Skip to content
December 18, 2009 / theoldsilly

Friday Friends Blog – Elizabeth Spann Craig

It’s been some time since I’ve done this favorable blogger shout out feature, so I figured it’d make a nice change of pace to get back to it today. As most of my regular readers know, the Old Silly doesn’t do blog awards. Well, that is, I accept awards, they are kind and thoughtful gestures, and I do appreciate the consideration and thought behind them. I just don’t very often get involved in the meme tag games that so often accompany them and I refuse to comply with any rules attached to receiving and passing them on. Not my style. That’s one reason I put the “Blog Awards” page on this blog. On that page you can see the awards and in most cases you can click on them and go to the giver’s blog – my way of giving back and helping other bloggers’ traffic and readership.

But enough about me and my quirks. Today I want to call your attention to a fabulous woman, a prolific and terrific blogger, published author, and an excellent writing coach.

Elizabeth Spann Craig.

Elizabeth bestowed the award below upon the Old Silly, which was an impetus for me to revive this Friday feature thingy. I think it was just last week she gave it to me. Maybe a bit earlier. Not exactly sure, must be the Half-Heimers acting up, but it was recently, okay? Stop laughing at me.

 Here it is- 

And you know what I like about this one that’s special? Here’s the “rules” that go with it:

  • You can post this image to your blog…or not.
  • You may share this award with others…if you like.
  • You may adapt or alter this image in any way.

See? Now that’s my style and my kinda gal! Totally Free Spirited, no strings attached, giving without expectations, and oh, here – she finished up by saying to the several bloggers she had listed to receive her award, “I want you all to know that I appreciate you.”

Well, I appreciate you too, Elizabeth. And for anyone who has not had the pleasure of reading her blog yet, the Old Silly does heartily encourage you to go over to Mystery Writing is Murder blog for daily doses of entertaining, informative, and wonderful insights into the craft of writing good prose. She has this incredible gift of making analogies out of everyday life experiences and turning them into literary tutorials. Great stuff. You’ll love it. You will want to follow this blog, trust me. 

So Elizabeth? Please accept this Old Silly Award for Excellence in Entertainment blogging, as well as the Marvaholics Anonymous Award. Both of them are exclusive, they only come from me and are not meant to be passed around.

Award MA

You can have either one or both, or it won’t bother me none if you don’t take either one – totally up to you. Plaster ‘em on your main page, or stick ‘em on some back page, or just print them out and make paper planes with ‘em. Heck – have a plane throwing contest with your kids. Won’t hurt my feelings whatever ya do with ‘em. Except’n if you start one of them flippin’ play date meme tag games with them – do that and I’ll stop following you on Twitter. Okay, maybe nothing that serious, but just sayin’ …

Okay. That’s it for today, gang. Stop back in tomorrow for a Saturday Pontification, got a real whiz banger for y’all.

All right, now it’s really gotta go time. Chow. Toodles, guys – blog dismissed. 

Click on Tweety Bird and tweet this post if you liked it!

Tweet Me from The Old Silly's Free Spirit Blog

21 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. yvonne lewis / Dec 18 2009 8:09 am

    Congratulations on your award, well deserved.

    Yvonne.

  2. L. Diane Wolfe / Dec 18 2009 8:20 am

    Glad to see this feature is back!

  3. Elizabeth Spann Craig / Dec 18 2009 8:31 am

    Marvin! Thank you!! I really appreciate the plug and the awards and will put them up with pride. 🙂 No memes for you! Promise.

    Elizabeth
    Mystery Writing is Murder

    • theoldsilly / Dec 18 2009 10:21 pm

      Totally welcome, Elizabeth, and I believe you (wink)

  4. Stanley Berber / Dec 18 2009 8:51 am

    Sounds like a great blog, Marv – thanks for the lead!

  5. unwriter1 / Dec 18 2009 9:08 am

    I’ve seen that blog and I agree it is great. I need to get back to both blogging and reading others. That is my new years resolution.

    Yes, you do deserve this award and congratulations!

  6. Barbra Kelser / Dec 18 2009 9:16 am

    Great shout out, Old Silly – well deserved award, and Elizabeth sounds like a wonderful blogger, too!

  7. Thelma Banks / Dec 18 2009 9:24 am

    Congrats on the award, and nice shout out, Old Silly. I like the “Free Spirit” of Elizabeth’s award giving, too. 🙂

  8. Marcus Franks / Dec 18 2009 10:16 am

    I like Elizabeth’s style – will have to check her blog out. Nice shout out, Marv, and congrats on yet another well deserved award – even though you don’t DO awards, lol 😉

  9. Helen Ginger / Dec 18 2009 10:41 am

    Elizabeth does indeed have a great blog. I zip over every day to read what she has to say.

    Helen
    Straight From Hel

  10. Karen Walker / Dec 18 2009 11:07 am

    Elizabeth is one of my favorite bloggers–great shout out, Marvin. I’m convinced she has the makings of a great nonfiction writing book based on her blogs that take every day occurrences and turn them into writing lessons.
    karen

  11. Mason Canyon / Dec 18 2009 11:23 am

    Congratulations on your award. I agree Elizabeth’s blog is one to follow. She has lead me to some most interesting sites (including yours), as well as provided wonderful and helpful information since I began blogging. She definitely deserves an award and much appreciation.

  12. Terry Odell / Dec 18 2009 11:40 am

    Visiting Elizabeth’s blog has been a high point of my mornings. And I’m another proud recipient of her award. Maybe I’ll even get it posted onto my blog. I love the ‘no strings’ part.

    • theoldsilly / Dec 18 2009 10:24 pm

      Hey Terry – just visited your blog and was very impressed. Good conections through good bloggy peeps, eh?

      • Terry Odell / Dec 18 2009 10:30 pm

        Thanks for stopping by. Hope you’ll become a regular visitor. Or even a guest. I’m always looking for fresh topics.

  13. moooooog35 / Dec 18 2009 12:13 pm

    I LOVE when the rules are:

    “Eh…whatever.”

    Totally sums up my attitude. Perfect.

  14. John Standish / Dec 18 2009 1:24 pm

    Cool shout out, Marv!

  15. Galen Kindley / Dec 18 2009 2:40 pm

    Elizabeth’s blog is indeed one to read. She’s very talented and her posts are always interesting and informative. She, like you, Marv, is a winner.

    Best Regards, Galen.

    Imagineering Fiction Blog

  16. quirkyloon / Dec 18 2009 2:47 pm

    Mucho congratulations with a tamale on top to you Sir!

    You most deservedly deserve it! Ha!

  17. ReformingGeek / Dec 18 2009 6:18 pm

    A big Yeehaw to you, Marvin! You deserve it.

    I love memes that I have not seen before. They give me great fodder to poke fun!

  18. Jane Kennedy Sutton / Dec 18 2009 6:48 pm

    Congratulations on your award. Elizabeth’s blog, like yours, is one I try not to miss.

Leave a Reply

