Skip to content
September 21, 2009 / theoldsilly

The Adventures of Adam Atom – Down ‘n’ Dirty at the Gridiron!

All right, gang – back by popular demand, it’s time once again to hang onto your hadrons, fasten your safety quarks, buckle up your buckeyballs, and I now give you in real spacetime continuum – (may I have a Big Bang, please) …

BANG!

big bang

The ONE – the Only – the I Am that I Am atomically and anatomically smashing-

Adam Atom!

 Adam Atom 2

Hey guys – I know in last week’s episode I promised to fill y’all in on where I was headin’ in the loin cloth of Zeno after he stepped onto his molecular-level-instant-spacial-displacement disk, high tailing it out of Atlantis before the continent imploded. We were heading off to where it would be safe during the impending  earth polar shift to reach safe ground at …

I don’t know where. Never got there. A sun spot flare zapped me outa his butt britches, I wound up in a wormhole and got transported to – get this – present day, 2009 in Detroit, Michigan, down at Ford Field where the Lions are playing the Minnesota Vikings, and I’m part of the pigskin. It’s fourth down, Brett Favre has failed to convert third down and-

Yeouch!

punting a football

I just got punted!

Forty feet in the air I go and forty yards down field. A strong wind blows me off the ball’s surface and carries me into the midsection of the punt receiver. No sooner am I nestled into his letters, when he leaps to catch and all of a sudden-

BAM!

catching football

Right to the gut. Good god, this is a brutal savage sport. My energy spins’re doin’ the wave. Methinks I’d been safer in 10,000 BC takin’ my chances with the holocaustal continental plate drifts. At the very least I shoulda worn a cup (see human form picture of me above – not standard equipmewhistle blowing refnt for atoms, sigh, wheeze, cough).

Tweet!

 

Oh thank you god. It’s half time. I need a mighty wind to blow me outa this arena. The Old Silly’s all giddy cuz the hapless Lions who went a historical record 0 and 16 last year are actually up at the half, 10 to 7. I could give a crap. Fact is, I don’t think I CAN crap after that last hit.

Oops, my guy just wiped the grime off his jersey, me included, spit on his hands and rubbed them together, and now he’s – he’s … wiping his hands off on his bum! Yuk!

Why couldn’t this have been a nice, quiet, civilized, clean game of chess or something? Oh well – say a little prayer for ol’ Marv, his toothless Lions just got scored on again, lost the lead. He’s so pathetic when his team loses. Kinda sad to see an Old Silly weeping like that. You’d think he’d be used to it by now, but …fat lady singing

Okay I’m outa here. Not stickin’ round for the fat lady to sing the blues. Just caught a lucky updraft and I’m heading for the stratosphere. Blog in next week for more of the exciting epic exploits in-

  

