Skip to content
January 25, 2010 / theoldsilly

Something Very Different and Very Good – Make that Excellent!

I don’t normally do movie reviews on this blog. Not my area of expertise or within this blog’s usual content parameters. But oh. My. God. I finally got off my duff and went to see AVATAR.

AMAZING! – SPECTACULAR!

I begrudgingly coughed up the bucks, I’m a bit of an old school cheapskate when it comes to paying darn near a mortgage payment to see new releases these day. Me, I’ll wait ’til a movie gets to the dollar show, most cases. But when a movie gets this much laudatory praise and reviews, I’ll go see it – even though it makes me mad. $9.50 I paid, and that was for a doggone matinée!

Why, back in the day? I could take my high school girlfriend out on a Saturday night, buy us both eats at the A&W, go to a drive in movie, pick up some munchies at the concession stand, hop in the back seat while watching whatever (who cared what was showing?), and neck for two, three or four hours, all for around five dollars. Five bucks, and I came home well entertained, sated, and sporting hickeys on my neck. Such a deal you don’t get these days, hmm?

But back to the movie. Blogger buddy Alex Cavanaugh, who does movie reviews regularly on his blog, has been touting AVATAR for some time, now. I’ve left more than one comment there saying I really needed to go see it, if it’s really all that. Well, let me tell y’all something.

It really is all that!

It has all the elements of a great story and movie: super-duper classic good versus evil plot, really meanie bad guys and monsters, splendid heroes, majestic panoramic sets that blow your mind, romance – soft and just spicy enough, not overdone or graphic with sensationalistic nudity, and it is very spiritual in its depiction of the indigenous peoples on the faraway planet.

Add to all that, the 3D is off the hook amazing and real feeling. I ducked several times to avoid being shot in the eye with an arrow or having a flying spear give me a lobotomy.

So The Old Silly does something unusual today here on Free Spirit. I heartily recommend, if you have not done so yet, to get up off some bucks and do yourself a huge favor. Go see it. Here’s a trailer you can get all juiced up over if you’re curious or still on the fence. Doesn’t do it nearly enough justice, no 3D of course, but you should get a little whiff of the magnitude of this astounding movie. Enjoy.

That’s it for today. Sorry all you Adam Atom fans, I just hadda do this today – I’ll have a new episode up for y’all next week, that’s an Old Silly promise. (wink)

Okay, chow and toodles, gang, gotta jet – I’m going back and shelling out another $9.50 to see AVATAR again.

Click on Tweety Bird and tweet this post if you liked it!

Tweet Me from The Old Silly's Free Spirit Blog

23 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Vivian Zabel / Jan 25 2010 5:16 am

    I’m sorry, but I usually wait to see movies when they make it to TV. I may miss a lot of good stuff, but it’s easier on my wallet and my aching bones.

    I’m glad to hear this movie is excellent. I’ve heard it wasn’t; I’ve heard it is. Glad to get an objective opinion.

  2. L. Diane Wolfe / Jan 25 2010 7:05 am

    Good for you, Marvin! Couldn’t miss this one in the theatre – you’d miss out on the 3D!

  3. Elizabeth Spann Craig / Jan 25 2010 8:30 am

    My hubby and son saw it this weekend in 3-D and Imax for $15 a ticket…but said it was worth every penny! Wasn’t sure about taking my 8 yr old to it, so she and I stayed home…but now I want to see it, too!

    Elizabeth
    Mystery Writing is Murder
    Mystery Lovers’ Kitchen

  4. Stanley Berber / Jan 25 2010 8:45 am

    I just saw it last weekend too – paid $17.50 and I’d do it again! Loved the feature and your humorous touch to the review, lol.

  5. Barbra Kelser / Jan 25 2010 8:47 am

    $5 for hickeys on your neck? Now THAT’s a good deal! 😉

    I agree, AVATAR is WAY off the hook cool and entertaining.

  6. tdryden1 / Jan 25 2010 9:37 am

    I have heard nothing but GREAT things about this movie. I haven’t been to the movies since I saw Titanic. I may have to break down and go!

  7. Alex J. Cavanaugh / Jan 25 2010 10:08 am

    Told you Avatar rocked!

