Skip to content
March 11, 2010 / theoldsilly

You Think Your Job is Tough?

Hey times are tough in this current country and global economy, right? And even though those of us with gainful employment know darn well we should be glad we have a source of income, oftentimes we grumble, wishing what we do wasn’t so hard, or so boring, or the boss was not such a asshole jerk, all that …

Well ya know what? Suck it up. Be glad you got what you got, and get paid what you do for what you do. Imagine you had this fellow’s occupation, hmm? What if you made your living as a Python hunter in Africa? Get a load of what his job description entails …

First, I  wrap my arm in a skin for protection.

Then I  crawl in the pit.

I use  modern lighting.

There  she is…

Those are her eggs.

I let  her take my protected arm, sort of like noodling for fish.

Then my  buddy pulls me out with snake attached.

Ain’t  she a beaut?

She’ll  feed the village for a while.

Then it’s back to work …

~~~~~

The Morale of this post? If you’re sick and tired or your job, hey …

Better thank God and keep on  working!

  

Disclaimer: I do not know if this is an actual Python hunter or not. I was sent this in an email by one of my brothers, who is a natural skeptic, and who checked on Snopes to see if it was a hoax. Snopes reported no such hoax circulating, so … it might just be true!

Click on Tweety Bird and Tweet this post if you liked it!

Tweet Me from The Old Silly's Free Spirit Blog

27 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Elizabeth Spann Craig / Mar 11 2010 6:01 am

    No matter WHAT they’re doing, it’s scary! I’d want nothing to do with it!! Yeah, I’d rather be writing. 🙂

    Elizabeth
    Mystery Writing is Murder

  2. unwriter1 / Mar 11 2010 7:08 am

    I can think of better ways to earn a living or find dinner. Somebody needs to open a dunkin donuts over there with a starbucks across the lane. Once that is done, they should build a walmart that accepts payment of snakes, pigs, truffles, or whatever they now use as currency.

  3. Barbra Kelser / Mar 11 2010 7:30 am

    Yikes! Glad I have a job and can buy my food at a store!

  4. Terri Dryden / Mar 11 2010 7:56 am

    Yikes…not something I want to be doing at all!!!!! I don’t like snakes at all and that one was crazy huge.
    I hope I will be able to say I’m a writer!!!

  5. L. Diane Wolfe / Mar 11 2010 9:51 am

    I don’t fear snakes, but no way I am crawling down a snake’s burrow!!! Phythons have mean tempers.

  6. tashabud / Mar 11 2010 9:59 am

    Okay, okay, Old Silly, I got the point! Even though I work non-stop, without any breaks whatsoever that I should be glad to still have a job! LOL.

    In all honesty, I do feel very fortunate to have a job, especially a job that I love doing. It’s very stressful and demanding, but I love it and am very thankful. I don’t envy the man catching snakes for a living. But you gotta do what you gotta do to survive, right?

    Tasha

  7. Alex J. Cavanaugh / Mar 11 2010 10:37 am

    Damn, not a chance! Snake looks real to me.

  8. quirkyloon / Mar 11 2010 10:48 am

    Oh my. Did somebody forget to tell our python worker that he has a split in his shorts? I understand honest work is honest work, but let’s not forget a little bit of modesty, k?

    HA!

    • theoldsilly / Mar 11 2010 12:13 pm

      Erm, Quirks – so I see where YOUR eyes are focused, hmm? 😉

  9. Mason Canyon / Mar 11 2010 10:52 am

    A nice reminder to be grateful for what we have. Thanks.

  10. ReformingGeek / Mar 11 2010 10:56 am

    I love Quirky’s comment!

    That is one huge snake. Fried python? I’ll pass.

    😉

    • theoldsilly / Mar 11 2010 12:15 pm

      No you don’t fry it, Reffie. Baked, or in a stew. It also, when barbecued, makes a nice side dish to “Missionary Lip Stew.” Scrumptious!

  11. Leeuna / Mar 11 2010 11:56 am

    A wretched job. Totally wretched. I’m thankful that I don’t have to do that. I’d starve. Poor guy.

  12. Barbra Kelser / Mar 11 2010 12:10 pm

    Eeewwww! and Yeeech!!

  13. Stanley Berber / Mar 11 2010 12:11 pm

    Oh yeah – I did that for a while when I was younger. Not so bad, really, python breath is pretty foul, but once you get used to it …

    • theoldsilly / Mar 11 2010 12:15 pm

      Stan, I didn’t realize your Mandingo roots! 😉

  14. Crystal Clear Proofing / Mar 11 2010 12:11 pm

    No complaints here! I love my job!

  15. Cactus Annie / Mar 11 2010 12:12 pm

    Holy Cow! OK, yes, I’m grateful for my job … sheesh – happy now? 😉

  16. Karen Walker / Mar 11 2010 12:15 pm

    I’m quite content doing what I do. Not everyone has the luxury of loving what they do and being able to change that. Accepting that is hard. This is a nice reminder.
    Karen

  17. Elspeth Antonelli / Mar 11 2010 12:38 pm

    There is not enough money in the world for me to do this. Seriously. I’ll stick to writing and never, ever, complain again. (actually, I don’t much)

  18. Christina Rodriguez / Mar 11 2010 12:43 pm

    Well, at least they’re eating the snake, rather than selling it to traffickers who’ll smuggle the poor thing into the United States, or make it into shoes. If I were the snake, I’d much rather be be a part of the food chain.

  19. yvonne lewis / Mar 11 2010 2:39 pm

    I think I’d rather have a pen than a snake in my hand, thanks for bringing home a few home truths,
    Message taken in, over and out.
    Yvonne,

  20. Connie Arnold / Mar 11 2010 6:11 pm

    Can’t imagine a much worse job than crawling down in a hole in the ground with a gigantic snake! Adding that to my huge list of things for which I’m thankful!

  21. Patricia Stoltey / Mar 12 2010 12:37 am

    Oh, my goodness, I do not like snakes at all. I promise, I will never complain about cooking meals, cleaning toilets, or writing novels ever again.

  22. consellow / Mar 12 2010 10:21 am

    Not a chance… SCARY!!!!

    • theoldsilly / Mar 12 2010 11:31 am

      lol, NAH – perfectly safe occupation, Con’s! 😉

Leave a Reply

