Skip to content
November 26, 2009 / theoldsilly

I am Thankful For …

If you are taking time out of your Thanksgiving holiday celebration to visit this blog, the Old Silly is thankful and grateful to you. I’ll not take much of your time today. I just wanted to wish you all well, to say “thank you” for being regulars here, or if you just happened by today, to thank you for that and welcome you back any ol’ time.

Today I simply ask that you leave a comment that finishes this opening sentence with a Thanksgiving statement:

On This thanksgiving Day, I am thankful for …

And I will start.

On this Thanksgiving Day, I am thankful for Christ and His loving forgiveness. I am thankful for my loving and close family, my many friends, and my reasonably good health at my age. I am thankful to live in a free country and do appreciate those who fight to keep it free, in all the ways that implies. Most of all, I am thankful to be uniquely me, the opportunity to experience and enjoy this incredible, vast creation, and the divine right to seek and attain reunification with the One God. How sweet it is!

Okay, off to the dinner table, gang. Toodles, leave your Thanksgiving comment, and Happy Thanksgiving from the Old Silly!

Oh wait! Before ya go, had to let you know …  I am the featured blogger today on Carolyn Howard Johnson’s blog, “Sharing With Writers.” She has a piece put up today I wrote on overcoming your fears, stepping out of your comfort zone and public speaking. If you’d like to check out her blog and read it, click here.

Chow gang, don’t eat too much!

Click on Tweety Bird and Tweet this post if you liked it!

Tweet Me from The Old Silly's Free Spirit Blog

23 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Cactus Annie / Nov 26 2009 9:18 am

    Lovely thanksgiving post and thankful thoughts, Marv. On this thanksgiving day I am thankful for my family, friends, and that I have a job – lots of people don’t these days, and I pray for them.

  2. Helen Ginger / Nov 26 2009 9:57 am

    On this thanksgiving, I am thankful for my family. I could add much more to that, but family is what I’m most thankful for today. Happy Thanksgiving, Marvin.

    Helen
    Straight From Hel

  3. tdryden1 / Nov 26 2009 9:59 am

    Marvin I love your blogs…

    On this Thanksgiving day I am thankful for the Lord up above, for being able to have my syblings with me on this day (we lost both mom and dad), my children and grandchildren and most of all my hubby (putting up with me and my ailments all these years). I am also thankful that the Lord has giving me another outlet, writing. My friends for being so supportive and helpful and just being able to wake up today!

    Have a Blessed and wonderful holiday…

  4. Elizabeth Spann Craig / Nov 26 2009 10:03 am

    Happy Thanksgiving to you, Marvin! I hope you have a happy day with your brother.

    Elizabeth
    Mystery Writing is Murder

  5. Stanley Berber / Nov 26 2009 10:10 am

    On this Thanksgiving Day I am thankful for my health, my God, my family, that fact that I have a JOB, and being in a free country. Oh, and I’m thankful for YOU, Marv, and your blog – brightens my day so many times. Happy Thanksgiving, Old Silly!

  6. Barbra Kelser / Nov 26 2009 10:29 am

    On this Thanksgiving Day I am thankful to be happily married with a great hubby and two wonderful, healthy kids. Happy Thanksgiving, Old Silly!

  7. quirkyloon / Nov 26 2009 11:04 am

    On this Thanksgiving Day I am thankful for zombies and toilet paper.

    Honest!

    I really, really am!

    (A nutcase, I know)

    *smile*

  8. L. Diane Wolfe / Nov 26 2009 12:02 pm

    Amen, Marvin! God’s Salvation should be first on our list.

  9. John Standish / Nov 26 2009 1:22 pm

    Happy Thanksgiving, Marv! I’m thankful for good health, a job, a car that drives, family, and of course my Lord, Christ Jesus.

