Skip to content
April 30, 2010 / theoldsilly

Trying to Get Along With Liberals

Ralph, My neighbor, is a “lefty” of sorts (Obama bumper stickers, gung-ho socialized medicine, “guns should be banned”, etc.).  So last week I put this sign up in my yard after one of his anti-gun rants at a neighbourhood cocktail party.  The sign wasn’t up more than an hour before he called the police and wanted them to make me take down the sign.  Fortunately, the officer politely informed him that it was not their job to take such action without a court order and that he had to file a complaint “downtown” first, which would be reviewed by the city attorney to see if it violated any city, county, or state ordinances, which if there was a violation a court order would be sent to the offending party (me) to “remove the sign in seven days”.

After several weeks he was informed that the sign was legal (by a quarter of an inch) and there was nothing the city could do, which obviously made him madder.  I tried to smooth things over by inviting him to go shooting with me and my friends at the hunt club but that seemed to make him even more angry.  I then asked him if he wanted to go to a Tea Party rally but again he declined my outreach efforts to bring about a better understanding between political and social opponents.

I am at a loss how to reconcile our long relationship (notice I did not say friendship), any suggestions would be welcome. Oh – the sign? I don’t think it’s offensive at all or anything … what do you think?

Not anything but the truth, right? It says,

“My next door neighbor wants to ban all guns. Their house is NOT ARMED! Out of RESPECT for their opinions, I promise NOT to use my guns to PROTECT them.”

Anyhowzit, that’s life in our neck of the woods … some people you just can’t please all the time or get along with, I reckon – how about yours?

~~~~~

Disclaimer: The Old Silly does not own guns or hunt animals. I have good friends that are both liberals and conservatives, and myself I am an independent. This is intended to be a JOKE, kayzies? Please be kind in the comments, free speech yes, but civil, lol…

Click on Tweety Bird and Tweet this post if you liked it!

Tweet Me from The Old Silly's Free Spirit Blog

22 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Barbra Kelser / Apr 30 2010 5:56 am

    Marvin, you are a TOTAL nutcase! LOL

  2. Cactus Annie / Apr 30 2010 6:05 am

    Old Silly, you are definitely out of your mind silly with this one, lol. 🙂

  3. tashabud / Apr 30 2010 6:26 am

    Very clever and very diplomatic, I must say. LOL. My hubby is a hunter and a big time gun collector, so thanks for fending for his rights to own guns.

    Do you want to know something, Marvin? I am married into a family that is a staunch Democrat. Even hubby at the time voted on the Democratic ticket. When I was eligible to vote and listened to the platforms of the 2 opposing parties, I immediately sided with the Republican’s. I swear that I didn’t do it to spite my hubby and his family. I love them all. It’s just what I believe in. Since I belong to one of the minority groups and also that I’m a woman, everybody assumes that I’m a Democrat.

    Anyway, most of my good friends are Democrats. We try not to talk about politics when we get together.

    Tasha

  4. Ron Berry / Apr 30 2010 6:51 am

    I’m an independent and I abhor guns. I’ve heard of too many children being shot by accident. children and guns do not belong in the same house. But then again, I do not believe in hunting, at least for me. I refuse to hurt an animal. I am, however, a carnivore so I do eat meat that is purchased at the store and I know it’s contradictory.

    Anyway, interesting post.

  5. Mary / Apr 30 2010 7:15 am

    I think you are either my brother or my best friend in disguise. Doesn’t matter. I love you all!

    Mary
    Giggles and Guns

  6. Thelma Banks / Apr 30 2010 8:01 am

    Glad I read that disclaimer, because I was about to rip you a new one, Old Silly. LOL, good joke, though… 😉

  7. Kissie / Apr 30 2010 8:06 am

    Interesting is a good word for this….

    Let’s say I could care less about what you have in your house and I disagree with it, do you really want to put me in harm’s way to prove a point?

    I’m still trying to determine if “interesting” is the word I want to use.

    If I were your neighbor, besides how happy and delighted you would be …. and my children and grandchild were in the house that you advertised we chose (by your view) to be unprotected and you could but won’t help us …. don’t play with me.

    I don’t know the hype over the “gun ban” issue. I don’t have a gun, never had one, a desire, or the need to even want one. One day ask me about a horror story in my family that involved a gun and now a dead two-year-old. So, if my neighbor wants to live in a house that is an arsenal….they’re entitled to what and how they choose. But if I disagree with having a gun in my house, …… I don’t know, Marvin, interesting isn’t the word I’m thinking to use the next time we speak. NTF

    • Kissie / Apr 30 2010 8:08 am

      You can tell I don’t know how to use the HTML here. lol

      You’re right however, some people you just can’t please.

      Until the next time,

      • theoldsilly / Apr 30 2010 8:10 am

        Sigh, Kissie, you didn’t read the disclaimer? It’s a JOKE, silly! 😉

  8. Stanley Berber / Apr 30 2010 8:17 am

    LOL, good one. I’m an independent also, but even though, like Ron, I don’t own or use guns and don’t hunt animals – even though I believe in the right to bear arms and hunt if you want to – I still am a carnivore, so that makes me a bit of a hypocrite, I suppose. But hey – nobody’s perfect, huh?

  9. Alex J. Cavanaugh / Apr 30 2010 8:37 am

    Priceless!!!
    Maybe you should invite him to a health care reform protest rally instead?

  10. Mason Canyon / Apr 30 2010 8:37 am

    Oh, you do good. Good luck with that neighbor. 🙂

    Mason
    Thoughts in Progress

  11. Karen Walker / Apr 30 2010 9:06 am

    Almost didn’t read the post cause of the headline. You are somethin’ else, Old Silly.
    Karen

  12. Matt / Apr 30 2010 9:49 am

    Old Silly –

    The fact that you don’t own any guns and don’t hunt makes this already funny story even better. Thanks for the laugh.

    -Matt

  13. L. Diane Wolfe / Apr 30 2010 10:02 am

    Love it, Marvin!!!

  14. ZHadi / Apr 30 2010 11:57 am

    Snork!

  15. Leeuna / Apr 30 2010 1:34 pm

    Good one, Marvin. I thought it was hilarious, even before I read the disclaimer. Love the tongue-in-cheek remarks about all the ways you’d tried to “improve” the relationship with the neighbor. My neighbor hates dogs. sigh! And that’s the truth.

  16. Helen Ginger / Apr 30 2010 2:04 pm

    I’m glad it was a joke and not you for real. It shows a “I don’t give a damn about anybody but myself” attitude.

    Helen
    Straight From Hel

  17. Pearl / Apr 30 2010 3:45 pm

    I can’t believe he didn’t take you up on the Tea Party.

    Pearl

  18. yvonne lewis / Apr 30 2010 4:19 pm

    I’m glad I’m not the only one to leaves notices about,
    I live in a large house divided into 5 apartments, directly above me is an attic apartment
    the lady whose has recently moved in is the noiseiest person which up to a point I don’t mind.
    However she left a notice in the hall to say she is having a part on Sunday evening and hopes she don’t make too much noise. I wrote the following underneath
    ;I hope you don’t make too much noise some people need their sleep.

    I think your notice quite acceptable but perhaps we both have the same sense of humour.

    Yvonne.

  19. ReformingGeek / Apr 30 2010 4:43 pm

    I’m glad you are such a good neighbor!

    😉

  20. Terri / May 1 2010 8:36 am

    I LOVE IT! We DO own guns (and many of them). We go sporting clay shooting and my hubby hunts. I can’t tell you how many winters the venison has kept us fed.
    Guns don’t kill people, people kill people.

Leave a Reply

