Skip to content
May 15, 2010 / theoldsilly

Canadians Have the Best Billboards – Bar None!

Some of you regular Free Spirit readers are from Canada. I have also spent quite a lot of time in our friendly neighbor to the north’s fine country, both as a young Hippie, travelling Rock and Roller, to as a middle-aged family man taking camping trip vacations. I’ve been to all the Provinces, travelled pretty much all over the country, and enjoy the dickens out of the scenery, the people, the culture(s) and all that is Canada.

And Canadians have their own special brand of humour, eh?

Like while motoring along you might see a billboard like this one-

Canadians do like their beer, so you might see one like this …

You might get a Kanadian Kick out of this, too-

And I KNOW this marketing ploy works!

Every time, eh guys?

But wait – got more yuks for y’all… in rural Canada they have these small airstrips for puddle jumpers to land-

And I can’t leave out this bit of wittiness-

Or this one…

And oh. My. God. Are you serious with this one?

Okay, one more and then we’ll leave our friends alone, but … ya gotta admit, this is pretty creative, hmm?

Okay sorry, just hadda add this one to the jocular mix, too… I mean, Smokey the Bear is from Canada, if memory serves me right, and the great old growth forests need all the protection they can get!

So hats off to our friends to the north, y’all roll with some pretty darn good billboards and road signs, eh?

~~~~~

Click on Tweety Bird and Tweet this post if you liked it!

Tweet Me from The Old Silly's Free Spirit Blog

16 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Will Burke / May 15 2010 5:55 am

    Thanks for the props, my friend. It’s 6:50AM, kid’s got me up, and reading this is how I spend the first moments of my day — delightful!

  2. yvonne lewis / May 15 2010 6:06 am

    Most enjoyable Marvin, loved the billboards , a good start to the day.

    Yvonne.

  3. Mason Canyon / May 15 2010 6:43 am

    Love the billboards, thanks for the laugh this early Saturday morning.

    Mason
    Thoughts in Progress

  4. Elizabeth Spann Craig / May 15 2010 6:45 am

    Much better than the ones here in the US!

    Elizabeth
    Mystery Writing is Murder

  5. Cactus Annie / May 15 2010 6:57 am

    LOLWROG! Hoo-boy – the hooty booty shot AD really gets you guys every time, eh? πŸ˜‰ Loved all of ’em. Thanks for the early morning laffs, Old Silly!

  6. ann / May 15 2010 6:59 am

    Those are hysterical. With billboards like that travel would be so much more entertaining.

  7. Jim Hansen / May 15 2010 7:16 am

    The chick with the big, almost naked butt? That is my new screen saver. Thanks, Old Silly! πŸ˜‰

  8. Ron Berry / May 15 2010 7:30 am

    I lived in Calgary for close to eight months and saw many good billboards. One of them advertised swimwear for the klondike. It was all furry. If you ever see that one, grab a picture. I would have, had I a camera. Love their sense of humor and Calgary was one of the friendliest cities I’ve ever been in.

  9. Alex J. Cavanaugh / May 15 2010 9:27 am

    Couldn’t get away with those here in the states!

  10. divinity rose / May 15 2010 9:44 am

    hahahaha πŸ˜€

  11. thecodger / May 15 2010 11:09 am

    We have an I.K.E.A. around here. I hope they don’t start erecting billboards like the one you have pictured here. In my opinion, I imagine it would be bad for property values and community morale.

    The Codger
    http://thecodger.wordpress.com/

  12. Terri Dryden / May 15 2010 11:58 am

    Very good! Like them lots…

  13. Leeuna / May 15 2010 3:49 pm

    These billboards are hilarious, Marvin. Thanks for the laughs. The Daisy Rifle sign made me snort coffee out my nose. πŸ˜€

  14. Kissie / May 18 2010 12:24 pm

    Last two images aren’t showing. (FYI)

    • Kissie / May 18 2010 12:25 pm

      Oops, now they are …. I was too fast.

  15. Arlee Bird / Jul 23 2010 5:03 pm

    Now how did I miss these? Got lost in my email box. Great billboards!

    Lee
    Tossing It Out

Leave a Reply

