Skip to content
April 17, 2010 / theoldsilly

A Saturday Pontification – And Three Hundredth Post!

Today’s wise words come from the scarred, dry lips of The Old Man, the main character in my upcoming novel, Beware the Devil’s Hug.

~~~~~

“Know this, all ordinary people think of themselves as extraordinary. That is the nature of the ego. The truly extraordinary person knows that he or she is just ordinary.”

~~~~~

And hey, gang – this is the Old Silly’s 300th post here on this blog. Have a nice cup of herbal tea with a generous dollop of organic peach honey and toast with me, hmm?

Click on Tweety Bird and Tweet this post if you liked it!

Tweet Me from The Old Silly's Free Spirit Blog

19 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. tashabud / Apr 17 2010 6:33 am

    Isn’t this the truth? I work with a lot of egomaniacs. They always find ways to demean others just to make themselves appear smart and superior and to make themselves feel good about themselves.

    Tasha

  2. Simon Hay / Apr 17 2010 6:36 am

    Hi Marvin. Congrats on the 300th post! I’ve a gift. I think you might like this site http://theosophywatch.com/ Some good stuff. Take care, Simon.

    • theoldsilly / Apr 17 2010 2:36 pm

      I liked it very mucch, Simon – you know me, that sort of thing is right up my spiritual alley – thanks!

  3. tashabud / Apr 17 2010 7:01 am

    Old Silly, Congratulations on your 300th post! Wow! Amazing. Does this reflect the posts you’ve had under your “Blogger” blog?

    I’m looking forward to the arrival of your new book.

    Tasha

    • theoldsilly / Apr 17 2010 2:37 pm

      Thanks, Tasha. No, my old blog was well over 500 posts old before the Google Nazis zapped it out of existence. Jerks. So the 300 is just since I started this blog last June. Will be sure to let EVERYone know when “Hug” comes out, of course. 😉

  4. Thelma Banks / Apr 17 2010 7:04 am

    This is one heckuva a true statement. So simple yet so true. And Kudos on 300 posts Old Silly!

  5. Cactus Annie / Apr 17 2010 7:05 am

    Congrats on 300, Old Silly! And having read all your other books, I KNOW this will be a good one coming out! 🙂

  6. yvonne lewis / Apr 17 2010 7:32 am

    Congratulations Marvin on your 300th, you don’t look a day over 50.

    Enjoy your week-end,
    Yvonne,

    PS I enjoyed the post.

  7. Ron Berry / Apr 17 2010 8:27 am

    Congrats on the 300th post. I’ve known my share of egomaniacs. I”m not extraorinary, I’m not ordinary, I’m just me, take me as I am.

    Good post, looking forward to reviewing this book.

  8. Elizabeth Spann Craig / Apr 17 2010 9:26 am

    Congratulations on the 300th, Marvin! And thanks for the words of wisdom.

    Elizabeth

    Mystery Writing is Murder

  9. Kissie / Apr 17 2010 11:04 am

    I’m so proud of you but you already know that.

    Look, this vegan doesn’t do the honey but I am looking forward to the next novel!

    From your “ordinary” friend. (slgtf)

    • theoldsilly / Apr 17 2010 2:38 pm

      Thanks, Kissie! And I’m curious … what’s “slgtf” stand for?

      • Kissie / Apr 17 2010 3:01 pm

        You’re smart….figure it out.

  10. Stanley Berber / Apr 17 2010 11:09 am

    Wise words indeed. So is this “The Old Man” a kind of saint or angel figure or something in the new book? Can’t wait to read it, Marv.

  11. Leeuna / Apr 17 2010 1:38 pm

    I love the title of your new book. Congrats on your 300th post. Wow. 300 posts, books, guest posts, editing, you’re busy as a bee Marvin. You make me ashamed of myself. 😉

    • theoldsilly / Apr 17 2010 2:39 pm

      Ah it ain’t nothin’, shucks, gosh ya make The Old Silly blush! 😉

  12. ReformingGeek / Apr 17 2010 5:58 pm

    Congrats on your 300th birthday. That is truly amazing. Is this what happens when we go all organic?

    Oh, wait. Blog posts. Not age.

    Sigh.

    I’ve misplaced my ego…..

    Yeah, I wish.

  13. Patricia Stoltey / Apr 17 2010 6:28 pm

    I want to read Beware the Devil’s Hug. I love the title. And congrats on your 300th.

  14. Mason Canyon / Apr 17 2010 8:18 pm

    Such wise words. Congratulations on your 300th post and wishing you many, many more.

    Mason
    Thoughts in Progress

Leave a Reply

