Skip to content
November 13, 2009 / theoldsilly

Rant ‘n’ Stance! – Amnesty Bill Gone Berzerk!

I am not against immigration. Far from it, I mean other than the Native Americans, we are all, at some time or another in our familial lineage, immigrants to this country. And even they, most anthropologists agree, migrated to North America from China thousands of years ago. But I am, however, strongly opposed to illegal immigration, and, vehemently opposed to tax dollar funded entitlement programs in support of those who flaunt their disregard for legality in our tax-burdened faces.

I recently was hipped to this video clip of Lou Dobbs, talking about the Amnesty Bill the current administration is trying to get passed. Please bite into a lemon and grimace along with me as you listen for the next couple of minutes. And keep in mind, this was aired on mainstream-supported CNN, not the oft-attacked maligned-by-the-current-government-for-telling-the-damaging/incriminating awkward-truth Fox News.

Well? What say you … sound fair enough? The good ol’ American way, right?

Time to write flag@whitehouse.org, folks, and melt down the phone lines on Capital Hill again. And again, and again, and again … this is still a country of free people with the right to speak up. Do it.

Click on Tweety Bird and tweet this post if you give a tweetin’ damn!

Tweet Me from The Old Silly's Free Spirit Blog

25 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. yvonne lewis / Nov 13 2009 8:40 am

    We here have the immigrant problems , don’t get me wrong I am not against immigrants in general but there are so
    many British people out of work yet many post are taken by the immigrant community. Only Yesterday on the news
    many youths were bemoaning the fact that they can’t get jobs yet the Polish people have no trouble at all.
    I am all for live and let live but also believe in the adage” Charity Begins At Home ”
    Have a good week-end Marvin, The UK are in for a week-end of heavy storms and gales.

    Yvonne.

    • theoldsilly / Nov 13 2009 9:48 am

      Thanks Yvonne, have a good weekend their in the UK, and batten down the hatches!

  2. Elizabeth Spann Craig / Nov 13 2009 8:53 am

    The bill obviously needs reworking. I’m not sure how this issue is even getting the prominence it is with all the other issues the country is facing right now.

    Elizabeth
    Mystery Writing is Murder

    • theoldsilly / Nov 13 2009 9:49 am

      Ture dat, Elizabeth. But it IS real, and needs to be addressed, along with all the other “wrong” stuff going down. Thanks for the comment.

  3. Marcus Franks / Nov 13 2009 9:21 am

    With all the hubbub over the heallth care bill – which is an aoutrage in the form it is that got passed by the house – now they’re trying also to pass this ridiculous amnesty bill? Who’s writing these bills? Idiots! Definitely we need to speak up and have some MAJOR reworking of BOTH these bills for either of them to be anywhere sensible in achieving anything of lasting value to our country and economy.

  4. Crystal Clear Proofing / Nov 13 2009 9:36 am

    Indeed a very powerful broadcast — and are you aware that, I believe it was Wednesday – Lou Dobbs signed off after his broadcast stating it was his last on CNN? Mmm…makes you wonder. Maybe he’ll show up — on a different network?

    • theoldsilly / Nov 13 2009 9:51 am

      Yes I heard that too, Crystal – my bet is he’s going to move to a more independent netwrok, perhaps his own – to allow even more freedom of speech. Hope so, anyway.

      • Crystal Clear Proofing / Nov 13 2009 10:15 am

        Yup. He was one of the anchors that was a bit outraged at that whole White House ban on Fox… Oh what tangeld webs are everywhere!

  5. Cactus Annie / Nov 13 2009 9:41 am

    Outrageous. Unemployment at an all time high, taxes already beating the middle class to death, and now they try to pass a bill that gives a free ride and all kinds of tax-funded benefits to ILLEGAL immigrants!? Thanks for this heads up, Marv – I’m definitely going to let somene on the Hill know how much I disapprove of this.

  6. Stanley Berber / Nov 13 2009 10:14 am

    Yeah I saw that CNN segment. Absurd, the way that bill is written. Good heads up, Marv, hope lotsa peeps will shout out against this, I know I have been.

