Skip to content
January 29, 2010 / theoldsilly

Got OCD’s?

Obsessive Compulsive Disorders. That’s what we’re talkin’ ’bout today on Free Spirit.

Got any?

I do. I’m a OCD’er in lotsa ways, and I’ll be the first to admit it. Like for instance:

A. Whenever I go out of my house or leave the car and get ready to shut the door and lock it, I have to check twice to make sure I put the keys in my pocket. Twice. Once isn’t enough. I might have made a mistake and only thought I put the keys in there. Gotta make sure. Can’t trust my senses and memory with only one check. Nossir. Gotta check twice.

B. When I brush my teeth, I have to go from right side to left on the top row front side, then left to right on the back side of the teeth, and reverse the pattern for the lower set of teeth. Got to. They just don’t seem to get clean enough if I don’t do it exactly the same perfect way every time.

C. I have to blog. Every day. I have to do this, or I feel incomplete. Same with checking my email at least three times a day. I get light headed and queezy, feeling all lost and alone in the world without this precious OCD.

D. I absolutely must start out each day with a Monster Lo-Carb energy drink and a dark roast Columbian coffee – black. This OCD, if not fulfilled diurnally, would surely cause The Old Silly to go mad and possibly die from the shakes.

E. When I eat my first breakfast (I’m a grazer – I eat 3 meals before noon – all very small and two hours apart) I must have an egg over easy with one piece of bacon and a slice of lightly buttered toast. And the last mouth full has to be yoke drenched toast. Otherwise I might as well not eat, I’d be so disoriented I’d puke.

I could go on, yes – there are more, sadsack silly to have to admit, but I’ll spare you the agony.

