Skip to content
October 10, 2010 / theoldsilly

VBT Special Feature Post – Kathy Stempke

It’s that time of month when The Old Silly features a fellow member of the Yahoo Group, VBT – Writer on the Move. Today it is my pleasure to present to you the dynamic and talented, Kathy Stempke


aaaaaannnnd-

It just happens to be her birthday! Yay!

~~~~~

So, happy B-day, Kathy, and let’s get on with letting all the Free Spirit readers learn some about you.

Kathy has a passion for writing, the arts, dance in particular, and all things creative. She has a B.S. from Southern Connecticut State University and Covenant Life Seminary, as well as graduate coursework from New York Institute of Technology and Columbia University. Hanging her hat in the North Georgia Mountains, she is a dancer/choreographer, teacher, tutor, writer and an antiques dealer.

Kathy is very active in her church as the dance director of The Daughters of Zion Dance Company. Presently, she is working on a Christmas presentation, which includes dance, photography, and original music to be preformed at the Schaefer Theater in Toccoa, Georgia.   Kathy enjoys combining unusual elements to create a fresh way to experience the gospel.  For instance, you see powerful testimonies danced, photography integrated into many of the dance pieces, and the Holy Spirit creating the world to original music.

As a freelance writer, Kathy has published several articles, and has articles for sale at Helium, Associated Content, and Constant Content. She is a contributing editor for

The National Writing for Children’s Center http://writingforchildrencenter.com/category/tips-for-teachers/, and part of the team at DKV Writing 4 U http://dkvwriting4u.com, a writing service that includes ghostwriting, copywriting, editing, proofreading, critiquing, media releases, and much more.

Being a retired kindergarten teacher and a dancer at heart, Kathy writes fun-filled children’s books that encourage movement, and include teacher’s guides with suggested games, worksheets, and activities.  Her first children’s e-book, Moving Through All Seven Days, is now available on Lulu: http://www.lulu.com/content/e-book/moving-through-all-seven-days/7386965-seven-days/7386965#.

Guardian Angel Publishing will soon release her book titled Sh, Sh, Sh Will the Baby Sleep? This book, which features consonant blends, tells the story of a boy who becomes a superhero when he wears his thick black glasses. He is challenged with keeping his new baby sister safe and asleep!  Take a look at page 6.

Ms. Stemke’s poems have been published in anthologies and in The Abandon Towers Ezine.  Her poem, “An Empty Stage,” was voted in the top ten in the 2009 Predators and Editors Poll.  Currently, she is working on a photography/poetry book titled Visual Dance Poetry, which illuminates life through the eyes of a dancer. For a couple examples of her work, just click here.

And lastly, visit her blog and sign up for her free monthly newsletter,

Movement and Rhythm. http://educationtipster.blogspot.com.

http://www.helium.com/users/406242.html

http://www.associatedcontent.com/user/237923/Kathy_stemke_dancekam.html

~~~~~

All right, peeps, hope y’all enjoyed learning about Kathy. Let’s show her some love and happy birthday wishes in the comments gallery. Kathy will be dropping by to interact with us, so fire away with any questions and/or comments that requre responses, too. Chow gang … and remember – only five days left until the Grand Kick-Off of the-

Hugs Therapy Virtual Tour 2010

The two week long mega-blog hopping action starts this coming Friday, October 15th, featuring and promoting The Old Silly’s new novel, Beware the Devil’s Hug!

Thanks, Kathy, for being with us today … it was a pleasure to have you here on Free Spirit.

Click on Tweety Bird and Tweet this post if you liked it!

Tweet Me from The Old Silly's Free Spirit Blog

38 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Nancy Famolari / Oct 10 2010 6:03 am

    Happy Birthday, Kathy! I didn’t know you were a dancer. What a talented lady — and a busy one, too!

  2. Marcus Franks / Oct 10 2010 6:06 am

    Wow, you got a LOT going on, lady! Thanks for this feature, Marv … Kathy’s books sound like good gifts for my nieces and nephews.

    • kathy stemke / Oct 10 2010 4:42 pm

      Thanks Nancy and Marcus. I’m full of surprises.

  3. Kissie / Oct 10 2010 6:29 am

    Ooh Marvin, you gave me a gift on Kathy’s birthday!

    Great introduction, I can’t help but think you had me in mind when you were posting this. 😉 I love it!

    Happy Birthday, Kathy! I find inspiration in a few things when it comes to writing and Toni Morrison is one … now you are another. 🙂

    If there’s a book you really want to read, but it hasn’t been written yet, then you must write it. ~Toni Morrison

    • kathy stemke / Oct 10 2010 4:25 pm

      Thank you for your kind words. It’s nice to know your writing has an effect on people.

    • theoldsilly / Oct 11 2010 5:34 am

      Thanks, Kissie – and love the Morrison quote. 🙂

  4. Mason Canyon / Oct 10 2010 7:20 am

    Marvin, enjoyed the feature.

    Kathy, the new book looks adorable. Wishing you much success with it. Hope you have a wonderful and HAPPY BIRTHDAY. 🙂

    Mason
    Thoughts in Progress

    • kathy stemke / Oct 10 2010 4:47 pm

      You have a great blog. I signed up as a follower.

  5. Darcia Helle / Oct 10 2010 8:49 am

    Happy birthday, Kathy! Congratulations on your upcoming book! I love the concept of the superhero boy with thick glasses. Great artwork, as well!

