Skip to content
July 18, 2010 / theoldsilly

Happy Hump Day

Not posting my usual weekly Hilarious Hump Day funny/joke type of thang today. But the Old Silly has a great big wide smile on his face nevertheless. Many of you who have followed Free Spirit for a looooong time know that my brother was incarcerated some two and a half years ago. Not going to go into the crime – which he was guilty of, and which rose up from his far past (some twenty years ago) and bit him in his proverbial karmic butt three years ago – but the reason I’m elated today is because his first parole hearing was yesterday and went very well. I got the report that he will most likely be released on his ERD (early release date) next spring.

Answer to prayer. Kevin, my younger brother, has undergone a tremendous spiritual journey and awakening as a result of this horrible path he had to go down. If you have not read or followed his writings, a whole page of this blog is dedicated to the guest posts of his I’ve published over the past few years. You can find them under “Letters From Jail and the Mission Field”.

Kevin could have avoided going to jail. He could have denied the charges, got him a good lawyer and beat the rap. The crime was so old and the proof/evidence so far removed from tangible that it would have been nearly impossible to convict him “beyond a shadow of a doubt” as guilty. Several attorneys and even one of his prison guards who looks over his case have told him that. But Kevin did the “right thing” when confronted with his past transgressions by the detective who showed up at his door around three years ago.

He confessed. For twenty years he had carried the burden around in his heart, never felt truly happy, and always harbored fear inside that he may one day be found out. It ate away at his soul, keeping him from truly being joyful, and estranging him from God. He knew that it was time … time to pay up, time to man up and get it over with, pay the price, get his conscience cleaned, get whole spiritually, and pay his debt to society and the Law of Man.

Well, he’s done it. It’s almost over, now, after losing everything: his wife, his house and cars, his job and career, all his money, investments and savings, retirement, and of course his reputation. In the spring of 2011 he will regain the other huge thing he lost, which was his freedom. He found spiritual freedom while behind bars, and soon his physical freedom will be restored and he will have to rebuild a life for himself on “the outside” starting from scratch ground zero.

So that’s all I wanted to share with you today. I love my brother, and this post is a public declaration of how happy I am for him and how proud I am to be his older brother. Takes a real man to do what he did. And all is now forgiven, all debts wiped clean, both in terms of the Man and his God, so Kevin?

You did it, bro … see you soon out here in the regular world, and let’s get started writing that book you and I have been talking about – sharing your story and spiritual journey. I can’t wait, and am very excited about it!

Thanks for blogging in gang, chow, and have a wonderful rest of the week…

Click on Tweety Bird and Tweet this post if you liked it!

Tweet Me from The Old Silly's Free Spirit Blog

27 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. AK / Jul 28 2010 5:13 am

    I have been reading Kevin’s letters for almost two years now and it has been very inspiring to my life, especially for his guts to stand up. it takes a real man to do that. I believe that his life would have been hell if did not do that. Am so happy to hear that things are lighting up for him. Wishing him all the best and I’ll always pray for you. Do give him my best wishes.

    He is so lucky to have a brother like you, wish i had an elder brother to guide me and help me through good and bad time..

    • theoldsilly / Jul 28 2010 8:52 am

      Hey thanks, AK – I too, have often wished I had an older brother to get counseled from as I went through life. But I’m glad I could fulfill that role for my own brother.

  2. Elizabeth Spann Craig / Jul 28 2010 6:45 am

    That’s fantastic news, Marvin and Kevin! I’m so happy to hear it. And he gets to start over again, debt-free, as you said. You’re right to be proud.

  3. Will Burke / Jul 28 2010 7:16 am

    Wow, “clean slate” is right! Hope he lands on his feet.

  4. tashabud / Jul 28 2010 7:25 am

    Ooh, you got me crying with this post, Marvin. I could feel your love for your brother as I was reading it. I’m very happy for both of you and for the rest of your family with this news.

    I know that he’ll be find when he gets out because he has a family who are going to help him start a brand new life. I wish him and you the best.

    I’m not going to read his other letters that I haven’t yet read because I want to buy his book when it comes out.

    Tasha

    • theoldsilly / Jul 28 2010 8:52 am

      Thank you, Tasha – and yes, I know the book will be a huge inspiration to many.

  5. Mason Canyon / Jul 28 2010 7:42 am

    Marvin, that is great news. Best of luck to Kevin. Sounds as though he’s on the right path this time.

    Mason
    Thoughts in Progress

  6. ReformingGeek / Jul 28 2010 8:08 am

    That is great news, Marvin!

    I’m glad he’s working on a book. It will be a wonderful story.

  7. Kissie / Jul 28 2010 8:35 am

    Excellent post! It’s a Hallelujah Hump Day! To God be the glory!!!

    Marvin, what a great big brother you are. We choose so many things, other than integrity, to support and brag about when it comes to a person’s accomplishments. Imagine the peace he has … you post mentioned the things he lost but as I read it, I could only see how much he has gained. I think it far outweighs the losses and we will see that further down the line. So, from one oldest to another – good looking out for shedding light on what really matters in life.

    Kevin, may our God continue to bless and keep you. Thank you for the example you have been. Thank you for YOUR sacrifice to help those who will benefit from it later down the line. I don’t know you outside of this blog but I am grateful for the part you have played in my life. It’s amazing to see how your road has crossed into the heart of a girl in Georgia … that you don’t even know. I look forward to skimming that book! (I’m not a book reader … Twitter has spoiled that for me.)

