Skip to content
November 20, 2009 / theoldsilly

Author Julie Lomoe – She’s Better Than the Average Old Hippie!

One of the great pleasure of haunting the hallowed halls of Bloggydom is the friends you make. Today’s guest poster is special to me because, like the Old Silly, she is an old Hippie.

Yes! Power to the people! Right on, sister! Hell no – we won’t go!

Ooops – let me stop. Ahem.

Anyway,  Julie, pictured here with her darling pet canine,  has been on virtual tour and is gracing us today on this, the last stop of the tour, with a special article she wrote just for us here at Free Spirit. I now turn this blog over to author and graphic artist, Julie Lomoe, with her guest post, titled: 

Scents of the Sixties

Whew, I finally made it! This is the tenth and final stop on my inaugural Blog Book Tour, and it’s been a wild ride. A few days ago, I said that by the time I reached Marvin’s blog, I might well be writing about my bathroom habits. Well, not quite, but – SPOILER ALERT – I’m going to talk about body odor. If that grosses you out, maybe you should skip this blog.

To put my prediction in context: Since I started this tour two weeks ago, I’ve disclosed quite a bit about myself and my personal history – in particular my bipolar diagnosis and how it’s influenced my mystery novels, especially Mood Swing: The Bipolar Murders. In their comments, people have lauded me for my courage and honesty in letting it all hang out. The more praise I get, the more personal my disclosures become. It’s a simple matter of positive reinforcement; I learned all about it decades ago when I took B.F. Skinner’s Human Behavior course at Harvard. (By the way, he had a daughter named Julie – he raised her in the infamous “Skinner Box.”)

Back to body odor: like Marvin, I’m an old Hippie, and I know he enjoyed my posts about the 1969 Woodstock Festival, where I won a prize for my paintings.

(Psssst! Old Silly here … Julie provided me with this … a photo of an award-winning painting she did of Jimi Hendrix that she showed at the 1969 Woodstock  Music and Arts Festival) 

(Groovy, eh? Okay, sorry … back to Julie)

The growing sense of community I’m experiencing as I widen my circle of friends on the Internet reminds me in many ways of the spirit of the 60’s. At the height of Flower Power, I was a newly divorced (well, at least amicably separated) woman in my twenties and a pioneer settler in the cast iron district in Lower Manhattan that was becoming known as SoHo. When I renovated my first loft on Broome Street, I put in a minimal bathroom with the cheapest tin shower stall I could find. Incidentally, that loft was diagonally across the street from the one where Heath Ledger died. The articles on his death all described the neighborhood as luxurious and upscale, but it was anything but back then.

As I recall, bodily hygiene wasn’t a high priority in the 60’s, for myself and for many others. I won’t go into the gory details, but suffice it to say we got pretty funky. And at the Woodstock Festival, I didn’t get near running water for three days straight. I’m no Marcel Proust, and I don’t have a vivid olfactory memory. People must have smelled pretty ripe, I suppose, but the odor was masked by all the fragrant smoke.

Today, sitting at our computers and communicating on the World Wide Web, we can get equally odiferous if we choose. As I write, it’s 2:55 p.m. Eastern Standard Time, and I’m still in the luxurious powder-blue polyester garment I bought at Wal-Mart for $18. It’s a cross between velour and chenille, it zips up the front, and I don’t know whether to call it a robe or a nightgown, but I’ve been wearing it practically around the clock. I love it so much that if it survives the first wash in good shape, I’ll go back and get another one in pink. It’s comfy and cozy, but the day’s getting warmer, and – well, you get the idea.

Thank heavens no one can smell us when we’re being scintillating online. They can’t see us either, unless we want them to. For the Poisoned Pen Web Con back in October, billed as the first virtual international mystery writers’ conference, authors had the option of doing live video feeds, but luckily I wasn’t up to speed on that particular technology. Some authors who did manage to give a presentation that way may wish they hadn’t – the fish-eye lenses built into their computers were anything but flattering.

I wonder if writers in Nebraska or Maine become even more slovenly than I do. I’m fortunate to live in the Capital Region of upstate New York, and there’s lots of live in-person literary action. I clean up fairly nicely for my age, and I enjoy dressing for success as much as the next woman. I spend much less money on clothes than I used to, though – one of the many advantages of doing most of my socializing online.

In a couple of hours, I’ll be leaving for the annual meeting of the Hudson Valley Writers Guild over at the East Greenbush Library. If my husband were here, he’d tactfully say, “You’re going to take a bath, aren’t you?” I don’t know why he feels the need for these reminders after 36 years, because I do have a modicum of judgment on hygiene issues. But today he can’t say it –  he’s down in Woodstock, of all places, caring for our three-year-old granddaughter, who’s running a fever. Our daughter can’t afford to take any more sick time, and he knows I have to finish this blog and get it off to Marvin, so he’s doing his grandpa bit.

