Skip to content
September 25, 2009 / theoldsilly

Friday Friends Blog – Over the Proverbial Edge of Sanity!

Getting back to my oftentimes but not always weekly feature today, with a special blog to call to your attention, case ya might not’ve been hip to it yet. There is a witty, delightfully sarcastic, funny and clever gal that hosts a blog called “Sanity on Edge,” who goes by the name of Ettarose.

blogging troll

No, that’s not her – that’s a sample graphic taken from one of her recent posts. She’s much prettier … here-

Ettarose

See?

Now, Ettarose … could be her real name, maybe not – wouldn’t surprise me if it’s just another of her insane funnies – like mebbe she “e’t a rose” or something. Here – here’s a little insight into her bloggy style direct from her blogger profile-

“I am a wife, Mother and Grandmother. I have custody of three of my Grands and we have a grand life. I have a job and have had for 26 years. I am vocal in my opinion and am not afraid to voice it. I usually say what others think. I write like my mind is, scattered and all over.”

Sobutanyhowsit, her blog is off the hook entertaining. It was her crazy craption contest that pushed the Old Silly over the edge of sanity and made me decide to take the plunger and do something similar here in these hallowed cyber halls. “Cept she does it up outhouse grandstand style with the awarding of this-craption award1

to her caption creating victors. See what I mean? As lovely a loony as you could ever want!

So the Old Silly does heartilly encourage you to make it a habit of visiting Sanity on Edge blog for regular doses of her straight from the hip with a chip on the shoulder holster brand of writing, poking fun, and making people laugh, think, and have a most entertained time whilst doing so.

And Ettarose, please accept these two exclusive awards from the Old Silly. They are not the kind you pass around and start silly tag games with, no. They are direct from me to you to do with as you please. You can accept one or both or not, you can display them proudly on your blog’s front page or hide them deep within the dark recesses of some remote page, or you can print them out and make paper planes with them. Won’t hurt my feelings either way, cuz like I’ve said a bazillion times, I don’t DO blog awards. (wink)

First off, the Old Silly’s Excellence in Entertainment Award-

Award Excellence in Entertainment

And this one is dear to my heart, for it means you’ve taken that first step in overcoming your – erm … problem, admitting openly that you are a Marvaholic!

Award MA

Pick you up at 6:30 tonight, the weekly 12 step meetings are held right near you, starting a 7 pm sharp. We’ll grab a soda and discuss your recovery regimen. I’m a qualified sponsor, so no worries – you’ll be fine, dear. Just fine.

That’s it, gang. Tanks for blogging in, blog back in tomorrow for A Saturday Pontification, Old Silly style. Chow, bye bye, toodles and have a great day!

Click on Tweety Bird and tweet this post if you liked it!

Tweet Me from The Old Silly's Free Spirit Blog

22 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Ron Berry / Sep 25 2009 6:46 am

    sounds like my kind of blogger. She’s the one that took you over the edge of sanity? I could have sworn that had disappeared long ago. Thankfully, I at least have remained quite sane and very shy.

  2. Cactus Annie / Sep 25 2009 8:16 am

    Another cool sounding blog, Marv – I’ll have to check it out – thanks for the tip!

  3. Crystal Clear Proofing / Sep 25 2009 9:05 am

    Definitely gonna check out the blog of someone who comes so highly recommended by likes of you, Marvin!

    You have a simply delightful day yourself, and stop on over to CCP and test those spelling skills again today…it’s Fun Friday! You KNOW you want that gold and especially that PURPLE star! LOL! 🙂

    • theoldsilly / Sep 25 2009 12:26 pm

      Have those stars ready, Crystal – I’ll be over soon!

  4. ettarose / Sep 25 2009 10:04 am

    I am speechless. Believe me that almost never happens, unless I have been gagged which I am sure some would like to do. That was one of the nicest things anyone has ever said. I am blushing. I am just glad I met you. You are da bomb! The awards? They mean more than any others because you, like me made them from you. That says it all!

    P.S.
    Do NOT stand me up. I’ll be waiting with bells on!

    • theoldsilly / Sep 25 2009 12:26 pm

      Stand you up? Never! lol – just got back – hilarious pics post, Etta! 😉

  5. Jane Kennedy Sutton / Sep 25 2009 10:25 am

    Making people laugh…I can’t resist, I’m on my way over now. Besides with a name like Sanity on
    Edge – it’s got to be good.

  6. Elizabeth Spann Craig / Sep 25 2009 10:54 am

    Sounds like a great blog! And, since my sanity is teetering over the edge, one that I need to check out. Thanks!

    Elizabeth
    Mystery Writing is Murder

  7. Karen Walker / Sep 25 2009 10:55 am

    One of the best benefits of blogging is learning about other wonderful bloggers. This is one I’m heading right over to check out. Thanks again, Marvin.
    karen

  8. CatLadyLarew / Sep 25 2009 12:14 pm

    Hooray for Ettarose! Keeping us all on the Edge of Sanity!

  9. quirkyloon / Sep 25 2009 12:24 pm

    Etta is a doll! I adore her! What a wonderful shout-out for her! WTG Marvin!

    • theoldsilly / Sep 25 2009 12:27 pm

      Thanks, Quirkster – and yes, Etta is delightfully insane, isn’t she? 😉

  10. Helen Ginger / Sep 25 2009 1:21 pm

    Sanity is not all it’s made out to be. And anyone who can take you over the edge (personally, I thought you had one foot in the looney bin already) is worth checking out, for sure.

    Helen
    Straight From Hel

    • theoldsilly / Sep 25 2009 3:25 pm

      Hmph – Hey! I resemble those remarks, Helen! 😉

  11. Christina Rodriguez / Sep 25 2009 2:20 pm

    That’s a very nice shout-out to a comrade, Marvin. Kudos to EttaRose!

  12. Elspeth Antonelli / Sep 25 2009 3:26 pm

    More blog links! Wonderfu! BTW, “Ettarose” is the name of the Wicked WItch’s sister in Gregory Maguire’s book “Wicked”. Might be significant, might not!

    Elspeth

    • theoldsilly / Sep 25 2009 3:34 pm

      Hmmm, could be, could be … most interesting. 😉

      Always glad to see new e-faces here, Elspeth – blog in any ol’ time!

  13. Galen Kindley / Sep 25 2009 6:26 pm

    Hey, Marv, I don’t know where you come across all these great blogs, but, you have a gift for finding really good ones featuring people as you said a couple of days ago, who don’t “just mail it in.” I’ve not been to her blog, but, that will be easily rectified. Thanks.

    Best Regards, Galen

    Imagineering Fiction Blog

    • theoldsilly / Sep 25 2009 7:27 pm

      Yup, check her out dude, you’ll be happy.

  14. Stanley Berber / Sep 25 2009 8:42 pm

    Anyone who can award a pile of crap for a crazy crapchun is all right with me! 😉

  15. John Standish / Sep 25 2009 9:29 pm

    Sounds like MTY kinda blogger gal. Will check it out – thanks, Marv!

  16. Deb / Oct 1 2009 6:56 am

    Ettarose is awesome! Always funny, always witty, smart, and a sweetheart…until you get her mad. DON’T GET HER MAD!!

    Nice blog, Marv! I’m off to do my part in the 9-5 rat race, but will be back when I can sit here and read and enjoy.

Leave a Reply

