Skip to content
May 3, 2010 / theoldsilly

How Was Your Weekend?

I had a wonderful weekend, the highlight of which was a great church service with a praise and worship session that lasted for like an hour of spirit-filled bliss. As many of you know, the Old Silly is a guitarist, an old Hippie, who still loves to play and enjoys nothing more these days than playing in my church’s P&W band.

Anyhowzit, after service I was hangin’ with the other guitar player in the band and he tipped me off to this awesome virtuoso bass player, Victor Wooten, and this amazing rendition of “Amazing Grace” … enjoy.

Sweet, hmm? So I’m back to blogging again, took the weekend off, but feeling in the spirit and with high spirits. How’re y’all doing, and how was your weekend?

Click on Tweety Bird and Tweet this post if you liked it!

Tweet Me from The Old Silly's Free Spirit Blog

27 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Cactus Annie / May 3 2010 5:40 am

    Amazing is right – wow what a talent. Thanks for sharing Old Silly!

  2. AK / May 3 2010 5:55 am

    This is so cool.. Even i had a great weekend… jammed with the band. Even i used to play drums with the praise & worship team, but i quit after a year because people started judging me because i was also playing drums in a death metal band.

    • theoldsilly / May 3 2010 6:21 am

      That really sucks, AK … but I know that kind of elitist exclusionism happens in many churches. Ours is not like that. Several of our P&W band members also play in secular rock bands – makes no difference to us – if they are willing to come on Sunday and devote and utilize their talents to worshipping God they are welcome here.

      • AK / May 4 2010 4:04 am

        I dont know why people rate heavy metal as satanic. No doubt, there are some bands who promote satanism and anti-social stuffs through their music, but there are also many bands who sings about daily life problems, politics and other social issues..

  3. L. Diane Wolfe / May 3 2010 6:12 am

    Neat! My weekend was spent entirely unplugged and celebrating my 19th anniversary with my Baby in Asheville, NC. I needed that!

  4. Barbra Kelser / May 3 2010 6:34 am

    Very cool. We have an awesome P & W band at our church too, I love the music part of our services. Had a wonderful weekend, just chillin’ mostly. Thanks for sharing, Old Silly – have a great day! 🙂

  5. Alex J. Cavanaugh / May 3 2010 6:42 am

    I can certainly appreciate great guitar playing.

  6. Thelma Banks / May 3 2010 7:14 am

    Awesome! I’ll have to check out more of his Youtubes. I had a loooong weekend, entertaining lots of guests, but it was fun … have a great day, Old Silly!

  7. ReformingGeek / May 3 2010 7:54 am

    My fingers hut just watching him play. He is very talented.

    I’m glad you had a good weekend. I kept busy with some gardening and the usual chores. We had some great weather.

  8. Elizabeth Spann Craig / May 3 2010 8:29 am

    Great clip, Marvin! Thanks for sharing it. I’m glad you had a good weekend.

    Elizabeth
    Mystery Writing is Murder

  9. Karen Walker / May 3 2010 9:05 am

    So happy you are happy and had a good weekend. I got sick. Was supposed to leave for Portland, OR today, but am home instead, with bronchitis. sigh!
    Karen

    • theoldsilly / May 3 2010 4:13 pm

      Sigh and yuk – I pray you’ll get better soon, Karen!

  10. Vivian Zabel / May 3 2010 9:31 am

    This past weekend, from Thursday until yesterday morning, I was at the Embassy Suite in Oklahoma City for the OWFI writing conference: constant activity from 7 AM until nearly midnight every night.

    Met Dianne Sagan in person (what a delightful woman). I also met Dana Stabenow, the keynote speaker – friendly and fun.

    I visited with current friends and gathered new ones.

  11. tashabud / May 3 2010 9:52 am

    What a talented guitarist. I was awed. I’ve always wanted to be a guitarist, but I quit each time my fingers start hurting. So, I could never build the calouse on my fingertips I need to keep playing.

    Glad you had a wonderful weekend. Mine was aweful. Had to work, and my coworker and I were slammed.

    Marvin, you should make a UTube video of yourself playing the guitar and singing and then show it to us here.

    Tasha

    • theoldsilly / May 3 2010 4:15 pm

      Tasha, I know I need to, and it will happen, promise … 🙂

    • Kissie / May 5 2010 1:13 am

      I agree, I’d like to see that.

  12. Mason Canyon / May 3 2010 12:23 pm

    Amazing video, thanks for sharing.

    Mason
    Thoughts in Progress

  13. Katie Hines / May 3 2010 1:34 pm

    Am I the only one who couldn’t pick the melody line up in this guitar piece? He’s obviously a great player and I enjoyed it, but totally missed out on the theme of the song.

    • theoldsilly / May 3 2010 4:18 pm

      You didn’t hear the “Amazing Grace” melody when he first launched into the piece after the inro? Hmmm … very obvious to me, but … it is improvizational jazz and some people don’t “hear” improv/jazz. That’s okay. 🙂

  14. Joyce A. Anthony / May 3 2010 2:21 pm

    Another geat rendition o my favorite song. My absolute favorite version is done by Walela and is in Cherokee–here’s the link http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QqkpYgvIBtU Thanks for the great post, Hon!

    • theoldsilly / May 3 2010 4:18 pm

      Thanks, Joyce, and I’ll check it out …

  15. Leeuna / May 3 2010 4:47 pm

    Glad you had a good weekend Marv. Mine went by as usual. Nothing too great, but then again no catastrophes, so I guess that’s good. I love good P&W song services. I used to sing with a group at my church. I really enjoyed it.

  16. Jane Kennedy Sutton / May 3 2010 5:16 pm

    It’ll be interesting to see where that kid’s talent leads him.

    Spending time with my family which includes my young grandson is always fun and this weekend had lots of family time.

  17. unwriter1 / May 3 2010 5:53 pm

    Loved this!! I finally got my computer back so I could listen to this. I love jazz (and most other forms of music). I spent the better part of this past week (Wed afternoon through early afternoon today), babysitting. It was wonderful.

  18. AmyLK / May 4 2010 1:31 pm

    What talent! Thanks for sharing with us. And glad you are back into the blogging again. 🙂

  19. Kissie / May 5 2010 1:15 am

    Thanks for broadening my horizons (once again)….sounds like I’m not the only one who was away from your blog over the weekend. Give me a pass!

Leave a Reply

