Skip to content
May 20, 2010 / theoldsilly

Blog Hopping, Commenting, and Revisiting

Just curious today, asking y’all a question. Many of you Free Spirit readers, like myself, are daily blog-hoppers. We have a list of favorite blogs we visit almost every day, other blogs we visit often, and some that we might visit not as often but still enjoy the visit when we do.

And we leave comments. Not just to show our name and url off, although certainly that is one incentive, and I consider it appropriate for anyone who takes the time to leave a comment here on Free Spirit to hyperlink their name and/or put a hyperlinked url under their signature. But also to add to the discussion or a ask a question in the comments gallery, especially if it is an exceptionally interesting post.

Now here’s the question: how many of you come back to a blog later in the day to see if the blog’s author replied to your comment? Me, I sometimes do. Not always, not if I didn’t ask a question that begged an answer, and probably not if my comment was not adding something of significance to the post’s content or the discussion going on. But if any of the above are true, then yes … oftentimes I will go back to see what if any reply there was from the blog or guest author, or see if anyone else commented in regard to what I had said or asked.

I also reply to quite a few comments here on Free Spirit, and sometimes, not very often, I notice that the person who left the comment came back,Ā  read my reply, and left another comment in reply to my reply. But again, that is seldom compared to the average volume of comments.

So how about it? Do you go back to a blog when you have left a comment to see if it was replied to, and/or to read the other comments left since you were there?

Just curious.

Click on Tweety Bird and Tweet this post if you liked it!

Tweet Me from The Old Silly's Free Spirit Blog

26 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Elizabeth Spann Craig / May 20 2010 4:59 am

    For me it completely depends on the situation. I’ll probably check back today because the commenter feedback on this issue interests me. If I want to see what the *commenters* say, then I check back. If I ask a specific question in the comments, I check back. Otherwise, I usually don’t have time.

    Elizabeth
    Mystery Writing is Murder

  2. Barbra Kelser / May 20 2010 5:21 am

    I’m like Elizabeth. What she said, lol. And I probably WILL check back on this post…

  3. Cactus Annie / May 20 2010 5:27 am

    Good subject today, Old Silly. Me, I often check back if I left a question and/or are interested in the discussion happening. Otherwise, like probably most blogaholics (lol) I’m more interested in visiting all the fave blogs I have to read the posts and then still try to “have a life” … haha…

  4. unwriter1 / May 20 2010 5:35 am

    I check back every once in a while. I don’t post or check blogs as often as I used to because I spend most of my day babysitting. That means I can’t do as much on the computer as I need or want. I’ll try to check back on this one later today though.

  5. Cassandra Jade / May 20 2010 5:39 am

    If it is a blog I visit regularly, I will check out the first post I commented on to see if there was a reply before reading a new post. Otherwise I tend not to – unless of course I really wanted a question answered. I’m also more likely to return and check it out if the person has visited my blog in the meantime as well.
    Interesting post.

  6. Stanley Berber / May 20 2010 5:40 am

    My guess is the answers so far here are typical. Time is so short and so much “e-stuff” to get done, it takes a compelling reason to come back to a blog. But like the others, I WILL be back here later today, lol. Sneaky, interesting and clever post topic today, Marv! šŸ˜‰

  7. Kissie / May 20 2010 6:07 am

    Normally, like on this page, there is an option to be notified for follow-up comments. I subscribe if I want and I always do on here, however I am NEVER notified. I only know when you tell me … then I will return to read it. You might want to get that widget checked. Or is it a plug-in? I’m not the WordPress user…..

    So, I’m now selecting the box to be notified. I guarantee you – I will receive a “Howdy” message and nothing further.

  8. AK / May 20 2010 6:19 am

    It depends.. If am asking a question or giving a suggestion, I always return to see the reply…. This may sound a bit weird But i have to let this out or else i won’t be able to sleep tonight.. here it goes, I always return to your blog because i love reading your replies. LOl.. What a relief..

    Bro have a nice day..

    p.s: Lately am listening to lots of old school bands like Led Zeps, Sabbath, Smokie and the Who.. Do you still listen them.. Oh… last night i came across Blondie’s ‘Sunday Girl’, dude that song is so cool..

  9. Simon Hay / May 20 2010 6:42 am

    I like visiting again if time allows. It depends on the comment I left. I find it hard not to comment if I visit a blog. I feel like I’ve let myself into someone’s home. The blogs that have a lot of traffic I’m able to visit and not comment, but the smaller mid tier blogs I always say hi. I know how much energy and creativity goes into maintaining a blog and I ‘m grateful for the effort. If I’ve got the time to visit, two more minutes won’t change my day.

    I know I’ll be busier soon, but I’d still hope to visit and say hi. It may not be as often, but I think it’s important to always remember how the journey started. In all relationships there’s often someone who gives more, but we shouldn’t give if we expect something back. Traffic volume is a factor in having a platform, but if we measure our success on how many comments or followers we have, there will never be enough.

    Blogging is way to test and market the product. No matter what genre we write, or service we sell, we are the product. The quality of our writing is a pathway to success, but the quality of the author creates quality of life. I chose that before marketing, and that’s why I visit.

    Bless you all.

  10. Mason Canyon / May 20 2010 6:53 am

    It all depends on the topic. If I’ve left a question, I’ll check back later to see if anyone answered and sometimes I’ll just check back because it was an interesting discussion and I want to see what other said. Very thought pondering post today.

    Mason
    Thoughts in Progress

  11. Helen Ginger / May 20 2010 7:02 am

    Sometimes I’ll come back if I asked a question or I read where someone else did and I’m interested in the answer. And I may or may not leave a second comment.

