Skip to content
May 9, 2010 / theoldsilly

My Mom

Just a short post today, as I know most everyone is busy with Mother’s Day, and should be. I love my mother with all my heart. This is her, now at 82 years of age.

Isn’t she cute? I think so. I was raised in a loving, Christian family, always knew I was loved by both parents, and always felt the love from all my family members all my life. It is a wonderful thing, something I did not fully appreciate until I was out on my own and realized that so many peopleย  are not blessed with a tight-knit, strong, loving and affectionate family to fall back on for support, compassion, and guidance. It is a special treasure to have while here on this magical sojourn we call life on earth.

I don’t have a baby picture of me, but this was Mom’s first born, me, the young silly, when I was five years old and in Kindergarten.

People always said I looked like my mom, and I count that as a compliment.

So Mother, know that I love you, as do all my brothers, your grandchildren, and your great-grandkids. You have provided strength, example, and love to all of us, even after Dad passed away more than ten years ago. Be blessed, Mother dear, and know in your heart that Marvin holds you in his heart and prayers on this, and every, day of my life.

~~~~~

Click on Tweety Bird and Tweet this post if you liked it!

Tweet Me from The Old Silly's Free Spirit Blog

25 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Cactus Annie / May 9 2010 6:47 am

    Awww, your Mom is Soooooo cute! And yes you do look like her. I was fortunate to have a great family to grow up in, too. I agree, it is a treasure beyond anything else. Sweet Mom’s Day post, Old Silly! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. tashabud / May 9 2010 7:02 am

    Marvin, you got me all choked up with your special dedication to your mother. So great to see sons highly talk about their moms like you did. Your mom is beautiful, even at 82. And, oh, you look so adorable and pinchable boy in that picture.

    Tasha

    • theoldsilly / May 9 2010 8:02 pm

      Thank you Tasha, you are sweet. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Barbra Kelser / May 9 2010 7:09 am

    I’m with Tasha – you brought a tear to my eye, Old Silly, and your were a cute little young silly, too, lol. Your mother sound so very special, so great to see and feel the love and admiration of her from you in this post. God bless you, your mom, and all your family. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • theoldsilly / May 9 2010 8:03 pm

      Blessings to you and your family too, Barbra!

  4. Stanley Berber / May 9 2010 7:21 am

    Sweet tribute post, Marv. Moms are the greatest, the loving ones … I need to call my mother right now come to think of it! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. Ron Berry / May 9 2010 7:31 am

    A sweet tribute Marv. My mother left me several years ago. I was an only child. However, her legacy lives on at St. Pauls Methodist church. There is a plaque there dedicated to her on the entrance to the big kitchen (there are six kitchens in that church). She was the head cook there for well over thirty years.

    I have one daughter and she is now a mother. You may have seen my tribute to her daugher Kaydence. This child is a dream come true. I don’t care how bad a day seems, one hour with her and you can’t help but laugh. She is the goofiest young lady I have ever seen!

  6. Alex J. Cavanaugh / May 9 2010 9:00 am

    You are a good son, Marvin.

  7. L. Diane Wolfe / May 9 2010 9:23 am

    So sweet, Marvin!

  8. Kissie / May 9 2010 9:37 am

    Thank you for sharing this with us, I love you.

    • theoldsilly / May 9 2010 8:05 pm

      Thank you so much, Kissie, that is sweet, and I love you too. ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Mason Canyon / May 9 2010 9:39 am

    Sweet tribute to a wonderful lady.

    Mason
    Thoughts in Progress

  10. Katrina Wampler / May 9 2010 12:12 pm

    Your mother is beautiful… inside and out. I count myself extremely lucky to know her. She is one of the most amazing people I’ve ever known.

    As you mentioned, so many others are not as blessed as you. While my relationship with my mother is better now than it has been, I did not grow up feeling loved. In fact most days, I still don’t. I would have given anything to have a mother such as yours. I am so blessed to love two of her boys as much as I do!

    You know I love you Marvin. Thanks for sharing this today.

  11. ReformingGeek / May 9 2010 4:50 pm

    That’s very nice. Your mom is beautiful and I’m sure she’s a sweetheart. Your childhood photo is adorable.

    You are so right about many people not having loving homes. I think that is so sad.

    Go MOMs!

  12. ann / May 9 2010 5:50 pm

    I can see a resemblance between you and your mom. How lucky you are to have such a close and loving family.

  13. Amy Tate / May 9 2010 5:54 pm

    What a wonderful tribute to your mother! It’s so refreshing to read about a happy childhood. I read so many heart-breaking stories and yours is truly a blessing. I hope you have a fabulous day with your mother!

  14. Enid Wilson / May 9 2010 9:39 pm

    She looks young and cute! Lovely post.

    Steamy Darcy

  15. Elizabeth Spann Craig / May 10 2010 6:44 am

    I love the pictures of your mom and the Young Silly! Thanks for sharing them and the nice tribute.

    Elizabeth
    Mystery Writing is Murder

  16. AmyLK / May 10 2010 9:50 am

    That’s Sweet! you’re mom is beautiful!

  17. yvonne lewis / May 10 2010 2:00 pm

    A lovely lady Marvin and what a handsome boy you were.

    Take care.
    Yvonne.

  18. Helen Ginger / May 10 2010 4:56 pm

    Your mom is a cutie-patootie. So…you look like your Dad, then?

    Kidding!

    Helen
    Straight From Hel

  19. Leeuna / May 10 2010 5:11 pm

    What a lovely tribute to your mom, Marvin. She is very beautiful and she sure doesn’t look 82. You were cute as a bug too.

  20. Jane Kennedy Sutton / May 10 2010 5:49 pm

    I certainly missed my mother on this special day, but I also enjoyed being a mother and grandmother. By the way, I love the photo of you, Marvin…and your mother.

  21. Arlee Bird / May 13 2010 11:48 pm

    Your mom is a year older than mine. I don’t get to see my mom much but I talk to her on the phone a lot. My dad died 20 years ago this September. We had some clashes in my teens and early twenties, but I sure miss him now.

    Lee
    May 17th FIFTEEN FANTASY ISLAND FAVORITES

Leave a Reply

