Skip to content
April 12, 2010 / theoldsilly

Mickey Dees – Fast Food and Your Body

I’m still in the writer’s zone and doing much less blog post writing and blog-hopping than usual. Some 50K words down now, with a goal of 80K+/-, so at this pace I’ll probably be back to composing original posts again and spending more time social networking by sometime next week. Please forgive me if I haven’t visited all your blogs everyday during this recent two week long literary seizure.

I saved this Youtube some time ago for an occassion when I needed to put something together quickly for a post. You know, “Fast Food” is called that because of how fast it can be processed, produced, and sold to you at the counter or in your car at the drive through. And it is fast, hmm? Very convenient. But how “fast” does it break down in our bodies? How long does it take for this convenient, yummy, menu of delectables for our systems to break it down, and what’s happening in our intestines during the process?

Watch this …

Anyone up for a Mickey Dees? Me, I kinda lost my appetite. Think I’ll get back to my writing. Hey thanks for blogging in, gang, blog back in tomorrow, I’ll have Professor Old Silly here holding writing class again.

Chow, and remember to eat healthy today, and every day, okay? The Old Silly cares aboutcha!

Click on Tweety Bird and Tweet this post if you liked it!

Tweet Me from The Old Silly's Free Spirit Blog

21 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Elizabeth Spann Craig / Apr 12 2010 5:27 am

    Yuck! Makes me want to eat healthy. I watched “Super Size Me” and it was scary! Enjoy your writing, Marvin!

    Elizabeth
    Mystery Writing is Murder

  2. Cactus Annie / Apr 12 2010 5:44 am

    Yeah I watche “Super Size Me” the movie and it’s made it very difficult to eat any fast food since … now THIS – UGH!

  3. AmyLK / Apr 12 2010 6:29 am

    ewe! What an eye-opener! Good luck with the writing!

  4. ReformingGeek / Apr 12 2010 7:50 am

    YIKES!

    Keep up the writing, Speedy Hand Marv.

  5. Leeuna / Apr 12 2010 8:10 am

    Eeewe and eeewe! I’m never eating fast food again! From now on it’s sloooow cooking for me. In fact I’m warming up the crock pot as we speak. šŸ˜‰

    Those fries were ridiculous. šŸ˜€

  6. Stanley Berber / Apr 12 2010 8:26 am

    Definitely a gut turning eye opener. I haven’t been able to eat at MacDonalds for years now, after having watched Supersize Me. Gawd!

  7. Ron Berry / Apr 12 2010 8:27 am

    Interesting but it would have made more sense had the stomach acid or sulphuric acid been in the jars also. This really didn’t tell me anything.

    • theoldsilly / Apr 12 2010 2:53 pm

      True enough, I had that thought to, Ron. Still, anything that doesn’t rot naturally can NOT be having a beneficial effect on your body, hm? More common sense than scientific,

      • Ron Berry / Apr 13 2010 9:11 am

        It will eventually degenerate. The fatty acids of potatoes are acted upon quickly with stomach acids though. Had the lid been off the jar, it also would have broken down faster. Some biogenetic processes require oxygen as a catalyst. Those were sealed jars.

  8. Karen Walker / Apr 12 2010 8:36 am

    I gave up fast food several years ago when I began my weight loss program. Thank goodness.
    Happy writing, Marv.
    Karen

  9. Stephen Tremp / Apr 12 2010 10:02 am

    I haven’t seen Supersize Me but did watch Food Inc. I limit the intake of this, ahem, food for me and my family. Nothing worng with coming home to make stir fry veggies. Yum.

    Stephen Tremp

    • theoldsilly / Apr 12 2010 2:52 pm

      Loves me some stir fry veggies, too, Stephen!

  10. yvonne lewis / Apr 12 2010 10:51 am

    Enjoyed the post, yes one must eat healthy, and PLENTY OF WATER to drink and EXCERCISE.

    Take care and don’t work too hard.

    Yvonne,

  11. Mason Canyon / Apr 12 2010 11:25 am

    Definitely make you think twice. Good luck with the writing and continuing your pace.

    Mason
    Thoughts in Progress

  12. Alex J. Cavanaugh / Apr 12 2010 1:23 pm

    Not really!
    Marvin, you’ll love my post for Tuesday. I finally watched Food, Inc.!

    • theoldsilly / Apr 12 2010 2:51 pm

      Cool. I’ll make sure and check it out!

  13. John Standish / Apr 12 2010 2:55 pm

    Yuk! I agree with Ron it’s not a scientific test or anything, but also with you … that CAN’T be good for you, no way.

  14. Patricia Stoltey / Apr 12 2010 3:17 pm

    I haven’t had anything but coffee from a fast food place in years. But I can still taste and smell those French fries. Darn.

  15. tashabud / Apr 12 2010 3:43 pm

    With the exception of those fries on the video, all unpreserved foods that are left alone too long will rut and get moldy. The experiment doesn’t really show what actually takes place in our digestive system. The foods were not cut up to resemble them being chewed. The jars didn’t contain any hydrochloric acid, which is the type of acid that our stomach produce. And, there were no digestive enzymes added, which are essential in breaking down those foodstuffs, like they do inside our stomachs.

    However, the experiment showed me something interesting. Iā€™d like to find out what substance(s) those fries contain that preserves their fresh appearance for so long. Who knows, it might unlock the answer to our forever quest for “eternal youth.”

    Tasha

    • Ron Berry / Apr 13 2010 9:12 am

      Thank you, I had the wrong acid.

  16. Enid Wilson / Apr 13 2010 5:20 am

    Can you pass some of your creative vibes to me? Writing 50K to 80K so easily! How I envy you!

    Really Angelic

Leave a Reply

