Skip to content
August 9, 2010 / theoldsilly

Monday Meandering Muse – Finished Product

Thanks for blogging in, all. This Monday I’m comparing again the fine art of organic composting to writing. Last week my son and I dubbed our first pile of compost as “finished” – at the stage where you no longer turn or toss it, you just let it sit and mature for a while, then it gets sifted, bagged and sent to the marketplace. Pretty exciting. And we have another pile developing nicely, with plenty of material ready to be layered into a third compost.

And, this weekend I just pronounced my latest manuscript, Beware the Devil’s Hug, finished, and ready to be sent back (after the fifth revision/rewrite process it has gone through with my editors) to the pub house for one last lookover – then off the the press and the marketplace.

Similarities. Both book and pile needed months of nurturing, caring for, turning, redoing, and constant attention. Then you reach the point where it just won’t get any better, the reworking is no longer equating to improvement: the thing is done. Let it sit. Stand back and admire it. Wrap it up nice and sell it, hmm?

Short muse today, and I’m off to the fields to start nursing along some more compost. This evening I’ll be writing new stories, nurturing along a new manuscript that will need lots of work, loads attention, caring for, doting over, all that … until the one fine day when you say, “It is good, it is ready, time to let it be, and let it be known to the world.”

Click on Tweety Bird and Tweet this post if you liked it!

Tweet Me from The Old Silly's Free Spirit Blog

23 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Elizabeth Spann Craig / Aug 9 2010 5:43 am

    Good point, Marvin! I think the hardest part is knowing when something is done and it’s time for us to stand back and admire it. You’re right–the whole process is one of nurturing something.

    • theoldsilly / Aug 9 2010 1:18 pm

      Liz, yuup – there is a point of diminishing returns, hmm?

  2. Will Burke / Aug 9 2010 6:44 am

    Here’s hoping that your book nurtures as much growth as your other product!

  3. Stanley Berber / Aug 9 2010 7:51 am

    Nicely done analogy, Marv. Best wishes for both of your endeavors … really looking forward to reading the new novel, and if I was a gardener I’d buy some of your compost too, lol. 🙂

  4. Ron Berry / Aug 9 2010 8:30 am

    Good comparison. I agree with Elizabeth.

  5. Alex J. Cavanaugh / Aug 9 2010 10:07 am

    I’d choose nurturing my writing over mulch any day! Then again, I am not an outdoor type of guy.

  6. Leeuna / Aug 9 2010 11:53 am

    I’ve been working on my unfinished novel, Marvin, and I think it may have turned into a huge pile of compost. 🙂

    Have a great Monday.

    • theoldsilly / Aug 9 2010 1:19 pm

      Leeuna, I hope you mean that in a GOOD way, lol. 😉

  7. Cactus Annie / Aug 9 2010 1:16 pm

    Good analogy, Old Silly – and wishing you the greatest success with both endeavors! 🙂

  8. Marcus Franks / Aug 9 2010 1:21 pm

    Love the continuing comparison on this weekly feature – takes a writer with some imagination to draw correlations between farm work and literary work. Nicely done, though!

  9. Helen Ginger / Aug 9 2010 1:54 pm

    To stay with your composting analogy, you know both the compost and the book are ready to go out to the world when they don’t stink near as much as they did in the beginning.

    Helen

    • theoldsilly / Aug 9 2010 2:03 pm

      Helen – LOL, I LOVE it! teehee – 🙂

  10. Thelma Banks / Aug 9 2010 2:17 pm

    Really dig the analogy, and lol – had to laugh at Helen’s comment!

  11. Kissie / Aug 9 2010 5:52 pm

    You’re a great example, I admire your tenacity to stick to it until the one fine day.

    Way to go!

  12. ReformingGeek / Aug 9 2010 6:54 pm

    Uh oh. My latest blog post smells funny.

    Let me take one more looksy.

    YIKES!

    Walk away. Just walk away.

    Ok. Ok. I’ll go hit “Pulbish”.

  13. Connie Arnold / Aug 9 2010 9:05 pm

    Your book seems much more appealing to me than your compost pile! I can see your comparison, but I’m looking forward to reading your finished, well nurtured book.

  14. agus / Aug 10 2010 6:49 am

    Nicely. . .
    Just blog walking

  15. L. Diane Wolfe / Aug 10 2010 10:15 am

    I know you’re excited, Marvin!!!

  16. Jane Kennedy Sutton / Aug 10 2010 11:20 am

    It’s the knowing when to stop that’s the toughest for me – you summed it up nicely and so did Helen in her comment.

  17. AmyLk / Aug 10 2010 2:08 pm

    Such great progress over in the old Silly’s place! And you are so right about the similarities between both your chosen careers. Good luck with the new compost and the new story!

  18. yvonne lewis / Aug 11 2010 3:02 pm

    Keep going Marvin, loved your post as usual.
    Yvonne,

Leave a Reply