    And where did you find the cool artwork?

    Thanks for the mention.

    • theoldsilly / Jan 25 2010 10:12 am

      Yes, you sure did – and WOW were you right.

      Erm, I just Googled “Pictures of Avatars” and that image was on the first page of stuff I got. Easy peasy.

  8. quirkyloon / Jan 25 2010 10:09 am

    I saw it and was blown away too.

    Incredible movie. Worth every buck. Although I only paid five bucks. I had to see it before noon, but that more than fit the bill of my wallet!

    And I’m dying to go see it again. I’ll even pay full price ifn’ I have to.

    Great movie.

    Cameron gives good tails! HA! Get it? Tails = tales?

    • theoldsilly / Jan 25 2010 10:10 am

      Yes, Quirkster, I “get it” – lol – those tails are kinda sexy, hmm?

  9. Helen Ginger / Jan 25 2010 10:14 am

    Saw it, loved it. I’ll go again before it leaves the theaters. We paid even more since we went to the IMAX. I ducked a couple of times too. Also wanted to touch the little firefly things.

    Helen
    Straight From Hel

  10. Mason Canyon / Jan 25 2010 10:19 am

    We rarely to to the movies, but we may have to go see this one. Have heard only great things about.

  11. MadMadMargo / Jan 25 2010 12:58 pm

    Only problem I have with going to the theater is, I always fall asleep. It’s dark, the chairs are comfortable and my belly is full of popcorn and soda…zzzzz. Damn, if you can spring for the cost of a ticket, I guess I can too.

    • theoldsilly / Jan 25 2010 1:06 pm

      Well, then, Margo – go on an empty stomach, skip the popcorn, get all juiced up on caffiene sodas … if you fall asleep on THIS experience you’re the kind of person who could fall asleep during childbirth! 😉

  12. ReformingGeek / Jan 25 2010 4:11 pm

    I’ve heard good and bad about it, also. Thanks for reviewing it for us, Marvin.

    I can’t wait to see the tails. 😉

  13. yvonne lewis / Jan 25 2010 4:42 pm

    I did hear on our news that Atavar is an excellent film , unforunately I don’t go to the cinema,
    I recall the last time I went was 42 yrs ago when I was pregnat with my second child.
    I usually wait until they appear on TV.

    Loved reading your account of the film,……….Missed Adam have we lost him to Atavar??????lol.

    Yvonne,

    • theoldsilly / Jan 25 2010 5:07 pm

      Like I said I usually wait to see movies on dollar show or TV. But this one – the 3D effect is so much of the experience …

      Oh no – ol’Adam Atom is still around, have no fear! 🙂

  14. kissnatl / Jan 25 2010 9:32 pm

    I’m still not convinced, and like you, many of my favorite people have had rave reviews. I just can’t do it.

    I wonder if it would be as good if it wasn’t for the beauty of the movie….I mean the 3-D and the graphics, not the story.

    We’ll talk.

    • theoldsilly / Jan 26 2010 9:23 am

      Jeez, you are a tough sell, Kissie! LOL

      The story line is very good. Nothing completely original of course, what is anymore, but it has a sort of Romeo & Juliet romance to it, the mega-corporate/warmongering power and money mad evil forces versus the good hearted save the people heroes, spiritual messages of interconnectedness – it is a very good story. Not a classic, but a good retelling of a classic situation/plot set in the most magical, mystical world I’ve ever seen created on film. Better than Lord of the Rings – although I kept thinking during the movie that if LOR were to be redone in 3D it would be – if not AS impressive as Avatar, a darn close second.

  15. AmyLK / Jan 25 2010 9:54 pm

    Thanks for the tip. Son wants to go and see it but 3D might be sensory overload for him. I’ll have to prep him if we go.

  16. Christina Rodriguez / Jan 28 2010 12:14 am

    Wow, it costs nearly $20 to see this film in 3D? Not sure I’d fork over that much dough to get nauseous from those glasses (3D stuff hurts my eyes), but hey, whatever floats your boat!

Trackbacks

  1. Movie Review – The Book of Eli « The Old Silly's Free Spirit Blog

Leave a Reply

