Skip to content
March 8, 2010 / theoldsilly

T.G.I.M!

It’s Monday – time to celebrate!

No, the Old Silly hasn’t gone off his rocker. I know everyone celebrates “Thank God it’s Friday” at the end of each work week, but you know what? I’m glad to be alive on this Monday. I’m thankful for having had a great weekend, a wonderful church service yesterday that filled me up spiritually, and am blessed and grateful to be alive and kickin’ to start off another week above ground.

It’s all about attitude, hmm? So if you’re down in the dumps this morning because you have to drive to work, at a job maybe you don’t find much satisfaction in, well–how about this? Being thankful you have a job. Here in Michigan the unemployment rate is 14.3%, and in SE Michigan, particularly the Motor City, it’s far higher than that. Hate your jerkoff boss and/or certain co-workers? Try a little nice … it’s amazing what proactive kindness and consideration in the face of jerk-off-iness can do. Works miracles. And don’t forget there is an abundance of people who would gladly take your place and be gainfully employed in this economy.

Hate having to pay so many bills, leaving you very little discretionary income? Be thankful, have gratitude, that you can pay them. Got aches and pains? Focus on being thankful for being able to see, walk, move your limbs, and feed, dress, and shower yourself–lots of people can’t.

We attract what we focus on. Focus on all the negativity in your life and unto you shall be bestowed more of it. Focus on and give thanks for what your blessings are, and unto you shall be delivered more blessings.

So, yeah, I’m Thanking God It’s Monday. And I’m planning on making the absolute best of it, this, another amazing creation, one more chance to live, breathe, feel, create, help others, work on my crafts and skills, and grow in love, compassion and wisdom.

How about you – is it TGIM for you, too?

Click on Tweety Bird and Tweet this post if you liked it!

Tweet Me from The Old Silly's Free Spirit Blog

25 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Simon Hay / Mar 8 2010 6:32 am

    It’s still Monday here and I’ve had a great day. Children to love, a partner to grow with, and some new opportunities. I’m working on some forgiveness and peace. Have a great week, Simon.

  2. Elizabeth Spann Craig / Mar 8 2010 8:33 am

    It’s TGIM for me, too! Thanks for this reminder, Marvin, to count our blessings.

    Elizabeth
    Mystery Writing is Murder

  3. Alex J. Cavanaugh / Mar 8 2010 8:34 am

    I woke up this morning, so that definitely beats the alternative!

  4. Mason Canyon / Mar 8 2010 8:52 am

    Sometimes we have to be reminded to be thankful. Thanks for the reminder. Besides, I have an added bonus today – the sunshine is out again!!

  5. yvonne lewis / Mar 8 2010 8:55 am

    Yes Marvin, It’s Good To Be Alive On Monday for me, Ihave visited my daughter, have had a good laugh, the sun is shinning though chilly, and yes I too am alive. I feel like this everyday, you see I spent so many years grieving for my mother and husband who passed away within 2 months and wasted so much life, I am previleged to be alive to see my 4 grandchildren grow a thing my husband missed.
    My motto is go to bed in a good mood and you’ll awaken in a good mood. Thanks for a very uplifting post.

    Yvonne.

    • theoldsilly / Mar 8 2010 1:54 pm

      “My motto is go to bed in a good mood and you’ll awaken in a good mood.”

      That’s a good motto, Yvonne.

  6. Karen Walker / Mar 8 2010 9:47 am

    This was a wonderful reminder, Marvin, after some difficulties this weekend. I do need to count my blessings and let go of the rest of the stuff. Thanks.
    Karen

  7. L. Diane Wolfe / Mar 8 2010 10:04 am

    I love Mondays! It’s my day to get a lot done. And I’ve the whole week ahead of me…

  8. quirkyloon / Mar 8 2010 10:44 am

    Hey I’ve always been a TGIM-mer. Why? It’s the day the hubs and the boys go away!

    Heh heh heh

    • theoldsilly / Mar 8 2010 1:55 pm

      I’m telling DH you said that, Quirks! 😉

  9. Leeuna / Mar 8 2010 10:59 am

    Happy Monday, Marvin!! Thanks for the wonderful reminder. The sun is shining and all is quiet and peaceful, which is my definition of a great day. So, yeah! TGIM. 🙂

  10. tashabud / Mar 8 2010 11:04 am

    Hi Old Silly,
    You are so right about everything that you’ve said. I just got done complaining to my husband that this past weekend was jus the pits for my co-worker and me. We were burried with work the minute we started our shift. We didn’t have lunch breaks, potty breaks, water breaks, or any kind of breaks until we left work. We were on our feet so much that our feet ached like crazy.

    Thanks, Marvin, for reminding me and the others of the things that we should be thankful for. I shall not complain about work anymore. I’m thankful that I still have a job (no matter how gruelling it could get).

    Tasha

  11. Connie Arnold / Mar 8 2010 11:20 am

    Thanks for the great post, Marvin, a wonderful way to start out this Monday, and each day for that matter! So true that we can always find so many things to be thankful for and focus on them and not the negative. I clicked on the tweety bird to share on Twitter and Facebook. Hopefully there will be a lot more positive, thankful people on this Monday!

    • theoldsilly / Mar 8 2010 1:56 pm

      Tanks for the tweet, tweety! And FB too? You’re the best! 🙂

  12. MadMadMargo / Mar 8 2010 12:22 pm

    Amen!

    I rely on PMA (Positive Mental Attitude) to get me through each and every day.

  13. AmyLK / Mar 8 2010 1:53 pm

    I have been trying to change the way I think and react to life. A smile and a better attitude should bring me more happiness, right? Right.

  14. Stanley Berber / Mar 8 2010 2:00 pm

    Great reminder, dude. Good LOA coaching, too. When I hear peeps complaining about this and that, I’m thinking, well – you keep talking and fretting and grumbling about it, the worse it’s gonna get!

  15. Cactus Annie / Mar 8 2010 2:01 pm

    It’s a WONDERFUL TGIM for me too, Old Silly! 🙂

  16. ReformingGeek / Mar 8 2010 2:09 pm

    Absolutely!

    I like Mondays.

  17. John Standish / Mar 8 2010 2:24 pm

    Ooh yeah – I LOVE me some Mondays! And like my pappy used to say, “Any day above ground is a good day!”

  18. Terri Dryden / Mar 8 2010 2:42 pm

    Wonderful post! I am thankful everyday I open my eyes. We never know just how much time we have with all of our friends and family here on earth so we have to enjoy every minute!

  19. Elspeth Antonelli / Mar 8 2010 3:28 pm

    Thanks for the reminder of every day being a gift – even Mondays.

  20. Rayna / Mar 9 2010 3:42 am

    Thanks for the wonderful post. yes, every day is a ‘Glad to be alive” and “glad to be able to think” day.

    But particularly, Mondays are TGIM days. A weekend of kids is exhausting, and I am glad to escape to office on Mondays.

    Fridays are TGIF days too, because I am glad to escape into a weekend with kids.

Trackbacks

  1. Hilarious Hump Day – Language Disorders « The Old Silly's Free Spirit Blog

Leave a Reply

