Skip to content
June 10, 2010 / theoldsilly

Calling All Authors – A Favor Please?

Many of you Free Spirit readers are bloggers, and some of you are also authors. This post is a call out to the authors among y’all. A subsequent post will go out to the bloggers and/or authors, regarding … well, get to that later.

Okay, look … I just finished writing a new novel. The manuscript, titled, “Beware the Devil’s Hug”, is at the pub house now, being edited. I expect the release date to be late summer or early fall this year. I will of course be lining up a massive virtual tour, for which I will be contacting the big bloggers amongst you all, but for right now, I am asking of the authors among you, and also the peeps who make their living in the literary world as editors, book reviewers/critics, publishers or agents …

Would you care to do a pre-pub read of the manuscript and write a review of it? You would of course receive credits, and if the review is gotten back to me in time (late June or early July) you could have your name and snippets  of the review published in the front matter and/or jacket of the book.

Here is, in case you missed the earlier post, the one paragraph premise/adblurb of the book:

What if a homeless, smelly, ugly, unkempt old man had a hug so powerful it could cure cancer? Cause a prostitute to stop hooking and seek true love? Shake the demons of addiction free from a junkie? Make a radical terrorist Muslim want to befriend and love a Christian and visa versa? But rare is the beneficiary of his divine embrace – nobody wants to come near him out of fear.

The book is in the spiritual/inspirational genre, but is also a “cross-over” genre book with elements of romance, sex, violence, Jihad/Terrorism/Religious conflict, and suspense/thriller aspects to it.

Interested? Up your alley? If so, contact me off-blog at marvwilson2020atgmaildotcom and let me know what version of Word your computer has so I can send you the manuscript in a format that will open up for you. And of course the Old Silly will reciprocate the favor in the future for anyone who takes me up on this.

Toodles, gang, love y’all!

Click on Tweety Bird and Tweet this post if you liked it!

Tweet Me from The Old Silly's Free Spirit Blog

20 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Will Burke / Jun 10 2010 5:22 am

    Congrats on getting published–that’s awsome!

  2. L. Diane Wolfe / Jun 10 2010 6:51 am

    Marvin, if I wasn’t wading through research and writing right now…! (I hate having no time for anything!! Grrr.) You know I’ll be happy to host your tour though.

  3. Ron Berry / Jun 10 2010 8:03 am

    yes, I would love to review it and host you on my blog.

  4. amylk / Jun 10 2010 8:40 am

    Good luck with getting it published!

  5. Karen Walker / Jun 10 2010 8:53 am

    Congratulations, Old Silly. Wonderful news. Unfortunately, I can’t help out with a pre-pub review, but I’ll be happy to help later on with whatever you need.
    Karen

  6. ZHadi / Jun 10 2010 10:59 am

    I love the premise, MM! I’m also under deadline (well, the deadline past me by and I’m chasing it) or I would so love to read/review… I’ll just have to buy it when it comes out! 🙂

    • theoldsilly / Jun 10 2010 4:07 pm

      Understand, totally – look foward to your feedback when you DO get the chance to read it, Zeez!

  7. Katie Hines / Jun 10 2010 1:32 pm

    I’ll be glad to read your book, Marvin. Email me privately, and I’ll send you my addy.

    • theoldsilly / Jun 10 2010 4:08 pm

      You’re on, Katie – just sent you the ms! Thanks!

  8. tashabud / Jun 10 2010 3:56 pm

    Since I’m still a neophyte in the literary world, I’ll leave the pre-pub review to the professionals. I’ll buy the book and then write up a review from a reader’s perspective and will also do the virtual tour for you. I don’t even know what this entails. I guess I’ll observe the others and learn from them when the time comes.

    Best wishes,
    Tasha

  9. Barbra Kelser / Jun 10 2010 3:59 pm

    I just LOVE the premise og this book and can’t wait to buy it and read it. Like Tasha, I’m no pro with literary credits, so will leave the reviewing for marketing to others, but … can’t wait for the release!

  10. Cactus Annie / Jun 10 2010 4:01 pm

    I just KNOW this book is gonna climb up the charts, Old Silly – love the sound of it, and will be first in line to buy when it comes out, too! 🙂

  11. Stanley Berber / Jun 10 2010 5:08 pm

    Having read and loved all your books so far, Marv, can’t wait to get a copy of THIS one!

  12. Marcus Franks / Jun 10 2010 5:09 pm

    Can’t write you a pre-pub review, I’m just a reader and a fan, but will definitely look forward to the read, Old Silly!

  13. John Standish / Jun 10 2010 5:41 pm

    Not an author so can’t help with the pre-pub reviews and/or marketing, but I must say this book has my interest piqued. Let us all know when it is released, ok Marv?

  14. Helen Ginger / Jun 10 2010 8:41 pm

    Congratulations on the upcoming book!

    Straight From Hel

Leave a Reply

