Skip to content
September 12, 2009 / theoldsilly

A Saturday Pontification

I have two wise guy-isms for y’all today, thus sayeth the Old Silly. Please leave your thoughts on them in the comments/discussion gallery.

The first is from one of my favorite success coaches, the inimitable and folksy yet sagacious public speaker, philosopher and entrepreneur, Jim Rohn

If you don’t like how things are, change it!  You’re not a tree.”

And this, from an author I’ve admired all my life, the philosopher from the Emerson lineage, Henry David Thoreau

Good for the body is the work of the body, and good for the soul is the work of the soul, and good for either is the work of the other.”

Click on Tweety Bird and tweet this post if you liked it!

Tweet Me from The Old Silly's Free Spirit Blog

12 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Elizabeth Spann Craig / Sep 12 2009 6:44 am

    Great pontifications!

    I’ve always liked Thoreau a bit more than Emerson….much more human and prone to mistakes!

    Elizabeth
    Mystery Writing is Murder

  2. John Standish / Sep 12 2009 7:30 am

    I’ve heard Jim Rohn speak before -awesome! And Thoreau’s On Walden Pond is one of the deepest best books I read as a young man. Excellent quotes today, Marv.

  3. unwriter1 / Sep 12 2009 7:52 am

    very good quotes and then there is the illusrious, “All that ends well, ends.”

  4. Karen Walker / Sep 12 2009 8:20 am

    I’ve never heard of Jim, but love Thoreau and love these quotes. As always, your post makes me think.
    Karen

  5. Jean Henry Mead / Sep 12 2009 9:22 am

    Yes, very thought provoking . . .

  6. Cactus Annie / Sep 12 2009 9:58 am

    Love Thoreau! I read Walden in high school and was totally into his philosophical deep thinking. I’ll have to c heck out Jim Rohn, too. I really like these Saturday posts – quick read with lots of depth. 🙂

  7. yvonne lewis / Sep 12 2009 10:56 am

    Two greats there Marvin, very thought provoking.

    Have a great week-end.

    Yvonne.

  8. quirkyloon / Sep 12 2009 11:09 am

    And thank goodness I’m not a tree.

    Would be terribly difficult to blog with branches for fingers.

    Very difficult indeed!

    Ha!

  9. Crystal Clear Proofing / Sep 12 2009 2:34 pm

    “If you don’t like how things are, change it! You’re not a tree.”

    I love this quote! I’m very much “into” self-improvement and growth. Whether a situation is on a personal level or otherwise, we have the power to CHANGE it! There are some people who do not have the ability to SEE that a change is needed, or that one might help. I’m very grateful that not only am I able to SEE these things, but have the insight and desire to go ahead and make changes. I look at myself, and life, from all sides – and do what I have to and what I can to make improvements or changes. The end result being that NOW you DO like the way things are! Such introspection is not always easy, or “comfortable,” but always worth it!

    • theoldsilly / Sep 12 2009 3:06 pm

      Crystal you would LOVE Jim Rohn, juding by your comment. I had a feeling you were into personal development. Rohn is the best, my opinion, of the LOA success coach teachers. He was Toni Robbins’ teacher and mentor!

      • Crystal Clear Proofing / Sep 12 2009 3:13 pm

        Thanks for that information Marvin. I will look him up – are there any of his books you would recommend?

  10. ReformingGeek / Sep 12 2009 9:15 pm

    Body and soul. Do the zombies eat both?

    😉

    Those are good thoughts for today, Marvin.

Leave a Reply