The Adventures of Adam Atom!

~~~~~

Click on Tweety Bird and tweet this post if you liked it!

Tweet Me from The Old Silly's Free Spirit Blog

23 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Elizabeth Spann Craig / Sep 21 2009 6:27 am

    It’s that season again! I think the Carolina Panthers are also going to have a season to make folks weep! 🙂

    Elizabeth
    Mystery Writing is Murder

  2. ReformingGeek / Sep 21 2009 8:32 am

    Poor old Adam needs a rest. That was a very active trip for him.

    The poor old Cowboy lost their home opener to the Giants last night. It was their first game in the brand spanking new stadium.

  3. yvonne lewis / Sep 21 2009 8:33 am

    Most enjoyable, I love this blog and look
    forward to it each week. keep up the good work.

    Yvonne.

  4. Crystal Clear Proofing / Sep 21 2009 8:48 am

    Good ol’ Adam – always making his way through the BLOGOSPHERE!

    Speaking of which…please stop by my blog, Marvin – there’s something waiting there for you!

    Happy Monday!

    • theoldsilly / Sep 21 2009 10:30 am

      Cool – be right over, Crystal. 🙂

  5. Jane Kennedy Sutton / Sep 21 2009 9:30 am

    I’m glad Adam was able to escape from the grips of football – now if only I could do the same, but alas it’s seems to be everywhere and on every station. Sigh.

    • theoldsilly / Sep 21 2009 10:30 am

      Yeah good luck with that, Jane – Football this time of year is as ubiquitous as atoms!

  6. John Standish / Sep 21 2009 9:39 am

    OMG – Football season has even gotten into ol Adam’s Adventures now – what is this world coming to? lol – fun episode, Marv!

  7. L. Diane Wolfe / Sep 21 2009 9:45 am

    Oh Adam, now you’re in my world!!! Not sure I’d want to be man-handled by the Favre, though.

  8. unwriter1 / Sep 21 2009 9:57 am

    I’m not into sports but even I have to admit it was wylde last night in Iowa City as the Hawks won! You’re right, I can’t spell , but I’ll post on my blog later today so you can see what wylde really is. Just keep in mind, zombies don’t always come out on talk like a pirate day, but these did.

    Ron

  9. Cactus Annie / Sep 21 2009 10:12 am

    Love this episode – Football fever! Woohoo! I guess Adam finds his way into ANY arena, eh? 😉

  10. quirkyloon / Sep 21 2009 11:47 am

    “…wiping his hands off on his bum! Yuk!

    “Just caught a lucky updraft and I’m heading for the stratosphere.”

    Whew! I feel so relieved for Adam Atom, I was worried he was going to be stuck on the bum and have to go boldly where no Adam Atom has gone before!

    Ha!

    (yes, I’m in a sicky sense of humor today.) *smile*

    • theoldsilly / Sep 21 2009 5:15 pm

      “I’m in a sicky sense of humor today” – yawn, so what else is new? 😉

  11. Morgan Mandel / Sep 21 2009 1:45 pm

    Wow, you look great with that red cape!

    Morgan Mandel
    http://makeminemystery.blogspot.com

    • theoldsilly / Sep 21 2009 5:15 pm

      Why thanks – I thought no one had noticed! lol

  12. ettarose / Sep 21 2009 3:34 pm

    Wow, that was exciting. I really thought he would get another ride, seeing as how he was on a players bum. Ha ha, you know how sports players are into bum patting.

  13. ettarose / Sep 21 2009 3:35 pm

    Me again. I forgot to ask you if you are doing the caption thing weekly? I am going to link to you on my next contest and I want to be sure you are going to be posting another picture.

    • theoldsilly / Sep 21 2009 5:17 pm

      Etta- I’m going to do a Thrusday caption thingy – so this Thursday I’ll post the winner of last week’s caption contest and have a new pic to go crazy with. 😉

  14. Galen Kindley / Sep 21 2009 3:55 pm

    You have my sincere sympathy. Oh for the world is a tough place to be. But, consider us Packer fans. We were supposed to have a competitive club this year, knocked the snot out of teams in the preseason. But, barely beat…well, the Bears, and DIDN’T beat the Bengals. It’s very painful to be Oh for everything, but, it’s worse to lose when you’re not supposed to. That really hurts.

    Best Regards, Galen
    Imagineering Fiction Blog

    • theoldsilly / Sep 21 2009 5:16 pm

      Yeah and your Packers’ old Q-back, OLD Favre, comes over here to the D with his new team and hands out butts to us! NOT FAIR!

  15. Helen Ginger / Sep 21 2009 5:57 pm

    Uh, Marvin, you didn’t happen to write this while you were goofing off watching TV, did ya? Pardon me, not “goofing off,” but doing research. That’s what I meant to say.

    Helen
    Straight From Hel

    • theoldsilly / Sep 21 2009 6:26 pm

      Hmm – yes, research – yeah, that’s the ticket – I was doing research. 😉

  16. DivinityRose / Sep 27 2009 10:48 am

    hey! congratulations!!!

Leave a Reply