  10. Marylee / Nov 26 2009 1:59 pm

    On this Thanksgiving Day, I am thankful for my wonderful family and my health. It would not be a Thanksgiving without being thankful for my parents teaching me to pray, and showing me (by example) a strong faith in the Lord. Thank you, Cuz, for this blog. I have been blessed!

    • theoldsilly / Nov 26 2009 2:50 pm

      Thank you, too, cuz! And here’s to a blessed Thanksgiving Day for you and your family. 🙂

  11. Joyce A. Anthony / Nov 26 2009 2:38 pm

    Today I am thanful that God finds me worthy
    –worthy of a wonderful family
    –worthy of wonderful friends, online and off
    –worthy of being caretaker to many of his furry beings
    –worthy to breath, live, love and learn

    Yes, today I am thankful that God finds me worthy of all the gifts He has bestowed upon me!

    • theoldsilly / Nov 26 2009 2:51 pm

      Beautifully put, Joyce – happy Thanksgiving, my friend!

  12. theoldsilly / Nov 26 2009 2:53 pm

    I appreciate all your comments and Thanksgiving Thanks, everyone. Amazing how many peeps are STILL out here in Bloggydom on such a busy holiday!

  13. Connie Arnold / Nov 26 2009 4:56 pm

    Thank you for your post and the opportunity to share thanksgivings with each other, Marvin! I’m thankful to God from whom all things for which I’m thankful come, first for Jesus, then for family and friends and the gift of life. I’m thankful for the internet to connect with so many people, make new friends, and enjoy blogs like yours! Also thankful for phones so I can talk with my children, grandchildren and other relatives that we are unable to be with today. Happy Thanksgiving!

  14. Jeannine Gardella / Nov 26 2009 5:18 pm

    I am thankful for good health, a wonderful husband of nearly 50 years, my children and grandchildren, great-grandchildren. A Christian heritage. Hope for the future. A home that is paid for. A loving church community in which to worship and be of service. Our blessings are manifold and impossible to number.

  15. ReformingGeek / Nov 26 2009 6:26 pm

    Happy Thanksgiving to you!

    I am thankful for Quirky’s TP….er…no…….er….toilets?

    Let me try again. I am thankful for all my bloggy friends and for Hubby who puts up with my bloggy world!

  16. Simon Hay / Nov 26 2009 7:40 pm

    Today I’m thankful for life, and the desire that one man can make a difference. I’m thankful for human potential and faith. I thankful for dreams. I dream of peace, hope and love. God bless.

  17. Katrina Wampler / Nov 26 2009 8:43 pm

    I am thankful for my children. For my friends (like you … and Ms Terry), for a warm home, a job (even when I hate it), for the blessing of having my latest novel picked up and for the love of the most amazing man on Earth. Can it get any better than this??

    Happy Thanksgiving. Love you so much

  18. Marcus Franks / Nov 26 2009 9:44 pm

    So much to be thankful for, if we take the time to assess all our blessings. Great post, Marv, and Happy Thanksgiving to you also!

  19. yvonne lewis / Nov 27 2009 5:10 am

    Thanks for a wonderful post, I am thankful for my family first and foremst ( though one has strayed away fromus) also for reasonable health.
    Have a great thanksgiving.

    Yvonne.

  20. Ak / Nov 27 2009 5:25 am

    Hi Bro,
    How are you.. Wow its been so long since i have been here. Life is jammed up, cant even find time to blog.. Wishing you a wonderful Thanksgiving.

    I am thankful that Am alive, am thankful to my family and all my friends. Above all am thankful to my boss who have agreed to let me take a month vacation this coming December. Oh Boy… I’ll be spending my Christmas with my family after three years.. The song Coming Home by Cinderella and Jingle Bell’s are playing in my mind since he said yes…

    Have a great day bro.

  21. kerrycharacters / Nov 27 2009 1:07 pm

    I am thankful for the gift of words. I am thankful for the gossamer threads that connect us across oceans and differences. Happy thanksgiving. It is a pleasure to have you in my life. I hope one day we will meet.

Leave a Reply

