Skip to content
February 9, 2010 / theoldsilly

Bald Faced (and Headed) Liar Old Silly

Helen Ginger gave the Old Silly “Lesa’s (Bald Faced Liar) “Creative Writer” Blogger Award. Helen is an esteemed literary colleague, author, editor, and one of the best bloggers out there. We go back quite a few years now, and although we’ve not yet met in the flesh I consider her a good friend. She also knows what a monumental bald-faced liar I can be and figured this award was just right for me. Why? Because one of the stipulations for accepting the award is you have to tell some lies. Perfect. Is this just not perfect?

So she rubbed her hands together and with sinister glee added me to the list of peeps to get this one. Even though she knows I don’t “do” blog awards. Never. She did this to irritate me and make me be like nice, knowing full well I don’t “do” nice. Women. Anyway, I humbly accepted and appreciate her bestowing of this award on me and have, with irked/appreciative attitude, decided to take part in my own Maverick way … to an extent.

As with most of these awards, there are rules. I hate rules. And rules are meant to be broken. So I’ll have some fun here. Here’s what you’re supposed to do:

1. Thank the person who gave this to you. (√, did that, and again, thank you very much, Helen … I didn’t have enough time yesterday to compose a Professor Old Silly writing tutorial and this easy-to-almost-do-in-entirety thingy came in quite handy! (wink))

2. Copy the logo and place it on your blog. (√, it’s in this post and up on my blog page for awards. I don’t put blog awards on my main page. Shoot me, I don’t care.)

3. Link to the person who nominated you. (√, Helen is hyperlinked all over this post. Wait – so far the links have all been to her blog. I’m gonna be super duper nice and give you also her primary website, just click here.)

4. Tell us up to six outrageous lies about yourself, and at least one outrageous truth. (This is the easy one, will comply with pleasure below.)

5. Allow your readers to guess which one or more are true. (√, have at it. I dare you)

6. Nominate seven “Creative Writers” who might have fun coming up with outrageous lies. (Nope. I don’t get into tag games with awards. But I do extend an open invitation to any regular reader of Free Spirit who is a blogger and wants, to grab the award and participate. Feel FREE! Wheee!)

7. Post links to the seven blogs you nominate. (Again, no thanks, but if you want to participate, leave me a comment and I’ll link to your blog the day of your post if ya let me know when. I know, I’m getting soft in my old age.)

8. Leave a comment on each of the blogs letting them know you nominated them. (N/A, unless some peeps take me up on #7, in which case I’ll make like nice.)

Okay. Now for the fun part. Here are six outrageous things about the Old Silly. All but one is a bald-faced (and bald-headed in my case) lie. Your job is to figure out which one is an outrageous truth and cast your vote in the comments. Ready? Let’s do this.

1. I was once a heroin addict.

2. I’ve walked a city of mountaintop Mayan ruins and meditated there, on the peak of a spiritual temple pyramid, high above sea level, from high noon ’til midnight, with a Zen Master.

3. I once “dated” Diana Ross before she became a Motown star in my hometown Detroit and was selling tail on Woodward Avenue.

4. I’m married to an Asian woman who taught me how to speak fluent Chinese.

5. I appeared in a movie with Sigourney Weaver’s sister.

6. I once had breakfast with Rod Steiger. He was driving a big rig, doing research for an upcoming movie in which he was to play a truck driver. He pulled into a truck stop where I was eating and the place was packed. The only available seat was at the counter next to me. He appreciated the fact that, although I recognized him, I did not shout it out to everyone and cause him to be swarmed for autographs.

Now. Which one is the truth? Hmm?

Oh – and before y’all click off into the Blue Nowhere, please blog over to Terry O’Dell’s blog today. She’s posting a feature on one of the characters from my Owen Fiddler novel. It’s a humorous spoof on the James Lipton “Inside the Actor’s Studio” show, with an underlying spiritual message from the book. To get there for a good read, just click here!

Love you guys, take your best shot in the comments, and blog back in tomorrow for something special. Chow!

Click on Tweety Bird and Tweet this post if you liked it!

Tweet Me from The Old Silly's Free Spirit Blog

26 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Elizabeth Spann Craig / Feb 9 2010 5:57 am

    I could believe all of these, Marvin! You’re a good liar. 🙂

    I’m going with the Rod Steiger one.

    Elizabeth

    Mystery Writing is Murder

  2. Cactus Annie / Feb 9 2010 6:47 am

    Nice of you to make like nice old silly! lol. Gosh – knowing you ANY of these could be true. But I’ll go with the Rod Steiger one like Elizabeth.

