Skip to content
June 12, 2010 / theoldsilly

A Saturday Pontification – Zen Mind

Today’s pontification comes from Huang-Po, a Chinese Zen Master who lived in the Tang Dynasty, and left this plane of existence in 850 B.C. His words still ring true today, as they are timeless…

~~~~~

“People in the world cannot identify their own mind. They believe that what they see, or hear, or feel, or know, is mind. They are blocked, and so cannot see the brilliant spirit of their original mind.”

~~~~~

Click on Tweety Bird and Tweet this post if you liked it!

Tweet Me from The Old Silly's Free Spirit Blog

10 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Will Burke / Jun 12 2010 6:26 am

    Love it!In a recent post, I stated that “psychology” is only about 150 years old, but really, we know better, don’t we…

  2. Stanley Berber / Jun 12 2010 6:27 am

    Deep. I know in Zen they talk about your “original mind” – and your “original face before you were born” … sort of the same thing, eh?

  3. Cactus Annie / Jun 12 2010 6:28 am

    Woa! Too heavy for me! But It SOUNDS right on … in a way this gal don’t quite get it yet, lol.

  4. Mason Canyon / Jun 12 2010 7:16 am

    Definitely something to ponder today. Great post.

    Mason
    Thoughts in Progress

  5. Alex J. Cavanaugh / Jun 12 2010 12:40 pm

    At the moment, I think my original brain has turned to weekend mush.

  6. Marcus Franks / Jun 12 2010 1:09 pm

    I dabbled in Zen as a young man, remember sayings like this. Profound, and worth meditating on…

  7. ReformingGeek / Jun 12 2010 1:54 pm

    Oh, so if it were a snake, it would have bitten me?

    YIKES!

  8. Thelma Banks / Jun 12 2010 2:33 pm

    The way to enlightenment … unattached to all senses and desires, thoughts and mental constructs? Very interesting – I think Buddhism is a fascinating spiritual path. I meditate, but have not tried zen yet.

  9. Leeuna / Jun 12 2010 3:12 pm

    I lost my original mind. I borrowed this one from one of my ex-husbands. But it was almost like new because he rarely used it. 😀

  10. unwriter1 / Jun 12 2010 4:25 pm

    Good post. My mind doesn’t mind being reminded to nind when it doesn’t mind, oh, never mind, it’s mindless.

Leave a Reply

