Skip to content
February 19, 2010 / theoldsilly

The Economy is So Bad, that …

I’m a big Maxine fan. You know, the wiry old cigarette-smoking gal who makes snide, cynical, political/social/economic commentaries with her one-liner quips. A brother of mine sent me some of the better ones of hers on the current state of the economy recently. Thought it’d make a good, quick, lighthearted read for y’all, and perhaps lessen some of the current economic blues we all have with a few chuckles. Here we go, take it away, Maxine!

LOL, might as well be, hmm? Now this one …

Sheesh – wish they could also discover where this administration “discovered” the backing for the last trillion dollars of meaningless paper money they printed out as well, hmm?

Riiiiight. Actually MY bank, if I overdraft by as much as one penny, charges me $35.00. Perfectly fair, right?

Perfect. Now if they would just drive miniature Bentley’s, also.


Sounds like a reasonable question to me. Used to be able to get full at Mikey-D’s for a buck, back in the day. Now it’s a buck-oh- six to get anything off the dollar menu. And it’s barely a mouthful … which brings us to this next one-


Yup. And it’s not offered on the dollar menu either.

Well, that’s just being environmentally conscious and green, Maxine, c’mon!

Now this one I agree is a good thang!

¡Oye – espera para mí, yo quiero ir, también!

Gee – you know, Congress used to be such a gas!

And lastly, a quote from the Old Silly-

“My credit’s gotten so bad, nobody will take my cash!”

How ’bout y’all – got any good ones on the economy you’d like to share?

Click on Tweety Bird and Tweet this post if you liked it!

Tweet Me from The Old Silly's Free Spirit Blog

24 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. L. Diane Wolfe / Feb 19 2010 7:49 am

    Those are great Marvin! Nothing like a good laugh at our economy. I mean really, what are we gonna do – cry?

    And you have a Sunshine award at my blog today!

  2. tashabud / Feb 19 2010 7:52 am

    LOL. All good ones. Do you know that the artist behind Maxine is a man? I never ever in my wildest dream until I saw a show featuring the artist– John Wagner.

    I like your own entry as well.

    I’m not creative in this department, but here goes my line: The economy is so bad, I’m filling up our swimming pool with dirt!

    Tasha

    • theoldsilly / Feb 19 2010 7:11 pm

      Tasha – no I didn’t know that, lol

    • theoldsilly / Feb 19 2010 8:28 pm

      Hey good one, Tasha – you can garden and have something to eat at least, right?

      • tashabud / Feb 19 2010 10:57 pm

        That’s a great idea. I’ll plant some sweet potatoes. They keep well in cold dark area to last till next planting season. Hehe.

  3. quirkyloon / Feb 19 2010 9:08 am

    I absolutely adore Maxine! She’s always been a huge favorite of mine. I love her snarky. And she does not disappoint with these cartoons as well.

    High-larious!

    (And I promise I haven’t taken my pill yet for the day.)

    Ahem!

    • theoldsilly / Feb 19 2010 8:24 pm

      What about group? You coming back to group, Quirks?

  4. Barbra Kelser / Feb 19 2010 9:18 am

    Maxine is off the hook funny! Thanks for the blues-reducing humor, Old Silly!

  5. yvonne lewis / Feb 19 2010 9:53 am

    These are great Marvin ,made me smile, Thanks for sharing.

    Yvonne.

  6. tdryden1 / Feb 19 2010 12:27 pm

    So funny! Good ones, problem is most of it is just about true!!!

  7. AmyLK / Feb 19 2010 1:28 pm

    I love Maxine! She’s So funny and usually right on point too.

  8. Bluestocking / Feb 19 2010 1:36 pm

    LOL!! This is so funny!!

  9. Elspeth Antonelli / Feb 19 2010 2:38 pm

    Maxine rules. ‘Nuff said.

  10. Deb / Feb 19 2010 3:12 pm

    You’ve gotta love anything that can make light of the economy. Go Maxine! Great blog!

  11. ReformingGeek / Feb 19 2010 4:37 pm

    Go Maxine, Go! She’s worse than Evil Twin.

    😉

  12. Patricia Stoltey / Feb 19 2010 4:40 pm

    I love Maxine. I want to be just like her when I grow old (I mean old-er).

  13. Amy Tate / Feb 19 2010 7:06 pm

    That’s the best the best laugh I’ve had all day!!!!! Love it!!!!

  14. Cactus Annie / Feb 19 2010 7:23 pm

    LOVE Maxine! And these are so typically spot on of her. Loved your addition, too, Old silly, tee hee.

  15. Jane Kennedy Sutton / Feb 19 2010 7:51 pm

    Leave it to Maxine to tell it like it is!

  16. Stanley Berber / Feb 19 2010 8:21 pm

    Maxine the GREAT! LOL, loved these, and also your little quips to add on, Marv!

  17. Helen Ginger / Feb 19 2010 9:10 pm

    I wish every company and corporation across the globe would lay off every congressman and congresswoman. Down with lobbyists. You go, Maxine!

    Helen
    Straight From Hel

  18. Stephen Tremp / Feb 20 2010 11:55 am

    My wife gets these forwarded to her and I admit I read and laugh at them too. Maxine’s a real hoot. Pre-declined credit card in the mail. Now THAT’S funny.

    Stephen Tremp

Leave a Reply