  3. Marcus Franks / Feb 9 2010 6:53 am

    I’ll go with #1. I haven’t read your memoir yet but I’ve gathered you had a drug addiction in the past. Fun post, Marv – you do everything withs such a sense of humor. 😉

  4. Marcus Franks / Feb 9 2010 7:06 am

    I say the Diana Ross story is true. I heard she was a teenage hooker before making it, lol.

    Naughty boy. 😉

    • theoldsilly / Feb 9 2010 9:22 am

      Uh uh – only ONE guess allowed, Marcus! 😉

  5. Barbra Kelser / Feb 9 2010 7:21 am

    Hmmm – I think you were in a movie with Sigourney’s sister. Maybe. Hard to tell, you’re SUCH a good liar! lol 😉

  6. Ron Berry / Feb 9 2010 7:41 am

    I’ve read I Romanced the Stone and if I’m correct, crack is a form of coke, so I’ll go with the movie comment.

  7. Galen Kindley / Feb 9 2010 8:23 am

    Gotta be Rod Steiger…too good a story to be made up.

    Best Wishes Galen.
    Imagineering Fiction Blog

  8. Helen Ginger / Feb 9 2010 8:42 am

    This is hard, Marvin. I was gonna say the story about Diana Ross. I could totally see you dating her, but I had never heard she used to be a hooker. So I’m thinking it’s Rod Steiger since it was the longest one you wrote, although I could see that happening to you too. Now, I’m wondering if you told NO truth since you only listed 6 things….I’m going with Steiger.

    Helen
    Straight From Hel

    • theoldsilly / Feb 9 2010 9:23 am

      I should have – should have told ALL lies, lol. Truth is, Helen, I could easily have written 6 outrageous TRUTHS about me that nobody would believe! 😉

  9. yvonne lewis / Feb 9 2010 8:51 am

    I too am going with Rod Steiger why? well perhaps you ae two of a kind?????????

    Yvonne.

    • theoldsilly / Feb 9 2010 6:08 pm

      Well I wish I were as rich and successful as he is! lol.

  10. John Standish / Feb 9 2010 9:20 am

    My guess is you did Diana, lol.

  11. quirkyloon / Feb 9 2010 9:27 am

    #6! And oh my gawsh if it’s the truth!

    My husband thinks that Mr. Steiger is absolutely one of the best actors ever of the acting world!

    • theoldsilly / Feb 9 2010 6:08 pm

      Your hubby has excellent taste, Quirks – Steiger is one of my all time fave actors, too.

  12. Mason Canyon / Feb 9 2010 9:47 am

    You are good. Can’t wait to see what is what.

  13. Elspeth Antonelli / Feb 9 2010 12:02 pm

    They’re all good stories and I could believe anyone of them are true! I don’t know…I’m hoping the Rod Steiger one is true just because it sounds so plausible.

    But then, you’re really good at this…

  14. karen walker / Feb 9 2010 12:20 pm

    Since I read your memoir, I know which one is true, so I won’t say it. But I have no trouble believing any of the others, either.
    Karen

  15. Patricia Stoltey / Feb 9 2010 5:03 pm

    I also think you had breakfast with Rod Steiger.

  16. Jen Knox / Feb 9 2010 5:40 pm

    Ha. Great blog… this post reminds me of a game i used to play in school (last year, in my grad program) called two truths & a lie. My gut immediately went with Diana, but…

  17. Stanley Berber / Feb 9 2010 5:42 pm

    Good Lord you’re a good liar! LOL, and knowing you ANY of these could be true. I abstain. 😉

  18. Jane Kennedy Sutton / Feb 9 2010 5:56 pm

    I’ve read and re-read and still have no clue – they all sound truthful to me, but maybe I’m just gullible. Can’t wait to find out the real truth.

  19. ReformingGeek / Feb 9 2010 6:43 pm

    Hum…….I have no clue.

    I think you “dated” Diana Ross.

  20. E. Marie / Feb 9 2010 8:08 pm

    Who the heck is Rod Steiger?

    Um, I should have made a threat with a promise….instead of leaving it opened.

    • theoldsilly / Feb 10 2010 9:32 am

      Rod Steiger? Kissie – you’re not THAT much younger than the Old Silly are you? lol – Rod Steiger is a famous actor from the 50’sand 60’s, even into the 70’s I believe. He played the southern cop in “In the Heat of the Night” with Sydney Portier, one of his more memorable roles.

Trackbacks

  1. Breathe! Here are the Answers! « The Old Silly's Free Spirit Blog

Leave a Reply

