Skip to content
February 5, 2010 / theoldsilly

Rant ‘n’ Stance – Hey Congress! Stop Spending Our Money We Don’t Have!

I was surfing the net, doing a news update thingy, when I came across this article that stated-

WASHINGTON — The US debt is on track to hit a congressionally proposed debt ceiling of 14.3 trillion dollars by the end of February, the Treasury said Wednesday, a day ahead of a key vote to raise it to that level.”

What!? I gasped, almost puking my cookies – WTF are you people thinking? Our current national debt, which we have no way of ever repaying given our current economic path of straight to hell without a handbasket, is 12.349 trillion dollars, as of last Monday, and will soon exceed the current “limit” (which the House of Representative chooses by some god-forsaken random fit of insanity as the acceptable “ceiling” on our debt) of 12.374 trillion dollars.

But that’s not enough. No. We need to spend more money, acquire more debt. We need to “raise the ceiling” of acceptable debt level for this once great country that used to back its paper dollars with solid gold and now backs it with a laughable, empty I.O.U. When we need more money we just print it out. Trillions of dollars worth about as much in reality as the paper and ink on them.

Remember, people, this is our debt – we the people – we are the United States of America. We owe all this money, you and me and our families. Right now, with the $12.3 trillion debt, every last man woman and child in this country owes the global economy a little more than $40,000. Now this administration wants to tack on another $6,000 worth of debt to all of us citizens.

I didn’t ask for this. Did you ask for this? Even if you voted for Bush and/or Obama – did you ask our government to spend money, money that we clearly do not have, we just make it up like a bad joke, spend it faster than we can possibly ever repay it? Just five years ago, the national debt was at an all time high of $9 trillion – and look how the curve rose during the few years preceding that (at the time) all time high-

Fast forward from 2005 to 2010, end of February, and this blog post wouldn’t be long enough to show the red bar representing our new “acceptable” level of debt.

This is how we roll now, America? We spend money we don’t have, haven’t earned, borrow, borrow, borrow, and borrow some more, telling the whole world, “Oh don’t worry, we’re good for it … it’s us, the United States of America we’re the good guys … we’d never let you down, never not repay you. Just keep sending us all your goods, we’ll buy, buy, and buy all the baubles you produce and pay you with borrowed, meaningless paper maché, and we promise to make good on our debt sometime later, okay?

Riiiiiiiight. China, the country we owe the most to, is very close to fed up. If they ever decide “enough” and call the loan due … it would be lights out America. We simply don’t have the money to pay them.

So for all of our sakes, especially for our children and the world of monumental debt they are inheriting,  get on the internet and the horn and email and call your congresspeople and demand that they stop this madness.

Stop spending all of this money that we don’t have!

Click on Tweety Bird and Tweet this post if you liked it!

Tweet Me from The Old Silly's Free Spirit Blog

25 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Vivian Zabel / Feb 5 2010 6:39 am

    Hmm … I can’t just add on debt and give an empty IOU. And if I don’t pay my bills, I get hounded. I certainly didn’t give the government permission to add to my debt burden. I’m not big business, so I don’t get a bail out. I just get bailed on. Ish.

  2. Stanley Berber / Feb 5 2010 6:42 am

    I’m with Vivian. If I owed all that money, nobody would loan me nothing. This is an outrage and total madness. I will be calling Capitol Hill.

  3. John Standish / Feb 5 2010 6:49 am

    It is truly maddening madness. I remember when Ross Perot ran for president. During one of the debates he was asked how he figured he could run a country since he was a business man and had no experience as a politician. He countered with, “No, I’ve never had any experience running up a 3 trillion dollar debt. I make money and profits.”

    Wish we had voted him in. We might have had a balanced budget by now.

  4. Elizabeth Spann Craig / Feb 5 2010 7:13 am

    Just looking at that graph is scary. Ahhhh!!

    Elizabeth
    Mystery Writing is Murder

  5. L. Diane Wolfe / Feb 5 2010 7:21 am

    Wow, and we did so well with so little for so long, too… What happened???

    • theoldsilly / Feb 5 2010 9:28 am

      Well Tricky Dick really did us a HUGE disfavor when he got rid of the gold standard. After that, the US dollar was backed up only by “good faith.” How much longer will this “good faith” get us all we want and need in our consumer crazy way of life?

      The writing is on the wall … we need to start reading it.

