Skip to content
October 30, 2009 / theoldsilly

Even the Best Bloggers Get Blogger’s Block

I didn’t have anything major to blog about today so I thought I’d blog about not having anything to blog about. It’s a serious committment, ya know, taking up the dire responsibility of building up a popular blog that peeps come to each and every day expecting to find something new, brilliant, enlightening, informative, inspirational, spiritually uplifting, funny, or just so downright stupid the idiocy of it is hilarious.

Wears on ya.

Well, not all the time, fact – not hardly ever, but once in a while even the best bloggers get-

Blogger’s Block!

And that happened to The Old Silly early this morning as I sat at my blank monitor, staring with my blank eyes in front of my blank balding head. So. Mark this day on your calendar. The Old Silly is speechless. I have nothing to rant about, no pearls of wisdom to impart, no knee-slapping jokes to tell, I … got. Nothing.

And y0u know what? I’m down wit dat. ‘S’all good. I’m gonna take me a long walk, sit on a park bench and meditate, maybe read me a good book, fix a special gourmet lunch, take a nap if I damn well please, and let the dice roll on this day. Might even call my daughter and see if she needs Grandpa to stop over and sit the short people so she and her DH can have a break.

Oh – I do have one bit of advice ‘fore I head out on my walkabout – just thought of it. When you get bogged down, whether a blogger and/or an author, or a C.E.O., a teacher, a doctor, lawyer, or cat shepherd, whatever, and you feel like what you’re doing is not doing it well?

Be like the Old Silly – say screw it for a while and do something else. A little serendipity is good medicine for what ails ya!  

Click on Tweety Bird and tweet this post if you liked it!

Tweet Me from The Old Silly's Free Spirit Blog

29 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Cactus Annie / Oct 30 2009 6:19 am

    LOL, hey Marv – only a writer could write a whole post about not having anything to write about! 😉

  2. John Standish / Oct 30 2009 6:28 am

    Sound advice, Old Silly! And enjoy your walk in the park.

  3. Crystal Clear Proofing / Oct 30 2009 7:04 am

    Hey, a break from the “routine” and doing something different recharges those batteries and is refreshing to the spirit. Enjoy a “different” day!

  4. L. Diane Wolfe / Oct 30 2009 7:45 am

    That’s why Saturday is usually my Internet day off – although I often lurk…

  5. yvonne lewis / Oct 30 2009 7:55 am

    Can’t imagine you lost for words Marvin but it happens to the best of us.
    Have a grand day.

    Yvonne.

  6. Karen Walker / Oct 30 2009 10:16 am

    Enjoy your “different” day. Parks, being with the little people, gourmet lunches. Can I come?
    Karen

  7. Barbra Kelser / Oct 30 2009 10:22 am

    I’m with Karen – be right over for a walk in the park, romping with rugrats and gourmet lunch! LOL 🙂

  8. quirkyloon / Oct 30 2009 10:24 am

    Oh, you are in deep, deep trouble Mister Marvin Z!

    I have repeatedly given you a GREAT idea for a blog post and yet you still ignore it.

    Today, would have been an excellent opportunity for a Marvin audio clip or video?

    Tsk, tsk.

    For shame on ye!

    Meditate on that!

    (Wow, I sound hostile, don’t I? Sorry! *sheepish grin*)

    I better go and get my Diet Dr. Pepper now. I never learn! Do not comment prior to drinking!

    • theoldsilly / Oct 30 2009 10:45 am

      Well YES MA”AM, Quirkster Dearest! LOL – I DO want to fulfill your fanatical desire to see the Old Silly in performance – just don’t have anything handy. But I’m working on it, promise – go now, get your Diet Dr Pepper and stop haranguing me, please? 😉

  9. Helen Ginger / Oct 30 2009 10:28 am

    I definitely agree with your advice. You can’t force the muse or your inspiration or whatever you call it. But you can encourage it by doing something else. You rock.

    Helen
    Straight From Hel

    • theoldsilly / Oct 30 2009 10:45 am

      Yep – brilliant minds and rocks like us agree, eh? 😉

  10. Ron Berry / Oct 30 2009 10:29 am

    It’s amazing how many words it takes to say you’re out of words. Wordlessly wordy. Good Job.

  11. AmyLK / Oct 30 2009 11:04 am

    Enjoy your walkabout! Its just the thing to refresh the spirit and get you ready for the next post!

  12. Elizabeth Spann Craig / Oct 30 2009 11:49 am

    Good for you! Sometimes it’s just time to recoup.

    Elizabeth
    Mystery Writing is Murder

  13. Joyce A. Anthony / Oct 30 2009 12:04 pm

    I HAD to comment today 🙂 I love the days when the Universe calls for a break from routine. It is often on those days we find the greatest truths. Enjoy your day, my friend!

  14. Elspeth Antonelli / Oct 30 2009 1:34 pm

    Time off is good. Let your brain relax. Eat cheeseburgers.

    Elspeth

  15. Stephen Tremp / Oct 30 2009 3:57 pm

    Bloggers Block. I never had it until I read your blog today. Thanks, Marvin. Just kidding. I don’t think I’ve ever experienced this. I can usually put together a few coherent paragraphs.

    Stephen Tremp

  16. Galen Kindley / Oct 30 2009 4:17 pm

    A daily blog is tough to keep up with. I couldn’t. Just flat could not for a variety of reasons. Three days per week seems to work for me pretty well, however.

    Best Regards, Galen

    Imagineering Fiction Blog

  17. Enid Wilson / Oct 30 2009 4:53 pm

    Great advice! I went to sit in a rose garden inside a park yesterday after lunch. And felt quite refresh for more work afterwards.

    In Quest of Theta Magic

  18. Jane Kennedy Sutton / Oct 30 2009 5:15 pm

    Well I guess there is a first time for everything! However, even with writer’s block, you passed along some wise advice. We all need time off. Enjoy your day!

  19. Laurie Morningstar / Oct 30 2009 7:41 pm

    Well when I bumped into my dog today I said Excuse me. OMG I must be getting senile!

  20. Stanley Berber / Oct 30 2009 10:10 pm

    A good break is always right on time, bro!

  21. MadMadMargo / Oct 31 2009 2:18 pm

    I just hate it when that happens. Sometimes inspiration escapes me.

    Happy Halloween!

  22. E. Marie / Nov 1 2009 9:39 am

    Very good advice, it doesn’t seem like you have many of these days though. Is a “DH” a designated hitter? Educate me.

    • theoldsilly / Nov 1 2009 9:43 am

      It’s a “Dear Hubby” – popular acronym these days on lots of social networks. 😉

      • E. Marie / Nov 1 2009 9:52 am

        Not to this “SW”….Single Woman.

        One day….ah one day. (Again).

      • theoldsilly / Nov 1 2009 10:10 am

        Get outa here! Thought you MUST’ve gotten snatched up fo sho! (Loud Whistle!) Hey guys! Gorgeous babe with good values over here … take a ticket and get in line! (wink)

Leave a Reply

