Skip to content
June 8, 2010 / theoldsilly

Workin’ Down on the Farm

Hey y’all, thanks for blogging in. I’ve been strapped for internet time lately, travelling all last week doing author/marketing thangs, and now this week I’m back to work on the farm. So while I am putting up posts everyday, I may not have the time to visit all my fave blogs every day like I usually do. Please bear with me, I haven’t forgot about you, if you are a blogger who is used to seeing me commenting diurnally and I come up missing here and there now and again … the Old Silly is still getting back in shape with the manual labor thang, sometimes I just ain’t got the energy to do a few hours of internet stuff and blog-hopping after a 6-8 hour shift out in the fields under the blistering sun.

What’s that you say? Surprised the Old Silly does farm work? Okay, yeah, I am a writer, author, blogger, editor, public speaker, musician and performer, yes, but … I also enjoy manual labor. And my son and I are starting up an organic compost business. So. This author puts on his short pants, white T-shirt (that’s usually off by high noon) and goes out barefoot into the fields, mowing grass, driving a tractor, raking up and and hauling hay, wheelbarrowing horse manure, all that, and then putting all the components together in great big steaming rows of composts.

I enjoy it. Call me wierd, old school, I don’t care. So anyhowzit, kind of an off-beat post today, just sort of a whimsical muse thingy, I guess. But I’m curious … any of you Free Spiriters enjoy a good day of work? I find it cathartic and energizing. And I find it another way to stimulate my writing muse when I get back to the keyboard. That’s me. How about you? What kind of activities brings your muse to life?

Click on Tweety Bird and Tweet this post if you liked it!

Tweet Me from The Old Silly's Free Spirit Blog

27 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Cactus Annie / Jun 8 2010 4:53 am

    The Old Silly doesn’t mind getting his hands dirty and doing some hard work! Now I KNOW you are one awesome dude! LOL, seriously, I think that’s great. I like to garden myself – really relaxeds me. Have a great day on the farm, Marv! 🙂

    • theoldsilly / Jun 8 2010 5:23 pm

      Awesome dude? Me? Gosh, Cactus – I’m flat-footered! Tee hee, thanks, though. 😉

  2. Ron Berry / Jun 8 2010 5:02 am

    I relax by babysitting or making beaded jewelry.

  3. Jim Hansen / Jun 8 2010 5:03 am

    Nothing wrong with good old hard work. I have a white collar desk job, and while the money is good, it is a dry sort of life. I enjoy nature and rustic camping, helps me keep close to my roots and feel more alive. Good for you, Marv, roll up your sleeves and go for it down of the farm!

  4. Barbra Kelser / Jun 8 2010 5:06 am

    Ooh I can just see you, all sweaty and horse manure stains on your bare feet … lol, pretty cool, Old Silly. Takes a real man to do a real day’s work, so GO FOR IT! LOL, and I bet it does inspire the muse too … not that I’m a writer, but my Daddy always said the best way to clear your head is to get busy and do some work. I think there’s a lot of truth to that.

  5. Terri Dryden / Jun 8 2010 6:01 am

    I loved it when I was able to do it! I don’t go out in the sun anymore…not during this time of year when it is soooo hot! Talk about having a spell!!!!!! I have them! hahaha. Keep up the good work tho!

  6. yvonne lewis / Jun 8 2010 6:36 am

    Hope you have fun on the farm, you asked what brought me to life now there’s a question,

    I love going for walks, listening to my music and writing,
    as I am retired can’t work but I have lots to keep me occupied especially if I’m travelling to a concert.

    Have a happy day on the farm
    Yvonne.

  7. Will Burke / Jun 8 2010 6:47 am

    Oh, I’ve done my share of haying, now I just mow the lawn.Even that gets my mind going, churning awai on story ideas — I love it!

  8. Crystal / Jun 8 2010 8:33 am

    There’s nothing like working out in the fresh air! It’s very cleansing and therapeutic, not to mention the fact that your sleep quality improves after some good ‘ol physical activity.

    And it’s great to be leaving a comment on The Old Silly’s blog again! Sure have missed the blogosphere! (CCP will be back with a post tomorrow)! Yay!

    • theoldsilly / Jun 8 2010 5:25 pm

      Crystal – glad to see you here again – I’ll definitely check out your post tomorrow, good to know you’re back to the wonderful world of Bloggydom!

  9. Arlee Bird / Jun 8 2010 8:34 am

    Traveling inspires me– especially long road trips when I’m not contrained by time and can see the sights I want to see.

    Lee
    Tossing It Out

  10. AmyLK / Jun 8 2010 10:19 am

    I hope you enjoy your days on the farm and wish you luck with the new biziness!

  11. Alex J. Cavanaugh / Jun 8 2010 1:41 pm

    I wouldn’t mind working outdoors if they brought it inside.

    As for work – I’m not afraid to give 100% or more.

    • theoldsilly / Jun 8 2010 5:26 pm

      “I wouldn’t mind working outdoors if they brought it inside.”

      LOL, you crack me up, Alex!

  12. Elizabeth Spann Craig / Jun 8 2010 1:44 pm

    Hope you enjoy it, Marvin! Maybe you can come up with some ideas for your WIP while you’re working…sometimes that works for me with yard work. 🙂

  13. tashabud / Jun 8 2010 1:47 pm

    Ah….yes, the good old days. But those were just the good ol’ days for me now. Had my share of farming growing up in the Philippines. No machineries. All done by hands. I’m so glad to be out of it. I still enjoy gardening. Just haven’t have the time lately. These days, I visit blogs on my spare times as a way to relax.

    I’m impressed with you though, Old Silly. Hope you’ll get a good night rest after all that manual labor.

    Tasha

    • theoldsilly / Jun 8 2010 5:26 pm

      Trust me, Tasha – the Old Silly will be knocked out by nine tonight, lol…

  14. L. Diane Wolfe / Jun 8 2010 2:13 pm

    I like working outdoors! Grew up on an acre that was full of crops, so there was always something to do.

  15. ReformingGeek / Jun 8 2010 5:26 pm

    Whoa! You take care of yourself out there.

    Isn’t that where the aliens make the crop circles?

  16. Stanley Berber / Jun 8 2010 5:28 pm

    LOL, love Reforming Geek’s comment – don’t get abducted, Old Silly!

  17. Simon Hay / Jun 8 2010 6:17 pm

    I love working outdoors, Marvin. I spent weekends and school holidays on a farm and worked on farms in my teens. Compost is invigorating to be around. Good luck with everything, Simon.

  18. Sharon Mayhew / Jun 8 2010 9:09 pm

    I can relate. My post today incorporated several farm pictures and my first crop of home grown lettuce and spinach. Growing your own food is such a pleasure.

  19. Journaling Womanq / Jun 8 2010 10:22 pm

    Manual labor clears the mind and refreshes the soul- I think. Good for you and your son’s organic business.

    Teresa

  20. Journaling Woman / Jun 8 2010 10:23 pm

    Oops That should be Journaling Woman.

Leave a Reply