  6. Ron Berry / Oct 10 2010 9:18 am

    Happy Birthday! Good to see another children’s writer with so much talent. I don’t have a lot of talent but I am writing stories for children. How goes sales at Lulu for you? I didn’t have much luck there so I’m hoping my Amazon sales will do better.

    • kathy stemke / Oct 10 2010 4:51 pm

      I checked out your website Ron. Looks good. Sales at Lulu are slow, but continuous. I really haven’t marketed my ebook very much. I plan to market like crazy with my two picture books due out shortly. You know VBT, school and library visits, etc.

  7. Donna McDine / Oct 10 2010 10:05 am

    Happy Birthday Kathy. I enjoyed getting to know you even better through this wonderful post! Best wishes for your continued success. Can’t wait to see your finished book!

    Marvin, best wishes for a successful VBT!

    Warm regards,
    Donna

    • kathy stemke / Oct 10 2010 4:52 pm

      Thanks Donna. That makes two of us who can’t wait to see my book finished. It takes forever.

  8. Karen Cioffi / Oct 10 2010 10:48 am

    Hey, Kathy, another day older . . . 🙂 I wish you many many more.

    Kathy’s latest children’s book is outstanding; kids will definitely love it, as well as Kathy’s other children’s books.

    You really are one busy lady!

    • kathy stemke / Oct 10 2010 4:52 pm

      Thanks, my friend. I still feel like I’m 21.

  9. Jane Kennedy Sutton / Oct 10 2010 11:16 am

    Happy Birthday, Kathy! Wishing you continued success in all your endeavors.

  10. Stephen Tremp / Oct 10 2010 11:59 am

    Happy birthday! Kathy. Now go forth and eat ice cream. You are a multi-talented individual making good use of your god-given gifts.

    Stephen Tremp

    • kathy stemke / Oct 10 2010 4:54 pm

      I love your suggestion Stephen. Ice Cream is my ultimate favorite!!!

  11. Connie Arnold / Oct 10 2010 12:27 pm

    Happy birthday, Kathy! You have so much talent, and I’m glad your new GAP book will be ready soon. Congratulations! Marvin, thanks for sharing. Looking forward to your Hugs Therapy Tour!

    • kathy stemke / Oct 10 2010 4:55 pm

      Thanks Connie. I’m excited about being a GAP author.

  12. Alex J. Cavanaugh / Oct 10 2010 1:09 pm

    Happy birthday, Kathy! Keep up the good work.

    • kathy stemke / Oct 10 2010 4:55 pm

      Thanks Alex. I love your blog-I’m following you now!

  13. Vivian Zabel / Oct 10 2010 4:01 pm

    Happy birthday, Kathy. May you have many many more, each better than those before. And may your book sales sky rocket.

    • kathy stemke / Oct 10 2010 4:58 pm

      Thanks Vivian. I’m still going to send you that rewrite on my picture book sub if it’s not too late. My dance ministry is taking lots of my time till December.

  14. kathy stemke / Oct 10 2010 4:24 pm

    Thanks for all the warm birthday wishes everyone. It makes me feel like a kid again.

    Marvin, thank you for hosting me on your fantastic blog. Great success with your upcoming tour!

    Looks like I’ve made some new friends here.

    I wish we could all have a get together someday somehow.

    • theoldsilly / Oct 11 2010 5:35 am

      You’re welcome, Kathy, and yes … I’d say you have some new Free Spirit firends, too! 🙂

  15. Heather Paye / Oct 10 2010 7:08 pm

    Many Birthday greetings to you, Kathy! I love the sound of that children’s book, and the preview of page 6 is truely eye-catching! You are a wonderful inspiration and I always enjoy hearing more about your writing.

    Great job with the post, Marvin!

    • dancekam / Oct 10 2010 11:09 pm

      Thanks Heather. You’re an inspiration to me. You never let the grass grow under your feet. Keep it up. There will be many rewards.

  16. Dallas Woodburn / Oct 10 2010 11:21 pm

    Happy birthday Kathy! What a great post!

  17. dancekam / Oct 10 2010 11:27 pm

    thanks Dallas. I’m having a glorious day.

  18. Helen Ginger / Oct 11 2010 10:09 am

    Happy Birthday Cathy! Your book sounds great. I like the idea that the boy becomes a superhero by putting on his thick glasses. Very cute.

  19. kathy Stemke / Oct 11 2010 10:33 am

    Thanks, Ginger. I love your blog. I became a follower and left a comment for your Oct. 10th post.

  20. tina / Oct 12 2010 10:49 am

    Hi Kathy,I like the look of your new book.Great artwork,so cute! I thank you for all you’re doing for the dance team.I think the Christmas presentation is going to be powerful and Holy Spirit filled.I encourage everyone that can to come see it.You will be touched by the way the story of creation from Adam to Jesus is portrayed through dance,drama,and slides.I don’t think anyone will leave there the same.The Schafer Center in Toccoa,ga. on December 10th,2010 at 7:00 pm.There is no admission fee.Please come and be Blessed by an awesome presentation! Also,thank you Mr.Wilson for this special post of Kathy and the beautiful picture you posted of some of our dancers.God Bless you both.Tina

  21. kathy stemke / Oct 12 2010 3:46 pm

    Thanks, Tina. Love kathy

  22. Disk Imaging / Jul 17 2013 3:35 pm

    Hi there! I’m at work surfing around your blog from my new apple iphone! Just wanted to say I love reading your blog and look forward to all your posts! Carry on the outstanding work!

Leave a Reply

