Skip to content
April 21, 2010 / theoldsilly

Understanding Men – Some Help for all Women

For some reason, and I don’t know why, women have always felt like they can come to me for advise on how to understand their men. I’ve always had lots of women friends, still do to this day. And I mean close friends, excuse me, so don’t even go there.

But for real, ever since high school, on to college, young adulthood, and even to this day, my women friends come to me with questions about understanding why their boyfriend, husband, significant other, whatever … acts this way or that. As if I have some special innate sagacity, some ability to impart an understanding to them as to why a man can’t ever be understood or molded into the perfect “Mr. Right” for them.

Well, I finally found the perfect, less than three minute answer. So all of you women friends of mine out there, and you know who you are, as well as any other women who just can’t figure out wtf goes on in a guy’s head most of the time, take a listen to this and then we’ll conclude this little counseling session, hmm?

So there you have it, ladies. Hey – stop trying to change your man. What you pull through that door when he moves in is what you’re gonna get. For Life.

So what the problem is? And really, honeys, we’re not all that complicated … much easier to understand than y’all, trust me.

~~~~~

Click on Tweety Bird and Tweet this post if you liked it!

Tweet Me from The Old Silly's Free Spirit Blog

18 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Barbra Kelser / Apr 21 2010 5:00 am

    While I love country and think Tracy Byrd is sexy, that is SUCH a man song, lol. πŸ˜‰

    But yeah, I get it … so many girls think they can “change” their boyfriend after they marry them. Not. Gonna. Happen. Find out what you’re gonna get beforehand and be happy with that, cuz that’s what you’re gonna be living with.

  2. Alex J. Cavanaugh / Apr 21 2010 7:16 am

    Marvin, you’re going to get some guys in trouble with that!

  3. Elizabeth Spann Craig / Apr 21 2010 7:17 am

    Wow…I haven’t listened to country in forever, unless it’s crossover!

    But it’s an important point—people really can’t be changed. And we should stop trying!

    Elizabeth
    Mystery Writing is Murder

  4. AmyLK / Apr 21 2010 7:56 am

    Cute! Thanks for letting me know! lol

  5. Terri Dryden / Apr 21 2010 8:10 am

    I brought my daughter-in-laws into my livingroom, sat them down and told them (before they married my sons), “What you see is what you get”. Don’t expect a wedding or a ring to change who they are…it won’t happen!
    Doesn’t mean they won’t curb things but change????? NOT!

  6. L. Diane Wolfe / Apr 21 2010 8:15 am

    Okay, glad my man isn’t like that!

  7. Karen Walker / Apr 21 2010 8:39 am

    I’m with Diane. But the message is correct. No one can change anyone else, and that includes us women. We only change if WE want to change.
    Karen

  8. Katrina Wampler / Apr 21 2010 9:28 am

    hahah… clears my “man troubles” right up! Good advice there Marv. What you get when you yanked them through the door… lol. I suppose it’s a great thing I love the heck out of him even through his insanity. I’ll be sure to listen to this over and over when I’m thinking of choking him.

    Thanks for sharing. Thanks for listening.

  9. Elspeth Antonelli / Apr 21 2010 10:58 am

    You can’t change anyone. Change their habits? Maybe. Change their wardrobe? Probably. Change their personality? Never, ever going to happen. Build a bridge and get over it.

  10. Leeuna / Apr 21 2010 1:17 pm

    Believe it or not, there’s not a single thing I would want to change about my man. He’s perfect just as he is. Even his bad side is good. Now me, on the other hand… πŸ™‚

  11. Arlee Bird / Apr 21 2010 1:53 pm

    Now, how’s the Truth about women song go?

    Lee
    A to Z Challenge Reflections Mega Post

  12. Kissie / Apr 21 2010 3:14 pm

    I don’t get it. Can you elaborate?

  13. tashabud / Apr 21 2010 4:06 pm

    It can be done, Old Silly. I’ve molded my hubby into my fantasy man–someone who does laundry, helps clean the house, picks up after himself, puts the toilet seat down, listens to me complain about anything, takes me out to fancy restaurants, listens to Country music with me, wears cowboy boots and cowboy jeans, and mo’, mo’, mo’. But in fairness to hubby, he does those things without me making him. I just like to think that I have something to do with it. It’s my romantic personality to think this way. Hee, hee.

    In return, I let him do his favorite past times without getting in the way.

    I understood from the get go that boys will be boys and nothing I can do will change that. Besides, it would mean more if a man changes his unfavorable ways for the better on his own, instead of being forced into it.

    Tasha

  14. ReformingGeek / Apr 21 2010 6:20 pm

    Give a guy a sports car and/or a truck and all is well.

    Ok. Maybe a few others things might be needed.

    πŸ˜‰

  15. yvonne lewis / Apr 22 2010 1:07 pm

    I suppose you’re right Marvin……..I think.

    Yvonne.

Leave a Reply

