Skip to content
February 8, 2010 / theoldsilly

In Case Ya Missed It and Gotta Jet!

My blog traffice was unusually slow this last weekend and particularly on Sunday. And I didn’t want a lot of the regular readers to miss this clever and hilarious bit by Woody Allen so I’m putting it up again. Check this out if you haven’t yet before reading on.

So anyway, hope everybody’s had a chance now to chuckle over that bit of absolute brilliance, lol. I apologize for not having an Adam Atom post today. The Old Silly’s had a weekend busier’n a one legged man in an ass kickin’ contest what with travel, editing to get done, keeing this blog going, and this doggone orchestra score that I’m just now gettin’ the hang of, after multiple hours of practicing and boning up on my music reading skills. As regular Free Spirit readers know, I posted last Wednesday I Got a Gig! – playing electric lead guitar in a local high school orchestra for a musical production. I’ve got full dress rehearsals tonight, Tuesday and Wednesday, and the the show, Aida, opens Thursday night and runs through the weekend with the last show a Sunday matinee. It’s a great show, with a musical score by Elton John, and it’s a classic Romeo and Juliet story set in ancient Egyptian times. The prince, heir to the throne as the next Pharoah of Egypt, falls in love with the princess of a neighboring country they are at war with.

And I’m loving it, the whole experience. Dusting off an old skill, getting the chops back sharp, immersed in the world of theater and classical music again – two of my favorite arts and among those I’ve had past experience with, and … I’m having a ton of fun.

So look – gotta jet. I’ll find time to visit blogs today, somehow, but there’s this one darn passage in the score that I just can’t quite yet … okay two. Maybe three, I’ll be honest, possibly more, that still need some woodshedding. So wish the Old Silly to break a leg, and thanks for blogging in. Blog back in tomorrow, Professor Old Silly will be holding class and doing his thing.

Chow!

Click on Tweety Bird and Tweet this post if you liked it!

Tweet Me from The Old Silly's Free Spirit Blog

14 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Elizabeth Spann Craig / Feb 8 2010 5:52 am

    I’m glad you’re getting back into the groove again, with your musical gig. And having fun!

    Elizabeth
    Mystery Writing is Murder

  2. Helen Ginger / Feb 8 2010 10:35 am

    You are going to tape this gig, aren’t you? And put it on YouTube and/or post it here, aren’t you? Huh, huh?

    BTW, you received a most fitting award today from me.

    Helen
    Straight From Hel

    • theoldsilly / Feb 8 2010 1:16 pm

      Thanks, Helen! Just came from there, and will put up something tomorrow in acceptance – will be my style, of course. 😉 Oh, and re: videos, the show WILL be recorded, but for copyright restrictions it cannot be Youtubed. At least not in entierety. If there is any way to get at least a snippet including a passage I’m playing in I’ll certainly want to share it here.

  3. karen walker / Feb 8 2010 10:47 am

    way, cool, Marvin. Have blast! Loved the Woody Allen thing. Wish it could be that way.
    karen

  4. John Standish / Feb 8 2010 11:48 am

    Go get yer grovve on, Old Silly! 😉

  5. Cactus Annie / Feb 8 2010 11:50 am

    Hey have a good time and BREAK a LEG Old Silly!! 🙂

  6. L. Diane Wolfe / Feb 8 2010 11:51 am

    Maybe everyone was out preparing for the Super Bowl?

  7. quirkyloon / Feb 8 2010 12:03 pm

    Go Marvin Gooooo!

    See Marvin run.
    Hear Marvin play the guitar.
    Enjoy Marvin, enjoy!

    • theoldsilly / Feb 8 2010 1:19 pm

      You been learning to read, Quirks! Good girl! Comes in handy, lemme tellya. And the Dick and Jane series is STILL my favorite literary collection of all time! 😉

  8. Daryl / Feb 8 2010 12:29 pm

    It was worth repeating, both the Woody Allen bit and the news of your Aida gig. Hope you have a great time in the pit! 😉

    • theoldsilly / Feb 8 2010 1:17 pm

      Thanks, bro! And yes, I’m having a ball. Even getting paid!

  9. ReformingGeek / Feb 8 2010 2:22 pm

    The gig sounds like fun, Marvin. Enjoy!

  10. karenfrommentor / Feb 8 2010 6:01 pm

    Oh. Loved the Woody Allen bit. Thank you. It improved my day no end. [no end=infinity]
    Karen :0)

Leave a Reply

