Skip to content
April 25, 2010 / theoldsilly

Hallelujah! We’re Partying Today!

Just a short celebration post today. Last evening I wrote “THE END” at the bottom of an eighty one thousand word first draft manuscript. Most of you regular Free Spiriters know the Old Silly has been in the blessed writer’s zone all month, siezed by characters, plot, sub-plots and all that were demanding to be written … as in yesterday. 81K+ words in 22 days is rather time consuming, so I do appreciate how y’all have hung in here at Free Spirit while I put up lots of short, easy to format posts and re-pub’d some of the better archived pieces so I could have more time to get King Kong off my back.

What’s the book about? It’s titled, Beware the Devil’s Hug, and the best way to give you the basic drift is to paste the short adblurb here …

What if a homeless, smelly, ugly, unkempt old man had a hug so powerful it could cure cancer? Cause a prostitute to stop hooking and seek true love? Shake the demons of addiction free from a junkie? Make a Christian want to hug and love a Muslim and visa versa? But rare is the beneficiary of his divine embrace – nobody wants to come near him out of fear.

It is mainly in the spiritual/inspirational genre, my favorite, but also has a lot of cross-genre elements, including romance (some sexy scenes, too), mystery/suspense, and also deals with the misguided religious zealotry in our world, the terrorist Jihad Muslims and their hating Jewish/Christian rival enemies.

I’m taking two weeks off from writing now, before pulling the manuscript back up to read it with fresh eyes and do the self-editing, rewrites, revisions, etc. That process usually takes me longer than the initial first draft writing, because now it has to be polished and perfected before sending it off to the pub house, hmm? Anyhowzit, I’ll have more time to dedicate to posting, so expect some cool stuff … I’ll try anyway. (wink)

So, that’s it for today, thanks for blogging in. Please help yourself to a slice of chocolate cake and some Ice cream, there’s also soy ice cream for any of you Vegans, and the cake was made without eggs, so … dig in, everyone.

Have a blessed Sunday and see y’all back here tomorrow. Chow!

Click on Tweety Bird and Tweet this post if you liked it!

Tweet Me from The Old Silly's Free Spirit Blog

29 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Katrina Wampler / Apr 25 2010 7:11 am

    So proud of you punkin. Can’t wait to read it. Now where the heck is my cake????

  2. Ron Berry / Apr 25 2010 7:13 am

    Eggless cake? I’ll stick with Angel food, that’s only half egg cake (whites only). This sounds like an interesting premise. You’ve the background for it. It is an eclectic mix for sure, but knowing you, it blends well.

    • theoldsilly / Apr 25 2010 12:59 pm

      That’s me, one heckuvaneclectic Old Silly … 😉

  3. Barbra Kelser / Apr 25 2010 7:20 am

    Cool sounding book, Old Silly! timely topics, and a dash of sexy tossed in, too? Okey dokey then! 🙂

    • theoldsilly / Apr 25 2010 12:59 pm

      Mmhmm, and we’re talkin’ SPICY sex, too, Barbra. 😉

  4. tashabud / Apr 25 2010 7:21 am

    The cake and icecream is sooooo…yummy! Anywho, I like the title of your new bookl. If it’s like any of your 2 books, I’ve read, it should be a very good read.

    Hope that it’ll be ready by Christmas.

    Congratulation! You deserve some partying and relaxing.

    Tasha

    • theoldsilly / Apr 25 2010 1:00 pm

      Thanks, Tasha – I expect the book to be out sometime this summer. Will keep y’all posted, of course.

  5. Cactus Annie / Apr 25 2010 7:22 am

    I’ve been dying to read this one ever since you posted that adblurb – along with two other WIP synosises you had going – a year or so ago asking your readers which one they wanted to read most and first. Glad you chose that one!

    • theoldsilly / Apr 25 2010 1:01 pm

      Me too, Cactus. I had tried to write this book like, three times over the past three years since I had the idea, and each time … nothing – no banana, just bad writing, not doing it justice at all. then one day BAM! It just started pouring out.

