Skip to content
April 2, 2010 / theoldsilly

April Fools Aftermath Wrapup

I swore off April Fools jokes after last year when I posted a (everyone told me very well written and convincing) farewell post. In it I said that, because I was recently diagnosed with terminal cancer and had probably less than six months to live, and wanted to leave a legacy of my best work behind so I had to focus on finishing my WIP, this would be my last post. I made my gracious exit giving thanks to all my wonderful Free Spirit readers, and encouraging them to not feel sad or bad for me, as I had had a long and fulfilling life, was right with God, and quite ready to exit this plane of existence, shed the shackles of a failing and painful body, and move on to the vast freedom and heavenly realms of God’s glory.

I would link to that post for y’all, but can’t as that was posted on my old blogspot.com blog, back before the Google Nazis, having falsely ID’d me as a spammer, zapped it into oblivion along with all the archived posts. Pricks.

So but anyway, on that “final” post, after writing my farewell speech, I asked everyone to please scroll down, and read my carefully crafted last parting words, my last contribution to Bloggydom, the consummate final pearl of wisdom they would receive here on Free Spirit from the Old Silly.

Well, you can guess how it ended. They scrolled down…

down…

and,

further down …….

and,

keep going,

A little further, you’re almost there, and they finally got to read ………

APRIL FOOLS!

~~~~~

Yep. I stooped to those depths for a joke. And I got so much hate mail and death threats from so many peeps, saying if I ever dared to pull such a cheap shot, ever again, I’d wish I were dead! LOL

So I’m now a recovering ex-April Foolster. I value my life too much. But what I wanted to ask here was, how about you? Do you do April Fools pranks? Do you like them, or think April Fools is a fool’s folly activity? What is the most memorable April Fool’s joke you’ve ever done or had done to you?

Share, please.

Click on Tweety Bird and Tweet this post if you liked it!

Tweet Me from The Old Silly's Free Spirit Blog

22 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Marcus Franks / Apr 2 2010 6:27 am

    LOL I wasn’t around for that one, but I’d have been pissed too! 😉

  2. Cactus Annie / Apr 2 2010 6:31 am

    Oooh yeah – I remember that prank, Old Silly, and I was MAD at you! 😉

  3. L. Diane Wolfe / Apr 2 2010 6:52 am

    That was a cruel trick, Marvin!

    And you have an award at my blog today.

  4. tashabud / Apr 2 2010 7:20 am

    Hehe. Good thing that was before my time here at Free Spirit. Like Markus Franks and Cactus Annie, I would have been mad at you too because if I’d have read that post, I would have cried a river over you by the time I had finished.

    You made me chuckled at this: “I’m now a recovering ex-April Foolster.”

    Tasha

  5. yvonne lewis / Apr 2 2010 8:22 am

    That was before my time also,I would have been upset reading that ……..it was bad enough my husband being told he had terminal brain cancer and I think it would have freaked me out.
    so good thing I didn’t read it.

    My kids used to play April fool jokes but since leaving home I don’t get any played on me.
    shame really .

    Have a good day and am glad you made a full recovery.
    Yvonne.

  6. Stanley Berber / Apr 2 2010 8:30 am

    I too remember that one and being like totally fooled – then miffed, lol. Good one, but glad you’re gotten “over it” lol.

  7. John Standish / Apr 2 2010 9:33 am

    I once told my mother I had contracted venereal disease on a sales trip and asked her how best to break it to my wife. Poor thing almost had a heart attack before I told her April Fools!

    Like you, I’m a recovering ex-April Foolser, lol 😉

    • theoldsilly / Apr 2 2010 7:22 pm

      OMG – good one – erm, well maybe like me, bad one? lol 😉

  8. Alex J. Cavanaugh / Apr 2 2010 9:38 am

    Bet you caught a lot of people with that one.

  9. Arlee Bird / Apr 2 2010 9:52 am

    Marvin –ooh that’s a bad thing to do. I’ve heard too many stories of people who made jokes like that and they turned out to be true. I blogged about April Fools yesterday, but to package it neatly for this comment –No I don’t like April Fools jokes as a rule, but I can appreciate clever ones if they’re not done in the spirit of meanness.

  10. Elspeth Antonelli / Apr 2 2010 12:57 pm

    I always try to remember the difference between funny-haha and funny-mean. I try – not always successfully.

  11. Bluestocking / Apr 2 2010 2:04 pm

    I pretended to hack my own blog and replace it with a 16 year old girl’s blog. That was classic!

  12. Patricia Stoltey / Apr 2 2010 2:15 pm

    I don’t do them, I don’t like them, and none of my friends would ever dare pull a stunt like that on me. For one thing, I’m so gullible I’d be sobbing, devastated by this horrible turn of events. Upon finding out the truth, I’d be tempted to smack the prankster up the side of the head. And I’m almost old enough to get away with it.

  13. Leeuna / Apr 2 2010 2:52 pm

    I’m not much of an April Foolster myself. I think some of them are funny though, but I’m glad I wasn’t around for yours, Marvin. I would have been so totally upset. Glad you learned your lesson. 🙂

  14. Elizabeth Spann Craig / Apr 2 2010 3:02 pm

    I do some minor pranks for the kids….but nothing like your last year’s post! Sheesh! 🙂

    Elizabeth
    Mystery Writing is Murder

  15. ReformingGeek / Apr 2 2010 5:11 pm

    I’m not much of a prankster. I think of the good jokes when it’s too late.

    Another one that a woman SHOULD NEVER do is tell her partner she is pregnant as an April Fool’s joke. NOT FUNNY!

  16. Stephen Tremp / Apr 2 2010 6:03 pm

    I wasn’t around this time last year, but I’d be pretty darn upset if you tried that this year. I can understand the backlash. Naughty naughty Marvin.

    Stephen Tremp

  17. Jim Hansen / Apr 2 2010 7:24 pm

    Treading mighty fine water there, Old Silly! LOL, but hey – all in good fun. Gotta be able to take a good joke these days, right? 🙂

  18. Ron Berry / Apr 3 2010 6:07 am

    Coming from you I suspected something. As for me, I have kids, isn’t that close enough?

  19. Kissie / Apr 8 2010 3:41 pm

    I was SHOCKED to hear about your “Blogger/Google” experience.

    Ileane just told me about something like that happening a few days before I read this.

    And, I CAN take a joke!

Leave a Reply

