Skip to content
February 1, 2010 / theoldsilly

The Adventures of Adam Atom – A Day in the Life

AaaaaannnNND NOW! YES! It’s time! Back by mega-macro-popular demand, it’s time once again to hang onto your hadrons, fasten your safety quarks, buckle up your buckeyballs, and I now give you in real spacetime continuum – (may I have a Big Bang, please) …

BANG!

big bang

The ONE – the Only – the I Am that I Am atomically and anatomically smashing-

(Badabing!)

Adam Atom!

 

Brrr! I’m bonded into a frozen water molecule, part of a snowflake in SE Michigan, ’bout to drop in on the Old Silly.

But what’s this? Oh, Jeez – wind blew the wrong way and now I’m in a downdraft headin’ for a McDonalds at the I-94 exit ramp in Ann Arbor. Hang on, this could be rough …

Splat!

Now I’m slush, and I’ll be doggoned if – ugh! Got schlopped up onto the sole of some chick’s boot, walking in for her daily fix of carbs, salt, grease and carcinogens.  Yummy. Not. But good luck, ol’ gal wipes her strides off on the mat, an empolyee sweeps the rug and scoops me up into a dust pan so now I’m heading for the trash, but-

I spill out onto a table on the way, some kid eating places his hand on me and now I’m index finger soil, mixing in with mustard and lard. Extra yummy. Not my day so far.

So now he licks his fingers and while his hand is still in front of his mouth he sneezes –

a-ah-aaaah … CHOO!

Caught in a spiraling updraft of liquid snot and microorganisms, I waft into the air and get pulled in a backdraft out into the parking lot while another masochistic, suicidal patron walks in for his diurnal McFix.

Well God bless America. I’m now back in a brand new snowflake, whirling around in an updraft and heading toward the Old Silly’s condo after all.

Wish me well, and don’t worry about me, either – I’ll make it, or not … doesn’t matter one way or the other, all is one anyway, so just take it the way it comes, eh? Stuff like this is all part of a normal day in the life of your little buddy. If I get where I want to today, I’m gonna have a chat with Marv and discuss what’ll be the next post in another one of those good ol’ rock ’em, sock ’em, epic episodes in the ever  continuing-

Adventures of Adam Atom!

~~~~~

Click on Tweety Bird and tweet this post if you liked it!

Tweet Me from The Old Silly's Free Spirit Blog

20 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. tashabud / Feb 1 2010 5:24 am

    Aaaaachooooo!!! Sorry, Old Silly. Been home sick with a nasty cold. Hope that Adam finally made it to your place? I thought I have it rough. Waaay rougher for him, eh?

    Have a great week.

    Tasha

  2. Stanley Berber / Feb 1 2010 7:18 am

    Good to see Adam Atom back! And he’s still really getting around, it seems, lol.

  3. Cactus Annie / Feb 1 2010 7:28 am

    Get “his dirunal McFix?” LOL – tooo funny. Loved the espisode, old silly!

  4. Barbra Kelser / Feb 1 2010 7:31 am

    Loved the Adam post – but I don’t think I’ll be eating at McDonalds anytime soon, now. LOL 😉

  5. Elizabeth Spann Craig / Feb 1 2010 7:45 am

    That Adam knows how to get around! Thanks for the new episode…

    Elizabeth
    Mystery Writing is Murder

  6. unwriter1 / Feb 1 2010 7:47 am

    Cold, snotty, running around in circles going nowhere. Yep, sounds like my weekend. Had to travel to Chicago twice (roughly 500 miles round trip each time).

  7. John Standish / Feb 1 2010 8:40 am

    “Caught in a spiraling updraft of liquid snot and microorganisms…”

    Yummy. lol. Good episode, Adam and Old Silly. Hope you got a chance to meet eventually!

  8. Alex J. Cavanaugh / Feb 1 2010 9:26 am

    Glad he escaped McDonald’s!

  9. yvonne lewis / Feb 1 2010 9:30 am

    Ah Marvin now my Monday is complete, Adam’s back.

    Take care have a good day.

    Yvonne.

  10. Mason Canyon / Feb 1 2010 10:22 am

    Not going to McDonald’s for awhile.

  11. quirkyloon / Feb 1 2010 11:24 am

    I, too, loved the McFix line!

    Classic!

    LOL

    • theoldsilly / Feb 1 2010 1:06 pm

      Ha! You and Cactus caught my little McWiticism, hmm? lol 😉

  12. Helen Ginger / Feb 1 2010 12:55 pm

    Ooh, stuck on a boot then slurped up by a McKid. Yuk.

    Helen
    Straight From Hel

    • theoldsilly / Feb 1 2010 1:06 pm

      Yeah – you GOTTA be McKiddin’ me, right!? 😉

  13. MadMadMargo / Feb 1 2010 2:05 pm

    McGoodness, gracious alive, it’s Adam Atom! McFix my McSnot!

  14. ReformingGeek / Feb 1 2010 2:30 pm

    Oh my. I used to like McDonald’s for breakfast. Now I will be thinking of Adam and snot….and dirt…and grimy kids.

    EEEWWWW!

  15. Galen Kindley / Feb 1 2010 3:32 pm

    I wanted to be the first, but John beat me to it, still, I’m good with the second mention of, “Caught in a spiraling updraft of liquid snot and microorganisms.” Oh, yeah, that’s an image that won’t go away anytime soon.

    Best Wishes Galen.
    Imagineering Fiction Blog

    • theoldsilly / Feb 1 2010 5:45 pm

      It is rather memorable, hmm? In a repulsive way. 😉

  16. Jane Kennedy Sutton / Feb 1 2010 4:49 pm

    Compared to Adam’s day, even my most awful day seems pretty good. I hope he made it to your place.

    • theoldsilly / Feb 1 2010 5:46 pm

      Well even if he doesn’t, he’ll always be with me in spirit, hmm? (wink)

Leave a Reply

