Skip to content
September 20, 2009 / theoldsilly

Book Review – For Glory

For Glory

– a novel by Elisabeth Lee

  • Paperback: 346 pages
  • Publisher: BookSurge Publishing; 1st edition (October 26, 2006)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1419650467
  • ISBN-13: 978-1419650468
  • Book website: www.For-Glory.com

    For Glory coverI read For Glory from cover to cover in very short order. Not that it’s a simplistic, zip-through-it read, far from it, but because it is that entertaining. Author Lee has developed a wonderfully multi-dimensional protagonist in Carlyle Hudson. Hudson is a boomer generation woman, confident, complex, a take charge kind of gal, and she can handle herself – physically, emotionally, and intellectually. You don’t cross or mess with Carlyle or anyone dear to her. Here’s the blurb from the back cover, Lyle (as her friends and family call her) talking about herself:

    ‘I deal with other people by keeping secrets. Bottom line: I do not like people knowing what I do for a living, how much money I make, my age or marital status. So I lie. I think of it as acting. All good poker players act. I am a very good poker player.’

    That’s our gal Friday in this fast paced, twisting and turning journey of a novel with all the elements you look for in a good murder mystery. Red herrings, surprise turn of events, a fine cast of believable characters, and a satisfying finish. I won’t do a whole synopsis for you, but here’s the teaser blurb, again from the back cover:

    Returning to Kansas from San Francisco after the death of her mother, Carlyle Hudson encounters two mysteries: one from her mother’s past, and one right in front of her. Who is the source of the ominous demands that she pay up?

    An unfinished manuscript, written by Carlyle’s murdered, best-selling author sister, which provides clues in this marvelous whodunit, is a well crafted plot element. She writes with lots of humor, which I like in an author. Comedic scenes and cleverly quipped one-liners abound. Tough talking Lyle is quite the smart mouth sometimes, and I just loved it. I read one review on Amazon.com that marked the book down a couple stars for being too humorous – that reviewer felt it detracted from a book in the murder/mystery book genre.

    But I disagree. I found it uniquely refreshing. The writing style is straightforward, the dialog realistic sounding, and author Lee has, in my estimation, produced a very worthy novel. I highly recommend it, For Glory.  

    ***

    Please feel free to comment – have any of you Old Silly readers read this one? Also, blog back in next Sunday when I’ll have Elisabeth sharing with us in an interview format. Good stuff – chow, peeps!

    Click on Tweety Bird and tweet this post if you liked it!

    Tweet Me from The Old Silly's Free Spirit Blog

    17 Comments

    Leave a Comment
    1. Cactus Annie / Sep 20 2009 8:09 am

      A murder mystery with a 50’s something can handle herself smart mouth heroin and plenty of humor? I LOVE the sounds of this book.:)

    2. L. Diane Wolfe / Sep 20 2009 8:51 am

      I’m not a mystery reader, but like the novelist within the novel idea.

      BTW – you have the Dragon’s Loyalty Award waiting at my blog!!!

      • theoldsilly / Sep 20 2009 1:32 pm

        Thanks, sweetie! I’ll be right over!

    3. Helen Ginger / Sep 20 2009 11:17 am

      I like a book that has humor. And throw in mystery — you’ve got me hooked. I appreciate the recommendation!

      Helen
      Straight From Hel

    4. Elizabeth Spann Craig / Sep 20 2009 11:35 am

      That’s odd….there are so many mysteries with humor these days (mine included.) Must have been a review from a die-hard thriller reader. This book sounds great….thanks, Marvin.

      Elizabeth
      Mystery Writing is Murder

    5. quirkyloon / Sep 20 2009 11:52 am

      You are the best!

      You give, give, give so much support to other authors. That is wonderful.

      And now?

      Can I borrow a pen?

      F
      O
      R

      G
      L
      O
      R
      Y

      Another one to add to my ever-growing reading list! Thanks Marvin! And good luck to Ms. Lee for continued writing and publishing success!

      • theoldsilly / Sep 20 2009 1:34 pm

        Yes, the Old Silly – he who gives and gives ’til it hurts SO good – lol. Thanks, Quirkster – and yes, definitely pick up a copy of For Glory.

    6. Liana / Sep 20 2009 12:10 pm

      Mmm sounds like a book I like to read…Thanks for the superb review Marvin!
      Liana

    7. yvonne lewis / Sep 20 2009 1:04 pm

      Personally I haven’t read this one but if you say it’s good then your word is good enough.

      Have a good week.

      Yvonne.

    8. Stanley Berber / Sep 20 2009 1:18 pm

      Thanks for the review and tip – sounds like a fine book, and I also like humor in a book – whatever the genre.

    9. Ron Berry / Sep 20 2009 1:33 pm

      I’d love to review this! This is right up my alley. I love mysteries and I’ve been known to use a touch of humor myself. If she ever does a VBT, let me know.

    10. John Standish / Sep 20 2009 2:12 pm

      Love the sound of this book. I’m a boomer myself and I like the sound of a take charge gal with a quick wit as the protagonist.

    11. ettarose / Sep 20 2009 6:41 pm

      I love to read. I would rather read than eat sometimes I swear. I will have to check this out!

    12. Albritton / Sep 20 2009 8:46 pm

      Thanks for the review and tip – sounds like a fine book, and I also lime humor in a book – whatever 6ne genre.;

    13. Enid Wilson / Sep 21 2009 5:40 am

      Agatha Christie’s mysteries had plenty of homour too. Some readers can be very hard to please.

      Bargain with the Devil

    14. K M Britt / Oct 19 2009 7:15 am

      For it to be a good mystery book, it has to have some humor in it.

    Trackbacks

    1. Celebrate With the Old Silly and Meet Elisabeth Lee, Novelist « The Old Silly's Free Spirit Blog

    Leave a Reply

