Skip to content
March 19, 2010 / theoldsilly

Move Over, Paperbacks – Here Comes the “Bookvie”!

I was visiting Helen Ginger’s blog yesterday, part of my diurnal blog-hopping regimen, and she had a post up about the “Enhanced E-Book”. All about the fast-advancing technology in the world of ebooks and e-readers. It’s some pretty cool and amazing stuff coming down the pike – I gotta admit.

Me, I’m old school, I don’t see me ever converting to e-readers, in fact I picture myself laid to rest with a physical hardback book clutched in my cold fingers, but …

The comment I left on her blog about that particular post, I’d like to muse and expand on today. I said I could see 3-D movies in the not-too-far offing. Yep. Imagine … what if some geeky brainiac develops the technology/software to automatically convert a written story into a movie? It would be called a “Bookvie” – and here’s how it would work. Well, not the technical stuff, but the basic idea.

Your publisher feeds the electronic manuscript into a computer. The computer reads it. It takes the author’s descriptions of the characters and creates “e-people”, does the same with settings, places, sounds, sights, all that … creating a virtual world. It fills in all the blanks with natural feeling compliments, kind of like the scientists in “Juraasic Park” filling in the blank chromosomes in the dinosaur DNA, so a whole, real, world is virtually created. It then applies all the e-formations to the plot, enhances it and adds the 3-D thingy, then – PRESTO!

Bingo was its Name-Oh. A movie of the book is created. So when a person buys your ebook, he or she can opt, for let’s say, $19.95 additional, plus a one time $10 charge for the 3-D glasses, to also purchase the bookvie version. Who knows – maybe Hollywood stars will get paid to contract with the pub houses to agree to star in your book. Imagine Anthony Hopkins playing your diabolical antagonist, or Halle Berry making love with your protagonist, or maybe Zoe Saldana with wings in a sexy swoop across the screen as the Goodly Witch of the North, hmm?

Sweet!

And soon nobody will bother to learn to read a book anymore, cuz they’ll just want to be lazy and watch the movie instead! Isn’t that awesome? Imagination in the human race will atrophe to the point that no one can any longer conjure up a compelling mental picture and we’ll all become jelly-brained e-addicts, and …

Sorry, let me stop – got a little sarcastic and cynical there … my natural inclination toward this pesky little technology that’s overtaking traditional printed books with all the fast-growing, power-mad-crazed rise to power and aggressive domination as Hitler in the early 40’s.

Oh gawd, there I go again … forgive me? Sigh, I know e-books are here to stay, really. Unless some major earth event, or our own uncivilized stupidity, causes the world as we know it to radically change and the internet crashes, leaving us having to go back to mallets, chisels, and stone tablets to communicate with, the vast majority format for the book of the not-too-distant future is clearly the electronic book. Save a tree, fire up your ipad.

And seriously, folks … if they ever do come up with the Bookvie, and my books are automatically made into movies, well, maybe … just maybe …

