Skip to content
November 4, 2009 / theoldsilly

Hilarious Hump Day – Getting Into Heaven

I seem to have had a run on “Pearly Gates” jokes lately. Today’s mid-week jocularity is a particularly good one in that genre. Have a Hilarious Hump Day Ho-Ho-Ho on the Old Silly!

~~~~~

angelswordA minister died and was waiting in line at the Pearly Gates.

Ahead of him was a guy dressed in sunglasses, a loud shirt, leather jacket, and jeans.

Saint Peter addressed the man wearing the rather gauche attire, “Who are you, so that I may know whether or not to admit you to the Kingdom of Heaven?”

The guy replied, “I’m Jack Thomas Jr., taxi-driver, of Noo Yawk City.”

Saint Peter consulted his list. He smiled and said to the taxi-driver, “Take this silken robe and golden staff and enter the Kingdom of Heaven.”

The taxi-driver went into Heaven with his robe and staff.

Then it was the minister’s turn, standly proudly in his sharksin suit, silk tie, pressed white shirt and expensive Italian leather shoes with enough gold and diamonds adorning his body to erase the US national debt. He stood up tall and boomed out in his clergically trained, finest orator’s voice, “I am Joseph Snow, pastor of Saint Mary’s Church, for the last forty-three years.”

Saint Peter consulted his list. He said to the minister, “Take this cotton robe and wooden staff and enter the Kingdom of Heaven.”

“Just a minute,” said the minister. “That man before me was a taxi-driver, and he gets a silken robe and golden staff. I get cotton and wood? Why, How can this be?”

Saint Peter looked at the preacher and said, “Up here, we work by results. “While you preached, people slept. While Jack drove, people prayed.”

Click on Tweety Bird and tweet this post if you liked it!

Tweet Me from The Old Silly's Free Spirit Blog

27 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. yvonne lewis / Nov 4 2009 5:58 am

    Ah Marvin one I liked, there is a moral to this one .

    Have a lovely day.

    Yvonne.

  2. Elizabeth Spann Craig / Nov 4 2009 6:16 am

    I like it!

    My first thought, though, when reading ‘Hilarious Hump Day’ was….it’s Wednesday???? Somehow my week has gotten away from me. Thanks for the reminder on what day it is!

    Elizabeth
    Mystery Writing is Murder

    • theoldsilly / Nov 4 2009 9:39 am

      LOL, yep – tis Hump Day my dear – glad to help!

  3. Ron Berry / Nov 4 2009 7:03 am

    Good way to send me off to Toastmasters today. I plan to put a penny in front of where each person sits. The penny is, after all, the most common of American coins and the theme for the day is connon sense.

  4. Crystal Clear Proofing / Nov 4 2009 8:14 am

    Oh, I wasn’t expecting that ending! Good one!
    And I’m with Elizabeth… I also read Hump Day and thought, WHAT???? Ahh…such busy people that time just zips on by…

    • theoldsilly / Nov 4 2009 9:40 am

      Time flies whe we’re having so much fun, eh Crystal? 😉

  5. Marcus Franks / Nov 4 2009 8:41 am

    Loved it! Great twist at the end.;)

  6. Karen Walker / Nov 4 2009 9:44 am

    Must be something in the air – I didn’t realize it was Wednesday either. This one made me smile. Know what I love most about your jokes? I get them! Which is unusual for me. Somehow there is a synapse missing in my brain or something when it comes to jokes.
    karen

  7. Cactus Annie / Nov 4 2009 10:18 am

    Hahahahaaa – yeah. I know I do a LOT of praying in a cab! Good Hump Day laff, old silly. 🙂

  8. quirkyloon / Nov 4 2009 10:40 am

    LMBO! Good one Marvin, good one!

  9. Stanley Berber / Nov 4 2009 11:19 am

    Hoo-boy – guess heaven is more pragmatic than we all thought, eh? LOL – good one! 🙂

  10. Helen Ginger / Nov 4 2009 11:48 am

    That was a very good punchline.

    I’ve been in one NY cab and muttered a few prayers as I clutched the seat.

    Helen
    Straight From Hel

  11. tdryden1 / Nov 4 2009 11:58 am

    Very, very cute!! Love it… And I need a laugh this morning! Thanks

  12. Stephen Tremp / Nov 4 2009 1:36 pm

    Hilarious but true. Suunds very similar to a parable.

  13. MadMadMargo / Nov 4 2009 2:39 pm

    Ah-hahahaha! Very funny, me likey.

  14. Barbra Kelser / Nov 4 2009 3:07 pm

    Too funny! And too TRUE!

  15. Elspeth Antonelli / Nov 4 2009 3:16 pm

    Ah, methinks me spies a moral therein! Thanks for giving my Wednesday a giggle.

    Elspeth

  16. Joyce A. Anthony / Nov 4 2009 3:20 pm

    If getting people to pray as you drive is all it takes, I’m sure to get a silk robe!!

    • theoldsilly / Nov 4 2009 3:56 pm

      Ha! Well at least you’re honest about yourself, my friend! 😉

  17. Jean Henry Mead / Nov 4 2009 3:58 pm

    LOL, Marv. That’s a good one! My husband will definitely qualify for a silk robe.

  18. Galen Kindley / Nov 4 2009 5:02 pm

    Thanks, Marv. When (?) I meet St. Peter, I’ll remember to wear my Detroit Lions Jersey, that aught to be worth automatic entry.

    Galen.

  19. John Standish / Nov 4 2009 7:33 pm

    Ha! Cracked me up with this one, dude. Thanks for the yuks!

  20. AmyLK / Nov 5 2009 4:56 pm

    Ok. That’s punishment for reading blogs at work! I just got myself in trouble laughing too loud! Happy Hump Day!

  21. Hilarious Joker / Nov 5 2009 8:51 pm

    The more I read it, the more it impresses me. I don’t know how I ever worked without hilarious and funny things in our life, Life would be so much easier especially when there’s a jokes here and there. Being funny is nice because a lot of serious people are lacking with this kind of behavior that is why they are much look older. I would like to thank you for your outstanding blog post. Keep it up! Awesome!

  22. ettarose / Nov 7 2009 5:44 am

    Right on the money, Marvin. I have been in a New York taxi!

  23. nimmik67 / Dec 18 2009 7:37 am

    🙂 Nice One!

Leave a Reply