Yes, I know I’m blessed. As I sit here at the computer in my upstairs office with one of my cats, looking out at the lake while Canada geese honk in the distance, I realize how lucky I am. I love reminiscing about the 60’s, but given the option, would I want to time-travel back? Not on your life.

© Julie Lomoe 2009

~~~~~

Thanks, Julie! Hey gang, here’s her books, Eldercide

 

 

and Mood Swing: The Bipolar Murders.

 

To purchase them, just click on the titles or the cover images.

 

All right peeps, let’s show Julie some Flower Children Love Generation good vibes in the comments gallery. Julie will I’m sure be stopping in to interract and chat with y’all. Actually, she’ll rap with ya. That’s what us Hippies used to call it when we got all heavy and talked cosmic stuff – a groovy rap session. Rap on, brothers and sisters!

Click on Tweety Bird and tweet this post if you liked it!

Tweet Me from The Old Silly's Free Spirit Blog

29 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Elizabeth Spann Craig / Nov 20 2009 6:43 am

    Nice post, Julie! I love your painting. Isn’t the internet and working from home wonderful?

    Elizabeth
    Mystery Writing is Murder

  2. unwriter1 / Nov 20 2009 6:46 am

    Ah yes, flower power, some more aromatic than others. I was there, someplace, in the sixties. How I managed to not be at Woodstock is beyond me, I was running around free and loose at the time. But, like a true sixtieser (is that a word? Should be), if you remember it, you weren’t there. Tis good to hear from another stay-at-home-work-in-your-robe person.

  3. yvonne lewis / Nov 20 2009 7:43 am

    Wonderful post Julie, very interesting to read.

    Yvonne.

  4. Cactus Annie / Nov 20 2009 8:28 am

    I just missed the 60’s Hippie thing, but I know a lot of “old hippies” that are very interesting people. Thanks for this “enlightening” article about some of the – erm, less thought about aspects of Hippie movement, lol. That painting is wonderful and best of wishes in your writing career, too!

  5. Barbra Kelser / Nov 20 2009 8:53 am

    Julie you seem like a for real, tell it like it is kind of woman. Thanks for the candid post. I work at home too, and LOVE being able to dress any ol way (or not at all) I want to! lol

    Do you still paint, too? That Hendrix painting is very good!

  6. Helen Ginger / Nov 20 2009 9:34 am

    Love the Hendrix painting. I hope you either still have it or you got boocoodles of moola for it.

    I have to agree, it is so easy to plop down in front of your computer and look up an hour later only to discover it’s nighttime.

    Helen
    Straight From Hel

  7. Creative Chronicler / Nov 20 2009 9:54 am

    Great post and artwork. It is delightful learning more about you and the 60’s

  8. seo indonesia / Nov 20 2009 10:14 am

    great post,its realy nice art,. 🙂

  9. Stanley Berber / Nov 20 2009 10:15 am

    I was at Woodstock. It`was the most powerful experience of community and like mindedness I’ve ever had. Loved this article – I actually DON’T recall if`we smelled “ripe” or not – probably WAS cuz of`all the smoke aroma! LOL

    You write very well – love the sound of your books.

  10. Crystal Clear Proofing / Nov 20 2009 10:17 am

    It’s great to take a little trip (OH! PUN!) down memory lane! Love the candid “right-on!” post and the painting is groovy! (Really!)

  11. Karen Walker / Nov 20 2009 10:30 am

    As I read this, I’m sitting in my fuzzy blue bathrobe. Love the painting, too. You are one talented lady, Julie. The books are on my to-do list.
    karen

  12. John Standish / Nov 20 2009 11:02 am

    Love anyone who doesn’t put on “airs,” and Julie seems to be a for real writer. I’ll have to check out your books. Good feature post, old silly & Julie!

  13. L. Diane Wolfe / Nov 20 2009 11:34 am

    Don’t think I could’ve survived the 60’s, Julie. I am super-sensitive when it comes to being ‘fresh.’

  14. julielomoe / Nov 20 2009 12:18 pm

    Thanks for the great comments, everyone. It’s wonderful to see some Blog Book Tour friends as well as a bunch of folks I’m not familiar with. I won’t mention all your names here, but I wrote them all down – I’m keeping a list of all the people who comment on my BBT. Never fear, I won’t do anything nefarious with it.

    If you want to read more about my Woodstock experiences, please visit my own blog, Julie Lomoe’s Musings Mysterioso at http://julielomoe.wordpress.com. You can then find the exact posts by going to CATEGORIES in the Blogroll and scrolling down to the Woodstock 1969 category. That will bring up all four of my posts on the subject, including the poem about the paintings that still languish in my basement. I wrote the posts in August when there was all the 40th anniversary hype going on about Woodstock. WordPress lists them with the most recent first, so I suggest you start at the bottom and work your way up.