  6. yvonne lewis / Feb 5 2010 9:18 am

    It’s the same here Marvin even the MP’S FIDDLE their expenses though today we have heard some are being prosecuted.

    Have a grand week-end.
    Yvonne.

    • theoldsilly / Feb 5 2010 9:28 am

      Good to know we’re not the ONLY idiots on the planet. Misery enjoys company, hmm?

  7. Cactus Annie / Feb 5 2010 9:18 am

    Makes me want to puke too. So irresponsible, and a shame what kind of indebtedness the children of this country will inherit. I’ll spout off to my congressman, count on it!

  8. quirkyloon / Feb 5 2010 9:21 am

    Wow. That chart is an eye-opener.

    I wonder what’s gonna happen when China calls it in.

    Gulp.

  9. AmyLK / Feb 5 2010 9:51 am

    Thanks for the eye opening chart. I don’t usually pay attention to that kind of stuff. But I do know that if my debt to income ratio is not exactly what a bank is lookign for, I won’t be getting more money. Why can’t the government take that attitude? Obviously, our debt is WAY out of balance with the income. If I don’t have money for it, I don’t buy it.

  10. Alex J. Cavanaugh / Feb 5 2010 10:42 am

    Pisses me off too, Marvin. That graph needs to be on the front of every newspaper and shown on every news program. Maybe that would spur people to action.

  11. Patricia Stoltey / Feb 5 2010 12:05 pm

    That last vote to raise the ceiling blew my mind.

    Every single incumbent must go as he or she comes up for reelection–even the ones who claim to be the good guys. That’s the only way to send the message. We let this happen, and we have to fix it.

    • theoldsilly / Feb 5 2010 12:58 pm

      Totally agree, Patricia. We’ve let these lunatics ruin our children’s future and we HAVE to make a BOLD statement beginning with local, state, and federel elections right NOW that this kind of madness has got to STOP!!

  12. Galen Kindley / Feb 5 2010 12:43 pm

    uh, throw the rascals out?? Works for me. I always love it when I drop by and find Marv on one of his…oh, bi-weekly rants. Good reading. Probably good for your blood pressure, too, Marv. Venting and all that.

    Best Wishes Galen.
    Imagineering Fiction Blog

    • theoldsilly / Feb 5 2010 12:58 pm

      It is rather cathartic, my friend. 😉

  13. tashabud / Feb 5 2010 12:45 pm

    13 Trillion? Have you seen what 1Trillion looks like? I received an email showing me what a Trillion looks like, which I’m going to forward to you, Old Silly. I can tell you that it blew my mind. And, for Congress and the Whitehouse talking about a 13 Trillion of debt….

    I’m mad as hell. May I say that? Please?

    Thanks,
    Tasha

    • theoldsilly / Feb 5 2010 1:00 pm

      You most certainly say it here, Tasha – and I’d love to get that trillion dollar graphic from you!

      BTW, it’s not 13 trillion – it is FOURTEEN point three trillion!

      • tashabud / Feb 6 2010 8:17 am

        Boy, oh, boy! I must have been extremely sleep deprived when I commented. I stand corrected, Old Silly. How I managed to miss a football sized stadium filled with 100s and another stadium filled almost a third way in my comment is plain unforgivable! My bad.

        Tasha

  14. Barbra Kelser / Feb 5 2010 3:39 pm

    It’s time to clean house on Capitol Hill. Then go through the painful process of getting back to a living within our means and paying our way as we go kind of lifestyle and economy. We used to be a product producing country. Now all we do is over-consume products from overseas and pay for them with, as you said, borrowed meaningless paper posing as real money.

  15. Thelma Banks / Feb 5 2010 3:40 pm

    Excellent rant Old Silly. I can feel public discontent growing by leaps and bounds in this country. So many of us are pissed off I think change is bound to be coming – and soon.

    • theoldsilly / Feb 5 2010 3:42 pm

      I hope you are right, Thelma – Ah shore hope you is right.

  16. Enid Wilson / Feb 5 2010 8:11 pm

    The concept of “spending money to make money” or “borrowing money is no shame” is very western way. It’s not surprising that some of the countries with high reserves are Asian. Perhaps teaching Asian way of handling money to western governments is needed.

    Really Angelic

  17. Kissie / Feb 9 2010 8:14 pm

    Did you delete my comment? I know I left a message on here…..I thought I did.

    • theoldsilly / Feb 10 2010 9:35 am

      No hun – I would never delete any comment from you. 😉

Leave a Reply

