

    Iam so with you on this one. And talking on cell phones. There are fines in NM for it, but no one pays attention. Everyone’s yakking away. We’re so connected technologically that we’re disconnecting for real.
    karen

    • theoldsilly / Sep 4 2009 1:48 pm

      Amen Karen – “e-relationships” have replaced face to face real relationships for the most part, eh?

  10. Patricia Stoltey / Sep 4 2009 10:34 am

    I thought it was a joke when I first heard that people were doing this.

    A couple of days ago I saw a lady in a van swerve and almost hit the median. I looked to see if she was using her cellphone but didn’t see one. She could have been reaching for her restless doggie or fighting off a wasp, of course…but now I wonder. Could she have been TWDing? Good grief. What can we do to protect ourselves from idiot?

    Yes, I agree, this is one case where I say bring on the law. One person’s right to bad behavior ends where the next person’s right to safety begins. Or something like that.

  11. Ron Berry / Sep 4 2009 10:58 am

    I use bluetooth when driving. I get very few calls but the ones I get are important. If they are just to talk I mention I”m driving and will talk later. TWDing however is quite another matterh. I do my share of texting but I’m sitting someplace other than the drviers seat. I have been known to hand the phyone off to my partner if a message comes in.

    I’m all with you on this Marv

  12. malsburymichelle / Sep 4 2009 11:01 am

    OOps! I happen to be a new gadget freak!!! Yes, I am confessing to this disorder/malady that has overtaken the youth of America more than any other sector. However, I do not text while driving and I have an iPhone so doing so is not as difficult as Marvins’. 🙂

    • theoldsilly / Sep 4 2009 1:49 pm

      Hey! Don’t knock my old dinosaur phone! LOL 😉

  13. yvonne lewis / Sep 4 2009 11:30 am

    I only know the basic of computing, there is such a lot I don’t know about, I feel I am being left behind
    especially as my grandchildren know all the latest gimmicks.

    Yvonne.

  14. Stephen Tremp / Sep 4 2009 11:35 am

    I think abusing any technology is too much. When I drive, I listen to the radio, pray, or just lear my head. No texting, no talking on the phone, no radio commercials for sure. Driving is one of those luxuries where I can disconnect for a few minutes and let my brain relax.

    Stephen remp
    http://stephentremp.blogspot.com/

  15. Christina Rodriguez / Sep 4 2009 11:53 am

    “You’re safer on the road sandwiched between a couple of drunks than you are sharing the highways with TWD’ers.”

    That is INSANE. I like to text, and I drink on occassion, but I have no sympathy for folks who do those things while driving. It’s easy enough to not do those things. The real tragedy is how they often kill innocent people as a result of their lousy decisions.

  16. Jane Kennedy Sutton / Sep 4 2009 12:13 pm

    I think it’s ridiculous that people actually think they have the ability to text and drive. I’m for bestowing huge fines for these folks who put so many lives in danger for some stupid little message to their friends.

  17. Galen Kindley / Sep 4 2009 1:07 pm

    I’m on the anti cell phone and texting bandwagon. It’s not technology, but, I get annoyed when my side of the interstate…unaffected you understand…slows down, causing a backup…because they just gottttta see blood, gore and twisted metal on the other side of the freeway. Sigh.

    Best Regards, Galen
    Imagineering Fiction Blog

  18. Joyce / Sep 4 2009 1:16 pm

    As they say–there’s no cure for stupid 😦 I don’t drive–but don’t drink and very rarely text either. The only reason I gave in and got a cell phone was because my son is out and about more now that he’s older–and I wanted to be able to stay connected no matter what. I find phones in general annoying–I’d much rather send smoke signals, they’re quieter. I find people talking on their cells in public rude in most cases–I don’t want to know your Aunt Mable had a BM or that you got up in someone’s face last night because you were drunk and stupid. It is very rude to talk while cashing out somewhere–that tells the person on the other side of the counter you see them as a non-person. It seems nobody recognizes the merits of peace and being alone any longer 😦

    • theoldsilly / Sep 4 2009 2:04 pm

      “No cure for stupid.” LOL – so true dat!

  19. quirkyloon / Sep 4 2009 9:01 pm

    (hides face in shame)

    Fine I’ll stop playing Bejeweled Blitz while driving! I suck at it anyway.

    JUST KIDDING!

    Really, I’m not even comfy answering the cell phone while driving.

    It’s amazing how many centuries people got along just fine with INSTANT communications of any sort.

    • theoldsilly / Sep 4 2009 9:07 pm

      Quirkster you never fooled me for a second! 😉 LOL

  20. NA Sharpe / Sep 4 2009 11:56 pm

    I couldn’t agree with you more – you always see people texting while driving and it is extremely dangerous to everyone else on the road. I do some texting (not while driving), especially since I finally got around to upgrading my phone to the Blackberry which I love more than I ever thought was possible for a silly phone…ah well.

    Nancy, from Realms of Thought…

  21. Crystal Clear Proofing / Sep 5 2009 7:59 am

    I totally agree. I’ve seen the video Diane referenced and it really should be shown here in the United States. Talking on the phone while driving is dangereous enough, but texting?

    There waa a time when I would drive – but use a headset when I talked on the phone. Even that is just plain distracting. Your level of concentration on DRIVING and traffic is just not there. You’re thinking about your conversation. Now you add to that TEXTING where you have to take your eyes off the road – an accident just waiting to happen.

    And as someone else pointed out – what’s so important that it can’t wait? And if you do NEED to call someone or take a call – pull over! it could mean your life (and the life/lives of others!)

    ****************************************************
    Marvin I’m still using a “several-years-old” cell phone myself. I am just NOT tech savvy. I feel fortunite that I can muddle my way through programming my DVR, and just barely get by with these networking sites! I look at some of the blogging sites I visit and feel so “out of the loop!”

    • Marylee / Sep 6 2009 9:20 am

      I saw the video you are referring to, and it scared me. My daughter’s friend needs to see it…she texts while driving with her son in the car!!!!!! How smart is that?

  22. Marylee / Sep 6 2009 9:09 am

    Okay…I am guilty of driving while talking on my phone, but I don’t text. That is just stupid.

Leave a Reply

