Skip to content
September 9, 2009 / theoldsilly

Hilarious Hump Day – Computer Repairs for Dummies

A woman I know was having trouble with her computer. So, she said, she called Rick the computer guy, to come over. Rick clicked a couple of buttons and solved the problem within seconds. He gave her a bill for a minimum service call.

As he was walking away, she called after him, “So, what was wrong?”

He said, “It was an ID ten T error.”

Of course she didn’t want to appear stupid, nonetheless she inquired, “An ID ten T error? What’s that … in case I need to fix it again?”

The computer guy grinned. “Haven’t you ever heard of an ID ten T error before?”

“No,” she said.

Write it down,” he told her, “and I think you’ll figure it out.”

So she wrote out … i d 1 0 t.

Woman pulling hair out

She tells me she won’t be calling that guy for help again.

Click on Tweety Bird and tweet this post if you liked it!

Tweet Me from The Old Silly's Free Spirit Blog

24 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Cactus Annie / Sep 9 2009 7:21 am

    Ha! Good one! But where did you get that picture of me? lol 😉

  2. Katie Hines / Sep 9 2009 8:13 am

    LOL! that’s great. Loved it.

  3. Tracy Haller / Sep 9 2009 8:14 am

    Tooo funny marvin! thanks for the smile today!

  4. Helen Ginger / Sep 9 2009 9:01 am

    She needs to call him and tell him to tell her exactly which ID10T error it was so she won’t make it again. Speaking of ID10T errors, he definitely made one himself.

    Cute post, Marvin. I love starting off the day with a laugh.

    Helen
    Straight From Hel

    • theoldsilly / Sep 9 2009 12:01 pm

      Yeah he did – it’s called foot in mouth error, eh? lol

  5. Karen Walker / Sep 9 2009 9:32 am

    Me too.Start the day with a laugh, I mean.
    Karen

  6. Bluestocking / Sep 9 2009 9:35 am

    Lol!!! That guy is a trip.

  7. Michelle / Sep 9 2009 9:35 am

    What a story Marvin. I have not had the mispleasure of such mishaps—at least not that the tech personnel have directly indicated, but can sympathize with the poor gal!

  8. unwriter1 / Sep 9 2009 10:01 am

    There are other similar acronyms that we use, but I’ll be nice since I just gave a speech at toastmasters that went over the head of most.

    You’re good at writing humor, keep it up.

  9. yvonne lewis / Sep 9 2009 10:35 am

    This made my day. I’m a wee bit like that.

    Yvonne.

  10. quirkyloon / Sep 9 2009 10:46 am

    Hee hee

    Actually, I thought it was identity.

    Yes, I’m dumb that way!

    I gotta stop commenting BEFORE a DDP.

    *smile*

  11. Elizabeth Spann Craig / Sep 9 2009 11:45 am

    Too funny! My parents frequently ask me computer questions that bring this episode to mind….

    Elizabeth
    Mystery Writing is Murder

    • theoldsilly / Sep 9 2009 12:02 pm

      Well be gentle, Elizabeth – no snide ID 10 T comments to Mom & Dad! 😉

  12. Stephen Tremp / Sep 9 2009 12:24 pm

    Thanks for the chuckle. I worked for a general contractor once who would have to go out on a call to fix an electrical problem because the light in one room would not rune on. Sixty seconds later and a new light bulb, he would hand the customer a service call bill. LOL!

    Stephen Tremp

  13. Galen Kindley / Sep 9 2009 1:16 pm

    Uh…I don’t get it. Just kidding, just kidding. So, what exactly WAS wrong with her computer…hey, it might happen to me!

    Best Regards, Galen
    Imagineering Fiction Blog

    • theoldsilly / Sep 9 2009 1:26 pm

      Her “coffee holder” was broke – she thought the DVD player was a drink holder. lol – that’s actually a true story from a buddy of mine who works as the IT guy for a big corp.

  14. Lynn, The Story Woman / Sep 9 2009 2:42 pm

    I often feel like an idiot when I’m trying to fix something on my computer, so I’d still work with the guy who called me an ID 10 T. I’ve been called worse, I think.

  15. Jane Kennedy Sutton / Sep 9 2009 2:43 pm

    Oh my, I have ID 10 T errors all the time!

  16. Patricia Stoltey / Sep 9 2009 5:43 pm

    I would have thought he was funny and laughed, and I definitely would call the guy again. The computer guy’s little joke was a lot more delicate than the stuff my husband says when I screw up my computer and sit here yelling, “Help.”

  17. Morgan Mandel / Sep 9 2009 8:56 pm

    Very clever. I didn’t see that one coming.

    Morgan Mandel
    http://morganmandel.blogspot.com
    http://choiceonepublishing.com

  18. ReformingGeek / Sep 9 2009 9:34 pm

    I think that was my mother-in-law. 😉

  19. heidiwriter / Sep 9 2009 10:54 pm

    Good one! I think we’ve all experienced THAT error!!
    Heidi

  20. spyware removal utility / Dec 19 2009 5:17 pm

    Epic 😀 I found your blog on Google looking for something totally unrelated- and now I’m gonna need to go back and read all the old material. So much for my free time this morning, but this was a amazing find.

Leave a Reply

