Skip to content
November 23, 2009 / theoldsilly

Adam Atom?

No, sorry gang – it’s The Old Silly, but I promise all you Adam Atom fans he’ll be back in his regular Monday spot next week. Today I’m asking y’all to cut me some bloggy slack, I’m busy all day preparing for a week of holiday travel. Gonna be heading out to The Big Apple to visit my son, drive him back here to Michigan for a good ol’ Wilson family reunion on Thanksgiving, and then … catching my breath and catching up on regular blogcasting. I do have posts scheduled to go up all week, so fear not … you will not be deprived of your daily dose of Free Spirit!

Today I thought I’d put up a special rendition of one of my all time favorite songs, performed by Lous Armstrong. Many of you, I’m sure, are familiar with it, but this clip is special in its visual accompaniment to the lyrics and tones. So, in the spirit of gearing up for this Thanksgiving, I would ask you to relax for the next two minutes, breathe deep, and meditate on all the beauty around us in this miraculous, marvelous creation.

Does our world have its faults? Are there problems, challenges facing us as a race of people and our environment as we move forward? Yes, and of course there are. But remember, we receive more of what we focus on and sincerely desire. Join me now in focusing on “What a Wonderful World” we have.

Blog dismissed, my friends. Oh – if you are a blogger that the Old Silly visits regularly, please understand over the next few days I am largely without internet access, travelling and all, but I will do my best to visit y’all as much as possible. Wifi cafe breaks, that sort of thing. And even if I don’t get a comment in every day, I am always with you in spirit. And again, there will be daily posts up here all week.

Have a great holiday week, see you here, there, and everywhere, and remember what a wonderful world we can continue to enjoy and make together with our thoughts and actions of love for each other.

Click on Tweety Bird and tweet this post if you liked it!

Tweet Me from The Old Silly's Free Spirit Blog

18 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Elizabeth Spann Craig / Nov 23 2009 6:19 am

    This is one of my *favorite* songs, Marvin. And a great message as we head into Thanksgiving. Thanks and enjoy your holiday!
    Elizabeth
    Mystery Writing is Murder

  2. unwriter1 / Nov 23 2009 7:47 am

    Happy Thanksgiving my friend. This is one of my favorites also.

  3. yvonne lewis / Nov 23 2009 8:31 am

    What Monday and no Adam??????? lol. I love that song but I have the version sung by my Irish favourite Daniel O Donnell.
    Have a pleasant trip to The Big Apple and a safe one too.
    Here part of the Uk are under severe flood alerts, especially The Lake Distirict in Cumbria.
    Take care.
    Yvonne.

  4. Cactus Annie / Nov 23 2009 8:45 am

    Great song, always loved it and the pictures are wonderful. Have a great trip, old silly – I just LOVE family reuinions!

  5. Barbra Kelser / Nov 23 2009 9:11 am

    Awww, going to see your son and having a family ruinion. Have a great Thanks, old silly, and LOVED this version of What a Wonderful World!

  6. Jane Kennedy Sutton / Nov 23 2009 9:13 am

    A great song and the photos were beautiful. The song is now stuck in my head and I’m sure I’ll be singing and humming it all day.

    Enjoy your break.

  7. quirkyloon / Nov 23 2009 9:22 am

    Have a wonderful and safe trip Mr. Marvin!

    We’ll be waiting.

    *fingers tapping*

    *fingers tapping*

    *fingers tapping*

    Is he back yet?

    hee hee hee

    • theoldsilly / Nov 23 2009 3:54 pm

      Patience, my Quirky Dear, lol. And as I said, the Old Silly WILL be here with pre-scheduled posts, just not as online as usual to chat as frequently. Hugs and Happy Holidays to ya!

  8. John Standish / Nov 23 2009 9:35 am

    Have a safe trip, a wonderful Thanksgiving, and WOW – Loved that pictorial rendition of that WONDERFUL song. Satchmo’s is my favorite version, too. 🙂

  9. L. Diane Wolfe / Nov 23 2009 10:59 am

    Thanks, Marvin – what a nice way to begin the day!

    Safe travels my friend.

  10. Helen Ginger / Nov 23 2009 11:07 am

    Thanks for the music and the video this morning. That song just makes you close your eyes and relax. Definitely needed on a Monday morning.

    Helen
    Straight From Hel

  11. Elspeth Antonelli / Nov 23 2009 12:57 pm

    That is one of my favorite songs. Enjoy your holiday and have fun with family. Turkey away!

    Elspeth

  12. Marcus Franks / Nov 23 2009 2:14 pm

    Have a great trip! LOVE Satchmo’s song and the video is beautfiful. Bit I DO miss Adam Atom, lol 😉

  13. ReformingGeek / Nov 23 2009 3:23 pm

    Have a great trip and thanks for the video beauty today!

    T minus X and counting…..until your return.

    • theoldsilly / Nov 23 2009 3:52 pm

      Thanks RG! And the Old Silly WILL be here – I have posts scheduled to go up while I travel – I’ll just be offline a lot and not as able to comment and reply as much. Have a great Turkey Day!

  14. Galen Kindley / Nov 23 2009 5:27 pm

    Oh, boy, Marv, sounds like you got a great week planned. Not to worry about stopping by my blog, I always know if your not there in person, you’re there in, uh, spirit…no pun intended. Wishing you a safe, safe trip…take no chances traveling, and we’ll here from you as we can. Hope you saw your Lions yesterday. Enjoy it while you can, pal, because my Packers come calling on Thrusday!

    Best Regards, Galen

    Imagineering Fiction Blog

  15. AmyLK / Nov 23 2009 5:28 pm

    Be safe and have a wonderful holilday visit!

  16. ileaneb / Nov 24 2009 7:28 am

    Best song I heard all day! Thanks and have a happy Thanksgiving.

Leave a Reply

