Skip to content
January 10, 2010 / theoldsilly

Dear Old Silly Sunday – Somethin’s Fishy With This Relationship

Dear Old Silly-

I’m having serious marital problems. See, the issue is, look – I love my wife, really I do. But I love to fish. All the time, like as in ALL the time, at least whenever it’s nice outside. So but anyway, just this morning she gives me this ultimatum. Says it’s fishing or her, I gotta choose one or the other. Said if I walked out that door today she’d be packed and gone by noon.

I don’t think it’s fair, Old Silly. What would you advise me to do?

Sincerely,

Mr. Fischer

Dear Mr. Fischer-

You’re doomed, pal. Say sayonara to the Pooh-tay, and home-cooked meals, any possibility of a family, all that. Trust me, I’ve run across this syndrome many, many times in my considerable years. It’s irreversible at this stage. You’ve got it bad and there’s no amount of female hotness gonna keep you away from the lake. My advice? Enjoy this clip from a fellow fishaholic, then go head on ‘n’ go fishin’. You’re a pond-over-panties kinda guy and beyond hope.

Best of luck to you, you sorry sadsack.

Very Truly Yours,

The Old Silly

Click on Tweety Bird and Tweet this post if you liked it!

Tweet Me from The Old Silly's Free Spirit Blog

17 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Thelma Banks / Jan 10 2010 7:17 am

    I LOVE that song AND Brad Paisley, but… A man with a woman at home has some priorities to get straight, lol. Love the clip and the advice, Old Silly.

  2. yvonne lewis / Jan 10 2010 8:02 am

    My late husband loved fishing and living at the coast he was ALWAYS fishing, so my answer is “IF YOU CAN’T BEAT EM JOIN EM”
    i used to go with him take a portable TV and do my own thing while he fished til his heart’s content.

    Yvonne.

  3. John Standish / Jan 10 2010 8:04 am

    Yep. It’s a dilemma lots of us guys face, for sure, lol. Loved the “pond over panties” advice!

  4. Barbra Kelser / Jan 10 2010 8:38 am

    Hey I’m with little Miss Pretty thang! I get no attention – you get no poo-tay, lol! 😉

  5. Elizabeth Spann Craig / Jan 10 2010 8:46 am

    My husband loves fishing, but there aren’t any convenient spots here. Thankfully. 🙂

    Elizabeth
    Mystery Writing is Murder
    Mystery Lovers’ Kitchen

  6. L. Diane Wolfe / Jan 10 2010 9:21 am

    It’s all about balance! No balance – no wife.

  7. Helen Ginger / Jan 10 2010 10:16 am

    Welp, looks like he’ll be sleeping with the fish.

    Helen
    Straight From Hel

  8. ReformingGeek / Jan 10 2010 10:31 am

    Oops. Maybe he can shack up with the bass.

  9. quirkyloon / Jan 10 2010 11:22 am

    Ack. She’ll get it over it and take him back.

    They always do.

    Ack.

  10. Alex J. Cavanaugh / Jan 10 2010 1:46 pm

    Fishing over sex? What is wrong with this man?

  11. Mason Canyon / Jan 10 2010 2:46 pm

    Teach her to fish and she’ll get hooked to. Then she can leave him at home while she goes fishing. 🙂

  12. Enid Wilson / Jan 10 2010 9:34 pm

    Come on, wifey, join your hubby to fish! It’s sunny and refreshing outside then he can ignore Old Silly’s advice all together.

    Really Angelic

  13. Patricia Stoltey / Jan 11 2010 12:55 am

    My darling husband plays bridge, and also has a close relationship with his computer and his ham radio. I’m cool with the electronics ’cause I love them too, but I’d rather eat bugs than play bridge. If I tried to make him give up the card games, wouldn’t I have to give up writing to make us even? Might as well ask each of us to open a vein… 🙂

  14. Nancy Kocsis / Jan 11 2010 6:32 am

    Sounds serious. Maybe she doesn’t like fishing? lol

  15. Stanley Berber / Jan 11 2010 6:33 am

    Hey these things are supposed to be talked over BEFORE getting married! lol

  16. tashabud / Jan 12 2010 11:40 am

    Hubby is a hunter. The dilemma is still the same as fishing. I don’t mind him going hunting though. Then I don’t feel guilty being glued to my computer. LOL.

    I love Brad Paisley’s music. “I was Country when Country wasn’t cool” as Barbra Mandrel had sang.

  17. Christina Rodriguez / Jan 12 2010 1:37 pm

    That’s one of Brad Paisley’s BEST songs ever! He’s a dreamy dude and I absolutely adore his music.

Leave a Reply