  7. Barbra Kelser / Nov 13 2009 10:22 am

    Crystal is right – Lou Dobbs was too supportive of Fox News, too hot for CNN to handle. Who knows what REALLY went down behind the scenes, but if I know Dobbs, he isn’t done yet. 😉

  8. tdryden1 / Nov 13 2009 10:28 am

    I really think we must have all gone to sleep one night and the government did something to our brains!!! How in the world can we allow this crazy stuff to continue? I know the United States people are smarter than they think we are. Why do I want to work my butt off to support everybody else? I do enough of that as it is. With this economy, my children and grandchilden need help. I don’t have the means to help out these people from other contries, who can’t speak English, want to bash our government (for helping them) and disrespect our spiritual beliefs.
    Have we all gone mad? We need to stop this mess. If we don’t, we just as well let things be as they will and not complain about any of it.

  9. quirkyloon / Nov 13 2009 10:35 am

    This is beyond absurd and retarded.

    Part of the heath care mess is due to our paying for illegals using the hospital system. I’m not heartless, just broke! They’ve drained us already. There’s nothing left to give to them.

    And if this bill passes, I’m moving to Mexico where YOU all can help pay for my new and improved life there.

    Yeesh.

    • theoldsilly / Nov 13 2009 1:22 pm

      ¡Bien dicho, Raro, y espera – voy al sur de la frontera con usted! 😉

  10. Jean Henry Mead / Nov 13 2009 11:46 am

    Good grief! We defintely need term limits and an entirely new Congress.

  11. L. Diane Wolfe / Nov 13 2009 11:47 am

    I will take your word for it, as I don’t want to lose my breakfast.

    Gosh, what part of ILLEGAL immigrants do people not understand????? If I snuck into Canada, they’d deport my butt in a heartbeat and it would not be wrong.

    Folks, pick up a green card before crossing the border, please. Then you are free to enjoy this country.

  12. ReformingGeek / Nov 13 2009 12:17 pm

    It’s a no win situation. I do like the idea about helping countries (Mexico) with incentives for people to stay there. One thing I will say about illegal immigrants and jobs is that they will work jobs that most Americans are not willing to do. On the other hand, it seems to me that our government has all these grandiose ideas but no real means to pay for them.

    • theoldsilly / Nov 13 2009 1:23 pm

      Good points, RG, but the Gov DOES have plans on how to pay for them … it’s called higher taxes.

  13. Connie Royce / Nov 13 2009 1:06 pm

    Please tell me that this in some way shape or form a DAMN JOKE… WTF! That was the most ridiculous crap I have ever heard!!!

    • theoldsilly / Nov 13 2009 1:24 pm

      Sadly, Connie, the only joke here is the insidious one being played on the American tax paying citizenry – unless we STOP this.

  14. MadMadMargo / Nov 13 2009 3:43 pm

    Living so close to the Mexican border, where the official language is Spanglish, illegal immigrants have most definitely effected our local economy. It pisses me off.

  15. John Standish / Nov 13 2009 5:26 pm

    Pathetic, and it pisses me off. Definitely will be emailing flag@whitehouse.org – when does this madness end?

  16. Shelly Roundtree / Nov 13 2009 5:28 pm

    Found this blog doing a Google search on this absurd amnesty bill thing. Lou Dobbs is spot on, and we need to stop this crap. Good post and blog!

  17. tashabud / Nov 13 2009 8:19 pm

    Even though I’m an immigrant, I also don’t approve illegal immigration. It took six months to process my immigration papers, along with 2 interviews before I was allowed to come to this country. So, yes, everyone should go through the same process that the legal immigrants had to go through.

    Even though I belong to the minority group, I don’t support affirmative action or special treatments. For myself, I want to be recognized for my efforts, contributions, and for who I am inside and not because of my skin color or of my ethnicity. I don’t want special treatments. I’d like to be able to advance myself in this country and society through my efforts, determination, and hard work.

    And if a person decides to make the United States his/her home, it’s imperative for that person to learn the English language, work hard, and pay his/her taxes, instead of being a burden to our society.

    Tashabud

  18. Jeannine Gardella / Nov 14 2009 9:26 am

    I sent off an e-mail and asked them to stop the madness. Other countries don’t put up with this crap. Try getting into Germany without papers.

Leave a Reply

