Skip to content
August 27, 2010 / theoldsilly

The Case Against Vegetarianism

Now hold on, all you veggies … don’t go getting your undies all in a wedgie over this post title. This is a fun post, kayzies? I myself was a vegetarian for nearly ten years as a younger man, three of those years a strict vegan. So I have nothing against vegetarians, really … I have many veggie and vegan friends, and, yes — I would even allow my daughters to marry one. (wink)

Why did I resume eating meat? Well, my reasons for going veggie were those of not wanting to kill in order to be able to eat. But eventually I realized to live is to kill … you cannot avoid it. The pain and suffering is more obvious when we kill an animal in order to eat and live, but as I looked into and read and meditated about it, I realized that studies have proven plants have feelings, too. They have nervouse systems, they sense danger and communicate that danger to the other surrounding plants, even calling on animal life to come and help them. They suffer pain when we prune them and pluck their fruits, flowers, etc., and are scared sapless when we start cutting down their neighbors and are obviously moving toward them with the shears and knives. If you want to read more on this, just click here and here, and if you Google “Do Plants Have Feelings?” you will get pages of articles to peruse.

But enough of the heavy stuff. I meant for this to be a lighthearted poke at vegetarianism, not some persuasive argument for dietary regimens. Eat what you want, The Old Silly doesn’t care, just be grateful for the life taken in order for you to be able to live on. And in the spirit of lighthearted, good natured, acceptance of people of all dietary desires, please enjoy this less-than-two-minute especially funny and apt clip from Mitchell and Webb

Thanks for blogging in, I’m off to the kitchen. Got a taste for some fried chicken with a side of honey-baked squash and some salad.

Click on Tweety Bird and Tweet this post if you liked it!

Tweet Me from The Old Silly's Free Spirit Blog

21 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. AK / Aug 27 2010 5:17 am

    Veggie… That’s something that I can’t even dream of even in my wildest dream.. Nothing personal but i consider that we didn’t fight our way to the top of the food chain so we can be veggie… I know this is a quote from Chris Rock but I though I’ll share…

  2. Mary / Aug 27 2010 6:37 am

    Never heard of those guys but that clip is too funny. I eat meat because I like and veggies for the same reason. Gotta go make my grass cry now. Thanks for the laugh.

    • theoldsilly / Aug 27 2010 7:15 pm

      You should go to youtube and look them up … oodles of hilarious skits!

  3. Alex J. Cavanaugh / Aug 27 2010 7:52 am

    Guess I’ve hurt many vegetables in my time, then!

    • Kissie / Aug 27 2010 11:54 am

      And I am hurting them too.

  4. karen walker / Aug 27 2010 9:16 am

    My body just needs the protein that comes from meat and chicken and fish. I like the idea of honoring everything we eat and where it comes from. I’d forgotten that. Thanks, Marvin.
    Karen

  5. unwriter1 / Aug 27 2010 9:17 am

    I’m a vegetarian. However, I eat my veggies in condensed form, like pork chops. Pigs eat vegetables so I eat them also but in a more compact form, such as pork roast, chops, bacon. Cows make grass cringe as they eat it. I eat steaks and hamburger to get the green nutrients in its most compact form. Chickens eat grain and KFC uses many spices, natural vegetables in a very compact form (seeds). Thus my three piece and a side again gives me vegetables. No, I don’t eat meat, just condensed veggies.

  6. Katrina Wampler / Aug 27 2010 11:49 am

    OMG! That is too funny. I do NOT eat red meat at all, but only because years of working on the trauma unit in the OR made all red meat look like last night’s accident victim. Yach…

    Needed the laugh. Thanks a bunch.

  7. Kissie / Aug 27 2010 11:53 am

    Okay, the vegan stopped by! Thanks for sharing.

    You know my sense of humor already, it has to be REALLY funny for me. 🙂

    • theoldsilly / Aug 27 2010 7:15 pm

      Well did you at least havea soft little giggle? (wink)

  8. Leeuna / Aug 27 2010 2:44 pm

    Hilarious video. Go have some meat, Marvin, just don’t cook the kitty.

    • theoldsilly / Aug 27 2010 7:16 pm

      Nah … dog, maybe, but no feline cuisine in the Wilson diet. 😉

  9. Thelma Banks / Aug 27 2010 4:21 pm

    Hysterical clip! LOL!

  10. Jane Kennedy Sutton / Aug 27 2010 4:58 pm

    Still laughing at the video!

  11. L. Diane Wolfe / Aug 27 2010 5:28 pm

    Oh silly Marvin, I’m still gonna be a vegan!

  12. tashabud / Aug 27 2010 6:27 pm

    Eeew! I think I’d rather become a vegan than to eat cat meat. Funny post and video.

    Tasha

  13. Connie Arnold / Aug 27 2010 6:33 pm

    Goodness, your post makes me not want to eat meat or veggies, actually! What does that leave? Thanks for sharing the humor.

  14. Arlee Bird / Aug 27 2010 11:51 pm

    That was an absolute riot. Loved it! I don’t eat as much meat as I used to, but I have no plans of giving it up either.

    Lee
    Tossing It Out

  15. Mason Canyon / Aug 28 2010 9:05 am

    Running late stopping by but love the video.

    Mason
    Thoughts in Progress

  16. Patricia Stoltey / Aug 29 2010 2:28 pm

    Very funny clip! I could never do the vegan thing, or even vegetarian. Not likely to try cat, though…

Leave a Reply

