Skip to content
October 24, 2009 / theoldsilly

A Saturday Pontification – Stepping Outside of Your Comfort Zone

A fundamental element in the path of self discovery and personal growth is being willing to continually step outside of your comfort zone, step by step pushing the envelope of your known world. When you have reached the point where you are comfortable being uncomfortable, in fact uncomfortable when staying comfortable for too long, you are well on your way.

- Thus sayeth The Old Silly

Click on Tweety Bird and tweet this post if you liked it!

Tweet Me from The Old Silly's Free Spirit Blog

24 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Ron Berry / Oct 24 2009 7:12 am

    As a toastmaster and writer, I do this all the time.

  2. Stanley Berber / Oct 24 2009 7:15 am

    The last part is the hardest to get to, but I dig what you’re saying. Keep pushing, keep growing. Good Pont, Marv. πŸ™‚

  3. Barbra Kelser / Oct 24 2009 8:09 am

    Excellent words to live and grow by, old silly! πŸ˜‰

  4. Karen Walker / Oct 24 2009 9:48 am

    Felt like this was written for me. It’s a reminder I need over and over and over.
    karen

    • theoldsilly / Oct 24 2009 9:55 am

      Thanks, Karen – and trust me, I need to remind my SELF sometimes, too. πŸ˜‰

  5. Elizabeth Spann Craig / Oct 24 2009 10:59 am

    That’s the hardest thing for me. I like to be comfortable. I don’t accept change well. I’m working on it. πŸ™‚ Good reminder, Marvin.

    Elizabeth
    Mystery Writing is Murder

  6. quirkyloon / Oct 24 2009 11:18 am

    I feel uncomfortable right now.

    My undies keep bunching up and shirt is too short, so I keep tugging on it and I think I have a corn on my toe.

    Most uncomfortable!

    But you say this is a good thing?

    Okay, IF you say so.

    Ha!

    • theoldsilly / Oct 24 2009 1:43 pm

      Oh yes, Quirky – wearing a wedgie, while VERY uncomfortable, I’ve heard is a GREAT zombie repellant! Yup. So then you get to live to see another day and work on self-development and self-realization, albeit with a slight hitch in your gate. πŸ˜‰

  7. ReformingGeek / Oct 24 2009 1:02 pm

    Yep. It’s so hard. It’s easier to “not” do something or to sit back and get stuck in your own routine. Thanks for the reminder.

    Poor Quirky has a wedgie.

  8. Cactus Annie / Oct 24 2009 1:34 pm

    I get it. I really do. Now I just gotta DO it! πŸ˜‰

  9. Jean Henry Mead / Oct 24 2009 1:39 pm

    True words were never spoken. Great advice, Marv.

    • theoldsilly / Oct 24 2009 1:44 pm

      Thanks, Jean – and I know you’re one who subscribes to this sort of thinking.

  10. Jeannine Gardella / Oct 24 2009 1:40 pm

    That is something I have a REALLY hard time with, and am constantly tested and made to do just that.

  11. John Standish / Oct 24 2009 2:57 pm

    Good one, old silly. Easier said than done, but I agree it’s all about expanding your horizons and aiming high in life.

  12. Connie Arnold / Oct 24 2009 4:32 pm

    Thanks for sharing, Marvin. I had to read it twice, and I must admit, I still like being comfortable! Thanks for this little push!

  13. Marylee Wilson-Walker / Oct 24 2009 6:51 pm

    Great words for all of us to live by! I needed these words today…time for me to step out of my zone and get these feet wet!

    • theoldsilly / Oct 24 2009 6:55 pm

      LOL – g’on ‘n’ GET those feet wet, Marylee! πŸ˜‰

  14. katrina / Oct 24 2009 7:31 pm

    wonderful words of wisdom!

    • theoldsilly / Oct 24 2009 8:56 pm

      Wah thankya kahndly mah waz dahlin’! πŸ˜‰

  15. yvonne lewis / Oct 25 2009 4:40 am

    Good post Marvin, somtimes it does one good to step out side their comfort zone.

    Yvonne,

  16. Crystal Clear Proofing / Oct 25 2009 9:10 am

    I LOVE THIS!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  17. Lin / Oct 25 2009 11:23 am

    i DIG this… the wisdom of it speaks directly to some of what I’m going thur. Right on, and right on time, my friend!

    I’ve got nothin but love for ya, mane!

    Keep snatchin JOY!

    One.

    L

  18. E. Marie / Oct 25 2009 11:58 am

    Okay.

  19. AmyLK / Oct 26 2009 8:25 pm

    My son needs his comfort zone in order to function properly. Yet, I have gotten into that habit as well. I think this is a reminder for me to step out! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