They’ll lay the Old Silly to rest with a Kindle in his Koffin?

~~~~~

Guys? Before you go – quick announcement – one of my newer bloggy buddies, MadMadMargo, of The Screaming MeMe Blog, has this cool new tweet thing she’s doing. Every Thursday, if you go to her blog and leave a comment, she’ll go to your blog (if you have one, of course), and tweet your blog for you. Pretty tweet of her, hmm? Not surprising, Margs is a real tweetheart. Funny, too, and sharp’s a tack. You should check out her blog if you haven’t yet. So there ya have it, gang – blog back in tomorrow for a special Old Silly Saturday Pontification, and chow all …

Oh and hey – while you’re at it, click on the little Tweety Bird below and Tweet this post if you liked it!

Tweet Me from The Old Silly's Free Spirit Blog

26 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Jim Hansen / Mar 19 2010 4:54 am

    Awesome idea – Bookvies – I might just get me an E-reader if they come out with that!

  2. Cactus Annie / Mar 19 2010 4:58 am

    That’s a ver creative and imaginitive idea, Old Silly. Maybe you should patent and sell it!

  3. Elizabeth Spann Craig / Mar 19 2010 5:29 am

    Yeah, I’m trying to go with the flow with the e-readers (one of my books is on Kindle), but it’s hard.

    Elizabeth
    Mystery Writing is Murder

  4. Marcus Franks / Mar 19 2010 5:55 am

    A Bookvie? YEAH! I’ll take one! lol

  5. L. Diane Wolfe / Mar 19 2010 7:08 am

    Hmmm….
    Remember the movie Brainstorm, Natalie Woods’ last film? Coverting images and thoughts into visuals? What if we go even further than the Bookvie and the words don’t even need to be written?

    • theoldsilly / Mar 19 2010 7:12 am

      Riiiiiiiight, Diane … then we can forget even how to write, hmm? 😉

  6. yvonne lewis / Mar 19 2010 7:21 am

    I have only just got to grips with the IPOD, NOT TO MENTION MY LAPTOP which I know I don’t use to it’s full potential.
    I love to sit and read a BOOK, am I old fashioned??????? or have I got to move with the times.

    Yvonne.

  7. Mason Canyon / Mar 19 2010 8:27 am

    I enjoy the feel of books too much to think about getting a Nook or such. I have a friend who loves hers. Thanks for the new site to check out.

  8. Helen Ginger / Mar 19 2010 8:42 am

    I’m not sure I want a Bookvie. They sound rather lacking in creativity. But if they do come out, you need to make sure you get some payback since you came up with the idea.

    Helen
    Straight From Hel

  9. Alex J. Cavanaugh / Mar 19 2010 9:01 am

    Will the characters all look like the Sims then?

  10. ReformingGeek / Mar 19 2010 9:08 am

    Wait. I still have a VCR somewhere in this house. I’m obviously very behind.

    Your idea is intriguing, though, as long as Keifer Sutherland or Will Smith are in my ebook.

  11. Daryl / Mar 19 2010 9:44 am

    Marvin, if you’ll tolerate my trekie geekiness for a moment, you’re in good company as far as your preference is concerned. Jean Luc Picard, captain of the Enterprise in the “Next Generation” series, was set apart from all the others on the ship in that he preferred real books with jackets, spines, paper that makes that satisfying sound when you turn the page and if it’s old enough, dust.

    In fact, his predilection has a name coined in its honor: Picard’s Syndrome. Here is an article on the subject:

    I’m with you, reading online has its place, but give me a real book to peruse while sitting on a rock by a babbling brook or on a mountain side. Ditto for the couch or hammock!

  12. Daryl / Mar 19 2010 9:47 am

    Oops! I didn’t close the href tag, so the link is my last comment. Feel free to edit, Marvin. Here is the link as it should be, I hope:

  13. Daryl / Mar 19 2010 9:50 am

    Okay, I’ll try one last time: Picard’s Syndrome by Gary North

    • theoldsilly / Mar 19 2010 4:59 pm

      Good shot, Bro! LOL, I’ll check it out.

  14. MadMadMargo / Mar 19 2010 9:54 am

    Good morning! Well, Marvin, you have some pretty awesome readers who have already stopped by my place this morning…thank you so much for helping spread the word for “tweet thursday”. Due to the large response, I am extending my offer to tweet everyone’s post through today only, but will continue this feature each and every Thursday.

    Have a great weekend!!!

    • theoldsilly / Mar 19 2010 5:00 pm

      Tee? Tee how tweet she is, tweets? I told you twoh. 😉

  15. zhadi / Mar 19 2010 11:06 am

    I’m of two ways about e-books. I mean, some of my books and stories are e-published… so I have to accept the viability of the technology. I do prefer hard copies, though, for my reading pleasure. Kindles… well, they look awfully nifty and I’ve heard good things about them, but I’d still rather carry a paperback around with me.

  16. Leeuna / Mar 19 2010 12:27 pm

    Wow, Marvin, you may be on to something there. I totally want a Bookvie. Wonder what our blogs would look like on your Bookvie. Hmm…now who do I want to play the part of “moi”. 😀

  17. AmyLK / Mar 19 2010 12:29 pm

    I love my eReader! I don’t know that I would like Bookvie’s though. I LOVE the written word so much more than the screen. But since I also love new technologies, I probably would give it a try!

  18. C. Carter Martina / Mar 19 2010 1:41 pm

    I love your Bookvie concept and I’m sure it is only a matter of time. Me I’ll always prefer real books.

  19. tashabud / Mar 19 2010 4:39 pm

    The bookvie idea is brilliant. You should be talking with Bill Gates or Sun Microsystems. They’ll make you a millionaire many times over. Pertaining e-book. My online reading starts to affect my eyesight that if I read more on line, I’d be blind in no time.

    Visited MadMadMargot.

    Tasha

  20. Stephen Tremp / Mar 19 2010 11:29 pm

    I’ve been reading a lot about the progress (or the lack thereof) of artificial intelligence (AI). We’re still a long way off from machines moving from programs to having the ability to recognize concepts and ideas and make necessary changes. But we are certainly making progress. This could move into the realm of reality with a breakthrough or two in our life time.

    Stephen Tremp

  21. Naomi / Mar 20 2010 5:11 pm

    I’m a techie so an iPad is definitely in my future along with e-books. However—there’s still nothing like the smell and feel of a real book. Even though I shop at Amazon, I also make frequent trips to Barnes & Noble, Starbucks in hand. There’s something personal and intimate about a book store. It’s where our education expanded, where we met friends, and bought (in my case) my first ever fashion magazine. I hope they remain around a long, long time. Ditto the wonderful, clever, intelligent, funny authors who fill our lives with stories, dreams, and let our imaginations soar.

  22. Kissie / Mar 21 2010 11:41 am

    I love the Bookvie idea – and would probably try it once or twice but I don’t want to become too lazy.

    Can you believe where we are in this life? I was watching Michael Jackson’s This is It – for the 10th time, and thought about how his audience is missing out on the 3-D concert extras he had planned.

  23. Horace Zawislak / Mar 21 2010 8:24 pm

    Great post can you recommend any forums to join?

Leave a Reply

