Skip to content
October 11, 2009 / theoldsilly

Bach to Bach Posts

On yesterday’s A Saturday Pontification post, I quickly made it clear that I was talking about Richard Bach the author, not Johann Sebaspdq bach 2tian Bach the composer. So as not to overlook the great Baroque composer or belittle his magnanimous influence on the history and development of music, I thought today I would post a nice, relaxing Sabbath-worthy piece featuring Johann’s youngest brother, P.D.Q. Bach.

Thanks to the pseudo-scholarly work of Professor Peter Schickele, this untalented, prolifically plagiarizing, composer wannabe has been “discovered” and countless of his worthless manuscripts, retrieved from 19th century trash bins and landfills, have been dusted off, performed and recorded for our listening agony. I invite you to sit back, have a towel to bite on and a strong beverage to help you along. The works of P.D.Q. Bach are about as lovely as an ear infection, as you will soon discover. And pay close attention to Professor Schickele’s astute scholarly opening remarks. Pure genius!

Thank you for blogging in, I hope you enjoyed the show. Please blog back in tomorrow for more of the atomically smashing epic exploits in the continuing-

Adventures of Adam Atom!

Click on Tweety Bird and tweet this post if you liked it!

Tweet Me from The Old Silly's Free Spirit Blog

21 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Dorte H / Oct 11 2009 6:22 am

    Hi Marvin.

    I saw your comment on my Danish blog and was a bit confused. I do read some German, but I really prefer comments in English 😀

    I have an English-Danish crime fiction blog which you can find here if you should be interested: http://djskrimiblog.blogspot.com/

    Have a nice Sunday!

    Cheers, Dorte from Denmark.

    • theoldsilly / Oct 11 2009 7:34 am

      OMG! – LOL, I thought your blog was in GERMAN, so I used one of those translater websites to post a comment – ha!. OK, next time I’ll know better. Thanks for the visit and invite, Dorte From Denmark. 🙂

  2. unwriter1 / Oct 11 2009 6:42 am

    Wow! Someone else that likes PDQ Bach. I have one of their albums. He’s the classical version of Weird Al. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7YQa6l3Geyo

    I’ll send you the link off blog also. Have you heard any other PDQ Bach music? They are good and the liner notes are just as bad. This is a collection worth spending money on,

    • theoldsilly / Oct 11 2009 7:35 am

      OOh yeah, Weird Al is right up there with PDQ for musical parodies. Loved the Youtube, thanks for the link!

  3. Crystal Clear Proofing / Oct 11 2009 6:49 am

    Not really so sure about PDQ Bach but the “professor” is a hoot!!

  4. Stanley Berber / Oct 11 2009 7:25 am

    What a stitch! The Prof is a gas – I’ll have to pick up some PDQ Bach. 🙂

  5. Cactus Annie / Oct 11 2009 8:16 am

    Schikele is hysterical. I had the opportunity to see one of his PDQ concerts a loooooong time ago. I was in tears laughing so much. Fun stuff, thanks for the giggles today, Marv. 😉

  6. Karen Walker / Oct 11 2009 9:41 am

    Hi marvin,
    Just wanted to stop by and thank you for visiting my blog while I was in Europe. It means a lot to me.
    Karen

    • theoldsilly / Oct 11 2009 12:27 pm

      My pleasure, Karen – I’ll be by your blog a bit later. Sounds like your trip was FABULOUS!

  7. ReformingGeek / Oct 11 2009 10:33 am

    What a hoot! Thanks for the laughs this morning!

  8. Elizabeth Spann Craig / Oct 11 2009 10:51 am

    Too funny! Nice way to start out a Sunday…thanks.

    Elizabeth
    Mystery Writing is Murder

  9. quirkyloon / Oct 11 2009 11:08 am

    That was so funny!

    Did he say that Himer Hiney was one of Mozart’s inspirations?

    heeheehee

    • theoldsilly / Oct 11 2009 12:28 pm

      You got that right, Quirkster, well, close – Heinrick Hiney, I think it was. 😉

  10. DivinityRose / Oct 11 2009 11:18 am

    thanks for sharing the cheer this morning, you old silly 🙂

  11. John Standish / Oct 11 2009 2:17 pm

    What a character – I was laughing out loud. I studied enough classical music in HS & college to get the not-so-subtle nuances of the Prof’s statements – lol – what a hoot. Thanks for the grins. 🙂

    • theoldsilly / Oct 11 2009 2:26 pm

      Yeah, John, I studied classical myself and the background just adds to the humor. 😉

  12. L. Diane Wolfe / Oct 11 2009 2:20 pm

    Classical version of Weird Al??? Too funny!

    • theoldsilly / Oct 11 2009 2:27 pm

      Exactly! Weird Al in a tuxedo playing classical – LMBO. 🙂

  13. yvonne lewis / Oct 11 2009 5:28 pm

    Loved your post as usual looking forward to your next.

    Yvonne.

    • theoldsilly / Oct 11 2009 5:55 pm

      Thanks, Yvonne, and yes – I got a WHOPPER for you tomorrow – ol’ Adam Atom is going bonkers all round the universe. 😉

  14. Enid Wilson / Oct 11 2009 9:55 pm

    Ah, the confusion of names! After I have decided to use Enid Wilson as the pen name, I found out that there was a British amateur golfer of the same name. She seemed to be very gifted. I’m happy I’ve chosen well.

    Steamy Darcy

Leave a Reply