Okay, so I ‘fessed up. How ’bout y’all? Anybody care to contribute? C’mon, group – this is good therapy. We all benefit from sharing our OCD’s, that’s how group works, hmm? And if anyone amongst us is OCD free, I’d certainly like to hear the lies how you got to such a healthy state!

~~~~~

Click on Tweety Bird and Tweet this post if you liked it!

Tweet Me from The Old Silly's Free Spirit Blog

31 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Elizabeth Spann Craig / Jan 29 2010 5:44 am

    I used to check the iron quite a few times after I finished ironing (making sure I’d unplugged it.) Realizing this time suck, I went out and bought one that automatically shuts itself off. 🙂

    Elizabeth
    Mystery Writing is Murder
    Mystery Lovers’ Kitchen

  2. Stanley Berber / Jan 29 2010 6:02 am

    I have to have my money in my wallet arranged in order from large bills on the outside to small bills on the inside. If they are out of order it drives me nuts.

    Loved the cartoon, lol

  3. Barbra Kelser / Jan 29 2010 6:33 am

    Chocolate. I GOTTA have my chocolate everyday. Is there a rehab clinic for that? lol

  4. Cactus Annie / Jan 29 2010 6:42 am

    I got OCD’s sure – but I saw this on a medical humor blog – hadda share it!

    A Stanford Medical research group advertised for participants in a study of obsessive-compulsive disorder. They were looking for therapy clients who had been diagnosed with this
    disorder.

    The response was gratifying; they got 3,879 responses one hour after
    the ad came out.

    All from the same person.

  5. Ron Berry / Jan 29 2010 6:49 am

    I got ’em, but I’m so old I can’t ‘member any of them.

  6. L. Diane Wolfe / Jan 29 2010 6:52 am

    Hmm… guess I’m not that compulsive! At best, I always have to have music in my vehicle, but fortunately my XM takes care of that in case I forget a CD.

  7. tdryden1 / Jan 29 2010 8:12 am

    I thouht the checking and checking and checking was because I’m so forgetful!!!! Now yur tellin me its OCD??? Oh my. Here everyones tells me I have CRS.
    As far as the rest of it goes, no, I don’t feel I have OCD. The reason … I really don’t care! LOL Gotta stop the worrying!

    I just love this blog.
    I just love this blog.
    I just love this blog.

    Oh, I think I said that already! Hahaha

  8. Alex J. Cavanaugh / Jan 29 2010 8:35 am

    I think I’m only obsessive when it comes to video games.

  9. yvonne lewis / Jan 29 2010 8:46 am

    I think we all have little traits that we follow sub conciously, some people though do take things
    one step further. I know someone who is always cleaning and her poor family has to go through
    these rituals daily.
    Interesting topic again Marvin.
    Yvonne.

  10. Mason Canyon / Jan 29 2010 9:33 am

    I think I have so many I don’t know where to start. It’s fun to know there are others out there just like me (oh, no now that is scary). Love the post. Have a great Friday.

  11. quirkyloon / Jan 29 2010 10:03 am

    Ha! LMBO!

    I have some OCD stuffs going on too. I’m eggsactly the same when it comes to checking the doors to make sure they are locked. I even have to make sure to look at the stove and make sure nothing is on. Refrigerator door? Did I close it tightly enough? I also have to play online Boggle at least three times a day. Hey, I need all the synaptical activity I can get!

    • theoldsilly / Jan 29 2010 10:28 am

      And zombies? Let’s not forget our little obsessive fixation on the walking dead now shall we, Quirks? 😉

  12. AmyLK / Jan 29 2010 10:34 am

    I do not have OCD. I am just WAY organized. It’s not OCD. Honest!

  13. Michelle / Jan 29 2010 10:37 am

    Love your OCD Marvin. I confess to also be somewhat OCD…probably not something you noticed from our working together, right? (wink) Anyway, here goes: I have to have my closet arranged according to color of clothing and the hanges must be spaced equally apart. Same with shoes and folded clothes. I do the same in my refrigerator with the condiments, etc.. I am a neat freak and hate to hae anything out of place—and yes, your key search, twice, is also something I am guilty of. Enough? Thanks for the therapy.

    Michelle

  14. Galen Kindley / Jan 29 2010 12:43 pm

    Oh, man, more than I want to admit…you kidding me? Okay, here’s just one…the garage door. I can NEVER remember if I put it down after driving away. Yes, I have, on several occasions, gotten two blocks away, turned around and come back to check if I lowered the garage door. As an aside, I have NEVER found it open, yet, I’m betting any takers I’ll do it again…probably, today!

    Best Wishes Galen.
    Imagineering Fiction Blog

    • theoldsilly / Jan 29 2010 1:11 pm

      LOL, I thought a techie guy like you would have a door closer that was programmed to close automatically whenever you pulled out of the garage. 😉

  15. Elspeth Antonelli / Jan 29 2010 12:57 pm

    I store the DVDs alphabetically. It just makes sense. I must have tea every afternoon. When I’m vacating a hotel room, I must check under the bed for forgotten items.

    I check for my keys too.

    • theoldsilly / Jan 29 2010 1:11 pm

      “It just makes sense.”

      Absolutley! 😉

  16. Meg / Jan 29 2010 2:21 pm

    I can’t stand cupboard doors being open. I can’t stand the comforter not being perfectly straight on the bed, towels have to be folded just so. I won’t eat scrabbled eggs I make myself until they have cheese in them. My clothes have to be hung up in the right order in the closet. There’s a lot of little things like that for me.

    I thankfully do not feel compelled to wash my hands 20+ times a day.

  17. Helen Ginger / Jan 29 2010 2:26 pm

    The only one I can think of is that I refill the car if it gets below a quarter of a tank. It drives me nuts that family members will drive my car and leave it below that or even with the gas low warning light on. How can they not see that?

    Helen
    Straight From Hel

  18. ReformingGeek / Jan 29 2010 4:22 pm

    I think I’m getting worse as I get older. I don’t like water splashed all over the counter.

    I love that cartoon.

  19. Cassandra Jade / Jan 29 2010 6:01 pm

    I think everyone has OCD to a certain point though most of us can control it enough that people don’t think we’re strange.

  20. Joyce A. Anthony / Jan 29 2010 8:14 pm

    Let’s see, I know I have a few (okay, quite a few, but…) I check the mailbox every time I pass it–even when I’ve already gotten the mail. I can’t finish any project–book, written piece, etc, and go to bed without starting another. I eat only one item at a time on my plate and can’t eat another until I finish the first. Should I go on??

  21. kissnatl / Jan 29 2010 9:44 pm

    Compulsions are a lousy solution to the problem of having obsessions.

  22. Patricia Stoltey / Jan 30 2010 12:46 am

    I share Helen’s obsessive need to keep the gas tank on my car from falling below a quarter full. It makes me terribly uncomfortable to see the needle even sitting on the quarter mark.

  23. stephen tremp / Jan 30 2010 11:04 am

    You think you’ve got it bad. I have to check three times. Twice myself, then one more time after wifey asks me after we’ve gotten in the car and left. Gotta turn around and make sure the stove is off or the back door is locked. Than little seed of doubt that’s planted when she asks is enough to make me turn around and verify everything is A-okay.

    Stephen Tremp

  24. Panic Attacks Causes / Mar 14 2010 5:43 pm

    The full web site does not load in the correct way.

Leave a Reply