    A note to my fellow bloggers: this archival category feature is one of the things I love about WordPress. I may be wrong, but I don’t believe BlogSpot has it. Marvin, I remember when you switched to WordPress after BlogSpot disappeared your old blog. Any comments?

    Thanks for all the compliments about my painting. Currently I’m not doing much visual art. For one thing, my house is too small! The Hendrix painting is 64″ x 64″ square, and we don’t have any walls large enough to accomodate it, so it’s in the basement garage. When I do get back into visual art, it will probably be via computer graphics.

    • theoldsilly / Nov 20 2009 2:32 pm

      Julie, yes – archiving is just ONE of many features that I favor with WP over blogspot.com blogs. It’s also easier to set up easy to access multiple pages – as you see I have several atop the main page of this blog, and I also like the way you can reply to an individual comment underneath that specific person’s comment – like this one. 😉

      • julielomoe / Nov 20 2009 4:10 pm

        Hi Marvin. Yes, you’re right about replying to individual comments – I’d forgotten about that one. I remembered it only after I’d applied to everyone above as a group. Then I wondered whether to go back and leave individual comments, but decided it would take too much time. I was hoping they would think this was BlogSpot and not notice. Oh well . . .

  15. Marcus Franks / Nov 20 2009 2:22 pm

    I got a flash of nostalgia reading this post. I wasn’t at Woodstock, but did the whole Hippie thing, I remember the “aroma” of Hippe pads, lol. I lived on a commune farm for a couple years. Love the painting and the books sound great, too. 64″ X 64″ – wow – that’s like 5′ square, right? See? I didn’t take so much acid I can’t still do simple math, lol 😉

    • julielomoe / Nov 20 2009 4:11 pm

      Hi Marcus. Living on a commune was one thing I missed. I don’t think I ever could have been cooperative enough!

  16. Jane Kennedy Sutton / Nov 20 2009 4:50 pm

    Julie, congratulations on making it to the end of your tour! Your posts, including this one were all fresh and fun to read. I have some great memories of the 60’s – fortunately bad smells aren’t among them!

    • julielomoe / Nov 21 2009 4:40 pm

      Hi Jane. Thanks, I’m relieved the BBT is over. I’m glad you stuck with all the posts. People still have time to go to my post at your site last Monday the 16th and get the link to the Jung Typology Test. Still trying to collect writers’ results to see if we’re all introverts.

  17. Joyce A. Anthony / Nov 20 2009 4:53 pm

    Julie–your artwork is great and both books sound fantastic–I’ll be sure to check them out. I was a bit young for all the excitement of the 60s, but I know the wondrous freedom that comes from working at home. Thanks for giving us a glimpse into Julie, the person–I’m hoping to hear more from you!

    • julielomoe / Nov 21 2009 4:42 pm

      Thanks, Joyce. You certainly will hear from me – I can’t seem to shut up! Just check out my blog. You and anyone else here can friend me on Facebook if you want – but I can’t tell you how. Someone did it by clicking the FB link on my blog, though.

  18. theoldsilly / Nov 20 2009 6:00 pm

    Just wanted to drop in at the end of the afternoon here and say, “Thanks again, Julie!” for being with us here today. Loved the article, and having followed your tour I must say, “Well done.” Also thanks to all who have visited and commented so far today – you guys’re the best. Taking the wife out for dinner and a movie now, so signing off for the evening, but I’ll log in early AM to see how the evening went. Have a great night, all – and Julie, “Right on, sister!” (smile and wink) 😉

    • julielomoe / Nov 21 2009 4:46 pm

      Thanks for inviting me, Marvin. It’s been a blast! Strangely enough, after concluding this tour yesterday, I ushered at the Troy Music Hall for Frank Sinatra Jr. and his top-notch eight-piece band. When it comes to music, my tastes are very eclectic! Tomorrow night is Livingston Taylor, James’ brother, and then Monday night, Ray Davies, founder and auteur of The Kinks, at The Egg. I once shared a taxi with him on 5th Avenue in NYC, but I doubt he’d remember.

  19. MadMadMargo / Nov 20 2009 9:17 pm

    Fabulous, simply fabulous!!! Thanks for including that dirty, smelly, hippie, the old silly Marvin, on your tour.

    • theoldsilly / Nov 21 2009 11:24 am

      Hey! I resemble that remark! 😉

    • julielomoe / Nov 21 2009 4:48 pm

      Margo, I’m not sure which one of us you meant was smelly! Doesn’t matter, though. Thanks anyway.

  20. ReformingGeek / Nov 21 2009 12:23 am

    Very nice. I enjoyed the time travel. I agree that it’s fun to reminisce but I would prefer to continue to move forward!

    • julielomoe / Nov 21 2009 4:48 pm

      I agree! The future’s so bright, I gotta wear shades, as Timbuk 3 said in the song.

Leave a Reply