  6. Simon Hay / Apr 25 2010 7:28 am

    I don’t care if you smell. Can I have a hug?

    • theoldsilly / Apr 25 2010 1:04 pm

      Anytime, Simon, my good down under friend. I think men should hug more often, hmm?

  7. marylauracarter / Apr 25 2010 7:41 am

    Congratulations, sound good.
    Having just read “Three Cups of Tea” I think we can no longer ignore we must become an spiritually inclusive world–not talking about extremists. I have learned writing tips from your posts and appreciate your take on life.

    • theoldsilly / Apr 25 2010 1:04 pm

      Thanks, Mary – your not the first to speak highly of Three Cups – I’ll have to read that…

  8. Helen Ginger / Apr 25 2010 10:21 am

    Congratulations on finishing the first draft. That’s huge. So is the editing, which I’m in the midst of. Have fun when you start the re-read!

    Helen
    Straight From Hel

    • theoldsilly / Apr 25 2010 1:06 pm

      Thanks, Helen. I’m always a little nervous when, after having spent a cupla weeks away from the thing, that it still seems as good to me as when I was writing it, lol. So far I’ve not been disappointed though, but just saying … and anyway I have a VERY good feeling about this one.

  9. Stanley Berber / Apr 25 2010 1:12 pm

    Sounds great, Marv! Keep us posted on the release date …

  10. Thelma Banks / Apr 25 2010 1:14 pm

    LOVE that synopsis or blurb thingy. Can’t wait to read it – and thanks for the cake and being so thoughtful to us Vegans, Old Silly! 😉

  11. Kissie / Apr 25 2010 1:21 pm

    I love your followers, such great supporters….I know you appreciate them all.

    And, I hope I’m not the only vegan in the crowd for we vegans are used to not being able to partake of most of the meal selections (outside of salad.) You know I’ve been frequenting your site for a while now and had no plans to leave (as much as I disagree with some of your viewpoints), but serving vegan desserts …. WOW, it’s going to be even harder to get rid of me. 😉

    • theoldsilly / Apr 25 2010 2:07 pm

      Well Thelma (just above you) says she’s a Vegan, Kissie, so you’re not alone here on Free Spirit. 😉 And neither I nor most of my open-minded readers mind a dissenting voice on some of the opinions expressed here, uh uh. You’s ALWAYS welcome by the Old Silly, silly.

      Now here – have another slice of cake and put that pretty smile back on, hear? 😉

  12. ReformingGeek / Apr 25 2010 1:23 pm

    Congrats Marvin! Thanks for the cake and ice cream but what will everyone else eat? I ate the entire cake in one sitting and Cat inhaled the ice cream before I could stop him. Sorry.

    • theoldsilly / Apr 25 2010 2:09 pm

      Reforming One, not a problem. I knew you’d be coming, and your cat, so had lots of backup for after y’all left. HEY GANG! RG’s gone, we’re bringing the rest out, now!

  13. Alex J. Cavanaugh / Apr 25 2010 2:05 pm

    Congratulations, Marvin – bet that felt good.

  14. Leeuna / Apr 25 2010 2:19 pm

    Congratuations Marvin, on a job well done. I must admit that I’m just a tiny bit envious. I kinda miss that “I finished it” feeling. I’ve been in a writing rut for some time now and I can’t seem to shake it. You should be out celebrating today. 🙂

  15. yvonne lewis / Apr 25 2010 3:31 pm

    congratulations Marvin, hope the book will be a success.
    Thanks for the slice of cake.

    Take it easy.
    Yvonne.

  16. Joyce A. Anthony / Apr 25 2010 5:07 pm

    YES!!! I have been waiting for this one for ages! Congratulations, Hon!

  17. Elizabeth Spann Craig / Apr 26 2010 7:26 am

    Congrats, Marvin! And good luck with revisions…

    Elizabeth
    Mystery Writing is Murder

  18. AmyLK / Apr 26 2010 2:11 pm

    Congrats! That’s a lot of typing! Enjoy the next two weeks off.

Leave a Reply