    The best to you both!

    • theoldsilly / Jul 28 2010 8:54 am

      Kissie, thank you for this marvelous comment. I will be printing out this post along with all the comments, and I know yours will be a blessing to my brother, as it was to me.

      From one oldest to another,
      MD

    • theoldsilly / Jul 28 2010 8:55 am

      Printing out and mailing to Kevin, I meant to say, lol … 🙂

  8. unwriter1 / Jul 28 2010 9:09 am

    You’ve both had a hard row to hoe, but you both did it. I’ve read the letters and it will be a great book (I get to review it, right?). I’m glad to hear he’s getting out. He is in line to be a great motivational speaker and has a big brother to help him get started.

    Good luck to both of you.

  9. Karen Walker / Jul 28 2010 9:22 am

    Goose bumps here, Old Silly. So happy for your brother, and for your entire family.
    Karen

  10. Joyce A. Anthony / Jul 28 2010 11:26 am

    Yay, Kevin!!!! I am so very proud of you–not only for the growth you have shown, but for the way you stood up and faced the consequences, no matter how far in the past your crime occurred. Most “males” I know, I refer to as guys, but–you are a true man!

  11. Katrina Wampler / Jul 28 2010 11:51 am

    I was so thrilled to be at the hearing with him yesterday and so praying that our shared perception is accurate. There is still one hurdle to face but the prognosis is so encouraging.

    Our visit went well. He says a huge weight has been lifted and for the first time in a very long time, he laughed.

    I love you Kevin Wilson. With all my heart, I love you. I am so blessed to have you in my life and so excited to see what the Lord has in store for us! Can’t wait to have you home.

  12. Jess / Jul 28 2010 1:28 pm

    Such an answer to prayer! God has great things in store for all of us and it’s encouraging to know that it’s just gonna keep getting better!

  13. Alex J. Cavanaugh / Jul 28 2010 1:41 pm

    That is wonderful news, Marvin! And far better than any joke.

  14. Sue Allan / Jul 28 2010 3:38 pm

    I’ve been praying for this day for YEARS! So proud of you, Kevin, and very happy to be rejoicing with you soon!!!! God is SO GREAT! HE has plans to prosper you…can’t wait to see what happens next.

  15. yvonne lewis / Jul 28 2010 3:48 pm

    What a fine blog about your brother, He has paid for his wrong doing and as from next year he has a future and his freedom, with you by his side Marvin he won’t go far wrong. Good luck to all the family.

    Yvonne.

  16. Leeuna / Jul 28 2010 4:29 pm

    Marvin, I am happy for you and your brother. I pray that he will hold fast to the forgiveness he has found and keep up his close walk with God once he is outside the prison walls. I have read his letters and your posts concerning him and I admire your devotion to your brother.
    However, this hits really close to home for me and it’s something that I have never written about on my blog and only those who are close to me know about it. I fell in love with and married a man who had been in prison for six years. I met him in church a few months after his release. His parents were so proud of him and were thrilled about his accepting Jesus as his savoir while in prison. He convinced me that he had changed and that he was ready to live his life as a model citizen and Christian.
    However, he began to slip back to his old ways, drinking, taking drugs, lying, cheating, etc. I tried so hard to help him, to encourage him to stay in church, and to live a good life.
    I loved him so much and it took me three years to finally see that he was evil down to the bone. He almost dragged me down with him before I finally gave up and divorced him.
    That was the hardest thing I have ever had to do. It was like cutting my own arm off, but I knew that if I were to survive I would have to let him go. Part of me died after that.
    I feel that I failed him, but I honestly don’t know what else I could have done.

    Your brother will need a lot of understanding, a lot of support, but most of all he will need to be strong and stand on his own, rebuild his own life, and make his own choices. I pray that he makes the right ones and that he doesn’t hurt the ones in his life who love him. He will have a long rough road ahead of him and it will take a lot of work on his part.

    I also hope I haven’t offended you or your brother with my comments. It was never my intention. I just felt led to tell you this. I don’t know why.

  17. Connie Arnold / Jul 28 2010 5:17 pm

    What wonderful news! Kevin, you have learned and grown so much spiritually during your experience, and I believe the ministry that you have begun will continue even stronger and touch countless lives. I’ve read your letters and know the book will be a blessing to so many. I look forward to getting and reading it.

    Marvin, bless you for sharing what your brother has written with us and for being such a great brother to Kevin. May God continue to bless you both in all things.

  18. Arlee Bird / Jul 28 2010 6:44 pm

    I hope things go well for him after his release. This will be another time of challenge for him. It’s good that he has supporters like you to help him through. His faith will be a big advantage if he hangs on to it and stays strong.

    Lee
    Tossing It Out

  19. Stephen Tremp / Jul 29 2010 10:08 am

    Marv, that is great news. Praying his ERD will indeed work out. Thanks for sharing with us.

    Stephen Tremp

  20. Zhadi / Jul 29 2010 12:08 pm

    Marvin, huge hugs and preliminary congrats to Kevin!

  21. Jane Kennedy Sutton / Jul 30 2010 7:26 am

    I’m happy for you both! And I’m looking forward to reading the book that you two plan to write.

  22. L. Diane Wolfe / Jul 30 2010 1:10 pm

    Marvin, that is wonderful!

Leave a Reply

