Skip to content
June 4, 2010 / theoldsilly

Preview – Excerpt Part Two

Yesterday and today I’m giving y’all a sneak preview at my new novel, slated to be released probably by the end of summer or early fall, through All Things That Matter Press. If you missed part one of this two part post and like to read in contextual order, just scroll down and read yesterday’s post, it’s right below this one.

Oh – and wait – some of you expressed yesterday that you would like to read the adblurb for the book to get a “feel” for what it is about. Here it is …

What if a homeless, ugly, smelly and unkempt old man had a hug so powerful it could cure cancer … cause a prostitute to stop tricking and seek true love … cast the demons of addiction out of a junkie … make a radical terrorist Muslim want to hug and love a Christian and visa versa? But rare is the recipient of his divine hug, because no one will go near him out of fear.

Have a good read, it is short, and of course I would appreciate feedback if you are so inclined in the comments gallery. Here is, from Beware the Devil’s Hug

Prologue – Part Two

Ali raised his rifle to shoot. As he was about to pull the trigger, he heard a voice from behind.

“Wait—take me.”

Ali whirled round and saw The Old Man, sitting cross-legged on the floor, his hands clasped together in a prayerful pose of petition. He glared at The Old Man and said, “What is this? Who are you and how did you get in here?”

The Old Man wagged his hand in the air. “That is of no significance. I am here to ask to take this man’s place. Please—kill me instead.”

Ali regarded The Old Man for a moment. He lowered his rifle. “And why … why should I do this?”

The Old Man shrugged, raised an open palm and nodded toward the rifleman’s captive Christian. “He is a young man, his entire life ahead of him, and has done nothing to deserve such a fate. I am old, and have lived my long life to the fullest. In the Qur’an it says to kill an innocent being is to kill the entire human race. He is innocent, a good man. I, my friend, have made many mistakes, committed many sins in my life. It would be best, for all concerned, if you were to shoot me for your cause rather than him.”

Ali looked deep into The Old Man’s eyes, clucked his tongue and gave a slow nod. “Very well. You are a brave man. If you wish, I will honor you with a final request; before I take your life. Do you have one?”

The Old Man paused, then smiled. “Yes. Just one.”

“And that is?”

“I can ask anything of you?”

Ali looked down and checked his rifle absently, fiddled with the chamber. “Anything within reason, old man, other than sparing both yours and this other man’s life.” He looked back up at The Old Man. “So—out with it. What is your last wish?”

The Old Man stood and held his arms out wide. “Let me hug you.”

© Marvin D Wilson, 2010

~~~~~

Hope you enjoyed the preview … toodles, gang, chow until tomorrow.

Click on Tweety Bird and Tweet this post if you liked it!

Tweet Me from The Old Silly's Free Spirit Blog

21 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Thelma Banks / Jun 4 2010 3:45 am

    Wow – read both parts one and two and can’t wait for the book.Way to develop some intrigue, Old Silly!

  2. Cactus Annie / Jun 4 2010 3:54 am

    Okay,now . HOW soon can we read the whole thing again? Not soon enough, Mister! LOL, very interesting two-part Prologue, Marv. Love it, and can’t wait to read the whole book!

  3. Ron Berry / Jun 4 2010 4:05 am

    Now it makes sense. A most interesting premise but I can see there will be a heavy price to pay for the good.

  4. Stanley Berber / Jun 4 2010 4:11 am

    Most interesting premise and “two-part” (unusual and like it) Prologue, Marv. This book is on my buy list already … make sure and keep us posted on the release!

  5. tashabud / Jun 4 2010 5:59 am

    Ah… Reading both the 1st and 2nd teasers, together with the adblurb, got to me. I’ll definitely be getting the book and can’t wait to read the whole thing.

    Tasha

  6. Alex J. Cavanaugh / Jun 4 2010 6:05 am

    I wonder what happens next!
    Bet you had fun with this concept, Marvin.

    • theoldsilly / Jun 4 2010 12:31 pm

      Fun indeed, Alex … it was an idea I’d had for several years but could never really “get it” how to write the story out. Then one day it just hit me and poured out. Lotsa fun! 🙂

  7. Barbra Kelser / Jun 4 2010 6:39 am

    Nice setup and leave you hanging wanting more, Old Silly. Love the adblurb/premise … looking forward to reading the whole book now!

  8. L. Diane Wolfe / Jun 4 2010 7:27 am

    Since it’s the prologue, I’m assuming he doesn’t die!

  9. Terri Dryden / Jun 4 2010 7:50 am

    I have already told you how much I am going to LOVE this book! I want to read all of it now… Come on, don’t keep me hanging!!!

  10. Helen Ginger / Jun 4 2010 8:16 am

    My first response was to yell, “Don’t!” ‘Course, that would kinda blow the whole story, though.

    This leaves me wanting to know if he does allow the old man to hug him.

    Helen
    Straight From Hel

    • theoldsilly / Jun 4 2010 12:31 pm

      Well you’ll just have to wait and read now, hmm? 😉 and lol…

  11. Arlee Bird / Jun 4 2010 11:26 am

    Okay yesterday I was scratching my head and really didn’t have much to say. But now with the blurb and today’s snippet I’m very intrigued. What happens next?

    Lee
    Tossing It Out

    • theoldsilly / Jun 4 2010 12:32 pm

      Hmmm, read my reply to Helen? 😉 😉

  12. AmyLK / Jun 4 2010 2:14 pm

    I love this! When is it going to be published? Soon I hope!

  13. Connie Arnold / Jun 4 2010 4:39 pm

    You’ve come up with another highly interesting and unusual story, Marvin! Your previews have hooked me and made we want to read the book. Way to go!

  14. yvonne lewis / Jun 4 2010 5:24 pm

    I have really enjoyed what I have read, Thanks for sharing it with us.
    Good luck with it.

    Yvonne.

  15. Leeuna / Jun 4 2010 6:47 pm

    Can’t wait to read more. I’m really looking forward to the book’s release. This has the makings of a best seller. Very timely.

  16. Simon Hay / Jun 4 2010 9:34 pm

    I like the paradox between ‘Beware the Devils Hug’ and a divine hug. This has a Constantine feel. I’m interested.

  17. Kissie / Jun 6 2010 10:43 am

    I’m so proud of you!

  18. heidiwriter / Jun 7 2010 9:43 pm

    My interest is certainly piqued!! What a wonderful premise!

Leave a Reply

