Skip to content
December 27, 2009 / theoldsilly

Dear Old Silly Sunday – If You Want to Dance, You Have to Pay the Fiddler

Dear Old Silly-

I’m still hungover from Christmas. And kind of pissed. Everywhere I went on Christmas – my Mom’s, my brother and sister-in-law’s, couple of friends – they all forced me to eat way too much and insisted I have some drinks with them. Well, due to their insisting, I ate way too much and drank myself stupid. Now I got indigestion and a severe headache. And it’s all their fault. I feel like telling them a thing or two, but they already think I’m a complainer, so … I don’t know what to do, really. People should not be so pushy and force their holiday guests to over-indulge, way I see it.

Whaddayou think, Old Silly? Am I right here? I mean, I enjoy having fun, lots of it, but I don’t think it’s right to have to make yourself sick just to make everybody else happy.

Sincerely,

Owen Fiddler

Dear Mr. Owen Fiddler

Having read your book, I can chaulk this pathetic bit of finger-pointing and blame-game-playing up as typical behavioral drivel for one such as yourself. No one forced you to do anything, you nitwit. You over-ate and over-drank of your own free will, and you damn well know it.

Sigh, actually, the sad part is, no – you probably don’t know it. That’s your problem. You feel as though the world owes you everything even though you never contribute anything of value to it, and everyone in your life is more responsible for your own failures and problems than you are. You think you can dance through life and never have to pay the fiddler. Hence your name, I suppose author Marvin D Wilson was thinking, and with a considerable amount of sagacity and insight, I might add.

So my advice? Grow up and take some responsibility for your own actions. Think about others first – what a novel idea, hmm? Now take two aspirin for the headache, have a small helping of organic yogurt to help abate the tummy ache, get a real life going, one that produces more than it consumes, and drop your $50 off at the front desk.

Oh, and Mr. Fiddler? I will expect to see some marked improvement in your behavior and mannerisms in the sequel to Owen Fiddler, hmm?  That’s my good man. Go now.

Yours Very Truly,

The Old Silly

~~~~~

Click on Tweety Bird and Tweet this post if you liked it!

Tweet Me from The Old Silly's Free Spirit Blog

14 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. yvonne lewis / Dec 27 2009 5:20 am

    Sound advice Marvin, as a none drinker myself due to medication, people think I’M a kill joy,
    They say come on one drink won’t hurt but when it says NO alcohol I do just that. but at the same
    time am constantly fed up with their remarks.

    Yvonne.

  2. Mason Canyon / Dec 27 2009 9:13 am

    Truer words were never spoken (or written in this case). Wise advice.

  3. Cactus Annie / Dec 27 2009 10:49 am

    Must be the Owen Fiddler from the BEGINNING of the book, huh Marv? LOL Glad I read the book and know how her turns out – much better. 😉

  4. unwriter1 / Dec 27 2009 11:03 am

    Owen spent too much time playing the fiddler and not paying the piper. At least he realized how pathetic his life really was. I just got off the phone with someone (a relative), feeding a self fullfilling prophecy. She wants happiness at the expense of others. She is surrounded by a loving family but wants that which she cannot obtain.

    I bought laptops for four members of my cousins family (she gave me the money). One of them, a cousin, complained because it was used and five years old.

    • theoldsilly / Dec 27 2009 3:58 pm

      “complained because it was used …”

      Hmm – sounds like a relative of Owen’s! 😉

  5. MadMadMargo / Dec 27 2009 11:39 am

    Suck it up Owen Fiddler.

  6. L. Diane Wolfe / Dec 27 2009 11:49 am

    Assume some responsibility, Owen!

    And learn to sip and snack instead of gulp and inhale!

  7. quirkyloon / Dec 27 2009 12:24 pm

    Owen is reverting to his former selfish ways?

    Say it ain’t so!

    • theoldsilly / Dec 27 2009 4:00 pm

      Nah – he done learnt his lesson, as you read, dear Quirks. I was just pullling out an OLD letter of his for this week’s philosophical example. 😉

  8. Patricia Stoltey / Dec 27 2009 2:00 pm

    “…take some responsibility for your own actions…” Yeah, especially as it applies to eating too much. I should post this sentence on my refrigerator door.

  9. Alex J. Cavanaugh / Dec 27 2009 3:03 pm

    Owen, you should thank those people, as it might inspire you to set some healthy New Year’s resolutions!

  10. ReformingGeek / Dec 27 2009 3:24 pm

    **Playing violin**

    I’m so sorry you have it so tough, Owen. Just go back to bed and sleep it off, ‘K?

    • theoldsilly / Dec 27 2009 4:00 pm

      Reffie – didn’t know you played the Fiddle! How appropriate! 😉

  11. Elizabeth Spann Craig / Dec 27 2009 8:11 pm

    I know that Owen turned things around for himself…which he needed to!

    It’s a tough time of year to stick to our guns, though!

    Elizabeth
    Mystery Writing is Murder

Leave a Reply

