Skip to content
April 4, 2010 / theoldsilly

The Case For Home Gardening

My family has a long tradition of home gardening. I can remember my Grandpa always having a wonderful, fruitful backyard garden, and my Grandma on the other side was an avid and prolific gardener. They both spoke about their elders being gardeners. My dad loved to garden, and for most my adult life, although the past several years I’ve lived in a condo and can’t have one, I’ve enjoyed gardening. Organic gardening.

There is nothing can top the flavor of an organically grown, lush, vine-ripened tomato picked fresh and eaten that day. Or the immense joy and culinary pleasure of putting a pot of water on to boil, sauntering out to the back yard, harvesting a few ears of corn, boiling them and eating them within minutes of being picked. Fabulous.

And with today’s economy, more folks are tending to do what they can to grow and produce eats for themselves. That’s one good reason, the satisfaction of gardening is another, it’s very meditative and calming, the better flavor is a third very good reason.

But the fourth reason might make you sick …. watch this.

Still hungry?

Click on Tweety Bird and Tweet this post if you liked it!

Tweet Me from The Old Silly's Free Spirit Blog

12 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. yvonne lewis / Apr 4 2010 4:22 am

    No Marvin I don’t feel like my breakfast now.

    Hope you enjoy yours..lol

    Happy Easter.

    Yvonne,

  2. Elizabeth Spann Craig / Apr 4 2010 6:07 am

    I think I’ll stick to my gardening!!! 🙂

    Elizabeth
    Mystery Writing is Murder

  3. Mason Canyon / Apr 4 2010 6:40 am

    Okay, I won’t be eating any more tomatoes from a store. Home-grown is definitely the best way to go. Happy Easter to you and your family.

  4. Simon Hay / Apr 4 2010 7:30 am

    I grew up with a garden, and farmed with my uncle. After visiting home I’m about to plant a garden again. Thanks for the reminder.

    Happy Easter Marvin. Peace and love.

  5. marylauracarter / Apr 4 2010 7:40 am

    Marvin, I, too, used to be a backyard gardener. Unfortunately, I don’t have that much dirt at my townhome. However, I hear ya’.

    Laura

  6. Stanley Berber / Apr 4 2010 8:29 am

    Yuck! I hope I can recover from that clip in time to have an appetite for Easter Sunday dinner, lol. I enjoy gardening, too. Best tasting food there is

  7. ReformingGeek / Apr 4 2010 9:34 am

    I love fresh tomatoes and fresh berries!

  8. Leeuna / Apr 4 2010 12:27 pm

    That does it. I’m planting my own chickens this season. Oh, do the heads go up or down? I forgot. 😀

  9. L. Diane Wolfe / Apr 4 2010 12:45 pm

    I’m not gonna watch it – let’s just say I’m vegan and a natural gal for a reason!

  10. Alex J. Cavanaugh / Apr 4 2010 12:54 pm

    I’ve been wanting to watch that movie for a while…

  11. Patricia Stoltey / Apr 4 2010 3:58 pm

    I’ve been trying to get a good garden going here in Colorado but it seems my old gardening green thumb has changed into a thistle green thumb. I’m thinking of changing over to raised beds built over a heavy plastic cloth (although I’m half afraid the thistles will grow right through the plastic and boards. I too have great memories of grandparents and parents gardening, and the taste of a warm dusty tomato right off the vine cannot be beat.

  12. Arlee Bird / Apr 4 2010 10:21 pm

    I come from a line of plant killers. My father, bless his heart, tried several times to plant a garden that failed hugely. My attempts at gardening at my house where I currently live were so dismal that I just decided to turn my backyard into a patio. I still have a strip where I keep some hardy plants despite my plant killing instincts. Oh how I long for good garden tomatoes.
    Lee

Leave a Reply

