Skip to content
March 3, 2010 / theoldsilly

Hilarious Hump Day – Retirement Fun

Working people frequently ask retired people like me what we do to make our days interesting. Just got asked that the other day. “Well,” I said, “for example, the other day my wife and I went into town and went into a shop. We were only in there for about five minutes. When we came out, there was a cop writing out a parking ticket. We went up to him and I said, “Come on man, how about giving a senior citizen a break?”

He ignored us and continued writing the ticket. I called him a Nazi turd. He glared at me and started writing another ticket for having worn tires. So my wife called him a sh**head. He finished the second ticket and put it on the windshield with the first. Then he started writing a third ticket. This went on for about twenty minutes. The more we abused him, the more tickets he wrote.

Personally, we didn’t care. We came into town by bus and saw the car had an ‘I Voted for Obama’ bumper sticker. We try to have a little fun each day now that we’re retired … it’s important at our age.

Click on Tweety Bird and Tweet this post if you liked it!

Tweet Me from The Old Silly's Free Spirit Blog

33 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Elizabeth Spann Craig / Mar 3 2010 6:36 am

    🙂 There’s always things to do if you look hard enough! Or want to cause enough trouble…

    Elizabeth
    Mystery Writing is Murder

  2. yvonne lewis / Mar 3 2010 7:06 am

    Since retiring I have had alot of fun, have travelled quite a bit laughed alot, and in general thoroughly enjoyed myself.

    Yvonne,

  3. L. Diane Wolfe / Mar 3 2010 7:16 am

    That is priceless, Marvin! I love it.

  4. Alex J. Cavanaugh / Mar 3 2010 8:01 am

    That is twisted, Marvin. Good stuff!

  5. C Carter Martina / Mar 3 2010 9:11 am

    LOL, you are so bad, Marvin!!

  6. Stanley Berber / Mar 3 2010 9:12 am

    LMAO! Thanks for the Hump Day hilarity, Old Silly!

  7. John Standish / Mar 3 2010 9:46 am

    When I grow up I want to be just like them, lol! 😉

  8. karen walker / Mar 3 2010 9:52 am

    Cracked me up! Thank you.
    Karen

  9. Cactus Annie / Mar 3 2010 10:01 am

    Hysterical – loved this one, thanks, Marv! 🙂

  10. Barbra Kelser / Mar 3 2010 10:34 am

    Hahahahaaaa! Grumpy Gramps and Grams got their jollies REAL good, eh? 😉

  11. Leeuna / Mar 3 2010 11:13 am

    Bwahahahah! This is hilarious. I think I might try this when I retire. Sounds like fun. 🙂

  12. ReformingGeek / Mar 3 2010 11:27 am

    I see that Evil Twin is rubbing off on you. Hee Hee.

  13. Jeannine Gardella / Mar 3 2010 12:02 pm

    Very good. I can’t imagine anyone would want to have one of those bumper stickers still on their car. Perfect target. 😉

  14. Stephen Tremp / Mar 3 2010 12:21 pm

    Hilarious Hump Day humor. I’m Retweeting this and adding it to FB post.

    Stephen Tremp

  15. Terri Dryden / Mar 3 2010 12:53 pm

    How cute!!! I can see me doing that in a afew years!

  16. Christina Rodriguez / Mar 3 2010 2:24 pm

    Now, now, let’s not fall into sociopathy, Marvin! I’m sure you can think of MUCH better uses of your time than throwing monkey wrenches into the cog of life!

    • theoldsilly / Mar 3 2010 4:23 pm

      Aw, now Christina – don’t go throwin’ water on an old man’s fun! 😉

  17. Heidi M. Thomas / Mar 3 2010 3:04 pm

    ROFLOL!!!

  18. quirkyloon / Mar 3 2010 3:23 pm

    Ha! Very funny. A little bit of laughter can go a long way!

  19. AmyLK / Mar 3 2010 3:43 pm

    LMAO! But I would have been upset if that was my car! I’ll have to share that one with my Dad for when he’s feeling better and needs something to do.

  20. Galen Kindley / Mar 3 2010 4:41 pm

    This is very clever, Marv. As a retired guy, I can relate. I only wish I looked as good as EITHER of the folks in the photo…those whipper-snappers.

    Best Wishes, Galen
    Imagineering Fiction Blog

    • theoldsilly / Mar 3 2010 4:46 pm

      Oh no, can’t let ya go with THAT undo self-effacing, dude. I’ve seen your pic – FAR more handsome than Grumpy Gramps in this pic, lol. 😉

  21. tashabud / Mar 3 2010 5:24 pm

    Oh, gosh, Marvin! That’s hilarious! Yeah, I could see the whole picture being played out as I was reading your post. Some scene, eh? My sides are still hurting from laughing so hard.

    Tasha

  22. Patricia Stoltey / Mar 3 2010 7:01 pm

    I love it. I’ve been thinking my life was getting too boring. Now I know exactly what to do to liven things up! Thanks, Marvin.

  23. Mason Canyon / Mar 3 2010 8:58 pm

    Ouch. Thanks for the laugh today. Wouldn’t you love to see the expression on the cop’s face when the couple walked off?

  24. karen from mentor / Mar 4 2010 6:15 am

    The photo is even funnier if you imagine that in the very next moment after the shutter closed they’re snogging like teenagers.

    Ewwwwwwwwwwwwww

  25. Crystal Clear Proofing / Mar 4 2010 8:36 am

    🙂 Marvin you are priceless. My dad has said for years that he spent his working years taking sh*t – and now that he’s retired he can say anything he wants! It makes it even better when you have FUN with it!

    Now did you and your wife really do that, or is it just a delightful tale? Either way I love it!

    • theoldsilly / Mar 4 2010 3:50 pm

      Crystal! That is NOT me, and my wife is a beautiful, still shapely, and smooth, rich, dark-skinned 60 yr old African American woman. OMG – does everyone reading this post think that’s a shot of US!? LOL! 😉

  26. Arlee Bird / Mar 4 2010 1:36 pm

    That’s one crazy story. I wish there was a follow up to know how the car owner responded when he/she got the tickets.
    Lee

    • theoldsilly / Mar 4 2010 3:48 pm

      Yeah, that’d be a rude surprise, hmm? 😉

      • Bill / Mar 5 2010 1:32 pm

        One really need to consider what bumper stickers they post. Maybe one showing a bunch of cute kitties with the caption pet.go would be vague enough.

  27. Nicolasa Shafto / May 16 2010 8:39 pm

    There is an excellent blog regarding lots of traffic from Twitter via your WordPress sites. Check it out: http://www.wordpressrobot.com/5-steps-to-becoming-highly-infectious-on-twitter You can use unlimited Twitter accounts to tweet from and use proxy IP’s if you want. This can absolutely result a lot of visitors via Twitter to all your WordPress blogs. All fully on autopilot!

Leave a Reply