    Helen
    Straight From Hel

  12. L. Diane Wolfe / May 20 2010 7:31 am

    I confess I rarely return, unless I’ve asked a burning question. Sorry! I feel woefully behind and do good to get to other blogs just once. I have gotten better about answering comments on my own blog. So hopefully someone out there returns!!!

  13. ReformingGeek / May 20 2010 8:12 am

    I rarely return unless I’ve asked a question and I remember that I asked a question. šŸ˜‰ If I go back, I may or may not read the comments left after mine.

    I usually will not comment on posts that have over 40 or so comments unless I feel very strongly about my comment or I’ve been following them for awhile. I’m also not patient enough to read through all the comments, especially if they are long-winded.

  14. theoldsilly / May 20 2010 8:37 am

    Lots of excellent feedback today, peeps … very interesting … keep it coming!

  15. Arlee Bird / May 20 2010 9:08 am

    I used to go back. It became so complex to keep track of that for a while I tried to write down a list of where I’d been, but it was so time consuming. I started to do a post about this very topic a couples months back and then I really that you could click on the options for receiving emails for any follow up comments. Now I just do that. I get tons of emails, but I think in the long run it’s faster and more efficent then keeping track and trying to keep going back.
    I end up going thru a lot of trivial comments, but this method allows me to see every comment that goes up where I’ve commented and sometimes directs me to the sites of interesting commenters allowing me to discover new blogs.

    Now I’m going to check the boxes below this comment that say: “Notify me of follow-up comments via email” and “Notify me of site updates”, just like I would click on similar options on blogger sites to get updates, and I should get notified if Old Silly or anyone else comments again on this site.

    Lee
    Tossing It Out

  16. Arlee Bird / May 20 2010 9:11 am

    Geesh! I should proofread my posts before I send them to an editor. There were many errors in my above post, but most significantly, “then I really that you could click” should have read “then I realized….”
    Sorry.

    Lee
    Tossing It Out

  17. Bluestocking / May 20 2010 9:11 am

    Some times I do. Most of the time I don’t. But then again, if people ask me questions I go to their blogs and answer it or send an email.

  18. Karen Walker / May 20 2010 9:21 am

    Oh how I wish there was enough time in the day to go back to all the blogs I love to read and check for replies to comments. It’s kind of why I stopped twittering. I felt as if I had to be there constantly to see what people were saying in reply to others. I guess I need my energy to be going in other directions, and blogging is important, but I can’t let it take too much of my day. This is a great topic, Marvin.
    Karen

  19. yvonne lewis / May 20 2010 9:25 am

    I very often come back because I know you sometimes reply to a comment.
    I do enjoy your post whatever the subject is.

    Have a nice day#
    Yvonne

  20. Terri Dryden / May 20 2010 9:27 am

    I usually always come back. Mainly to read the other comments posted! I always read your blog Marvin! I don’t miss a day, unless I’m not near my computer…

    I hope you go to mine! It can be reached at http://www.TRdryden.com or htttp://www. tdryden1.wordpress.com

    You know I love ya!!!! Your blogs are wonderful. Hope I can get as good one day!!!! hehehehe

  21. ZHadi / May 20 2010 10:56 am

    Hey, MM,

    For me it depends on the topic and the comment thread. There are some posts I go to just to read, others to support friends and fellow authors when they’re doing guest posts, and others because the topic is interesting and comment thread is just as interesting as the topic. When I’m a guest poster, I always check the thread a few times because I think it’s polite to be a steady part of the ‘conversation’, if that makes sense…

  22. Elspeth Antonelli / May 20 2010 11:31 am

    If I’ve asked a question, I’ll check back. I’ve noticed some bloggers reply to everyone, some reply to no one, some to some. Personally, whether they’re read or not, I try to reply to all comments. I think of it as a way to say thanks for commenting and come back soon! Then again, I’m Canadian. We’re very polite!

  23. tashabud / May 20 2010 12:13 pm

    I usually subscribe to follow-up comments on every blogs that I visit. This way, I just go to my gmail and read all the replies and comments made. Often times, though, I go back to a blog to watch an interesting video, listen to a really good song, or see an interesting picture again that don’t show up in my gmail.

    There are 2 blogs that I sometime visit that don’t have follow-up comments. In their cases, I go back to read any replies to my comments because I know that they usually comment back.

    If I don’t get any comments back from a blog owner and that blog owner doesn’t visit me or leave any comments on any of my posts after a while that I’m following his/her blog then I stop visiting. It tells me that, that person is not interested in interacting with me or interested in anything that I have to say. So why waste my time, right?

    Tasha

  24. AmyLK / May 20 2010 3:42 pm

    If I ask a question in the comment, then I would come back. But I don’t usually come back to see if the author commented on my comment.

  25. ann / May 20 2010 5:07 pm

    It depends on the blog and what I had to say. There are some that amuse me so much that I not only get a laugh out of the original post but how they responded to my comment. Also, if I asked a question I’ll go back to see if they answered or not. If it’s a new blog I’m visiting I may just go back to get a feel for how that person interacts with the people who are commenting. Other times I simply comment to let them know I was there and then just move on.

  26. Leeuna / May 20 2010 5:33 pm

    I have many blogs that I visit every day and I usually check the follow-up comments on the previous post when I visit. I try to reply to everyone who comments on my blog. I enjoy getting to know my readers and this is a good way to do that. Sometimes the comments are as interesting and entertaining as the blog post. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

